Lessons Learned - Page 4
Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Lessons Learned

Re: Lessons Learned

out spearing flounder the other week and seen what I thought to be a nice flattie in a lay, thinking this flattie was about 600mm long and would just top the bag up nice with the 1/2 dozen flounder we had. Gentley work toward my flattie and now standing directly above it, I must say it was a lovely shot in waht I thought was the back of his head. Now all hell broke loose, in realality I had stuck my flounder spear into a well camaflaged eagle ray of about 4 foot long, so here I am with this eagle bouncing around ontop of the water going mental as I franticlly try to remove a barbed spear head from his flap. Must have lasted all of about 15 seconds with my mate still laughing about it to this day. He also thought it was a nice flattie

[quote=2rods;618457]

Throw a tied up croc into a mates passing boat..... (THEY ALL JUMPED OUT)
    quote]

That's the funniest thing i've read for a while... well done!

And pete.... I can just see your face when that occy stole your light... you stading alone in the dark.... HAHAHAHHAA

Know the depth of the water before you jump off the bow when comming into the beach....................
    Remember to take the bait out of the freezer.....
    when walking a drag net, know where the edge of the channel is....
    if dropping a burley pot over the side make sure the rope is tied onto something at the other end....
    Dont take too long stuffing around waith a drag net...you might came back and find the boat almost high and dry....
    Start the outboard before you push off....flat battery can be a problem...
    The list go on and on...
    ..Greg...."Termites pay the bills"..... Trailcraft 475...75 Hp E-Tec

3am Start Drive Down To Ramp Push Boat Of Trailer Pull Up On Sand Put Anchor Out Park Forbie Back Down To Boat Jump In Ready To Go No Boat Keys! On Kitchen Table At Home Boat Back On Trailer Back Home Get Keys Try Again Now Have A Key Hidden On Boat And One Cut On Main Keys.

Ausfish Gold Member

lol some good tales,
    I was fishing with my brother in his 3.9 bass boat, full carpeted deck and false floor, 50hp donk, bait/livetank, leccy and two deepcycle batts = heavy tinny, one of TABS creations......anyways we ended up deciding to get some yabbys and go for some whiting for a change from chasing bream with bits of plastic, pulled up on the sand bar just out the front of the spit carpark opposite the big red barge that was/is anchored there, right on the top of the high tide at around 11am, noticed the tide receding a bit and the call was made to get moving, but nooooo we had to stay 10minutes longer to get just a few more yabs.......bad move...boat was stuck and the sand flat we came in over which was covered 2ft with water was now a 30m stretch of ankle deep water to the channel......sh!t
    within 20 minutes of pushing and pulling the boat we were high and dry.
    The flat we were on was pretty big so we thought yeah sweet, look on the bright side, we've got heaps of fresh bait around us for whiting, and the placcys for the flattys and decided to wait untill the next high tide and just fish for the next 11 hours or so. Sure you dont wanna call VMR to get us off?? nah well be ok

10:45pm that night, the water was getting closer to the boat, we had dug out under and around the boat a little pool kinda thing with the oars to assist with getting unstuck.
    11:20pm a bit of water starts to fill the hole woohoo! but all it did was cave in and turn to sloppy sand and make the boat deeper in the sand, grrrrr, nah shell be right, water will come up a little more.....

high tide AM was 1.4m.........high tide PM was 1.12m waaaahhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!

no matter how hard we yelled at that water to come a little further up the bank it wouldnt.......the tide started to turn back out and we folded, sunburnt, cold and hungry, pride shattered we called the VMR to pick us up, all this time we could see there base AND our car with the trailer, with our jackets and doritos in it, just teasing us, but there was no way I was gonna swim that channel in the dark.
    They said it was the funniest and shortest rescue they had done in a long time.
    Bro went back early next morning paddled across on the kayak and slept on the boat untill it floated off on the high tide. Oh and to rub it in, the VMR said they had 100m tow ropes on board and would have pulled us off no sweat. If I wasnt so tired I would have decked my brother there and then.

another thing I learnt today always load your own gear into the car, a mate did it, and slamed the boot on to me rod bag, the tip of a rod exploded, and it is buggered

Great "tip"Dave

G'day whaleoil, yeah, my mate bought me a 24 pack of Fosters and a new rod, exactly the same make aswell, so it's all good

Ausfish Premium Member

when hubby says "throw the anchor" - he doesn't mean that literally - I actually threw it over the bow rail - and it wasn't tied off!!!!

HOW WAS I SUPPOSED TO KNOW HE hadn't done his job properly first. But then the captain is ALWAYS right.
    Lesson learnt - let him do the job himself.

my mate bought me a 24 pack of Fosters
    He can't be a mate Dave. He breaks your rod and then has a go at poisoning you.

lol never do a rex and give ya nice lil tailor ya caught a quick kiss goodbye, she likes to kiss to but uses teeth!
    dont go up a small creek if you dont know when the tide will go out on you to far, luckily we wer on the otherside of a sand dune, we managed to skull drag the boat over it then another 500m to the water fun day out (of) the water.
    dont fish with unweighted live bait (fish) near kormerents, they apparently eat fish.
    once you got the hook outta of him, make sure he goes away before you cast out again, their not to smart.....
    crows do know where you hide your bait, and they will get it, as easy as catching fish in a bucket.....
    if you know your mate is gullable, dont convince him cabbage tree creek is fresh water and is drinkable (for those who dont know it has a sewage treatment plant in it) you soon find out hes stupid when he says it tastes like chicken....
    if you catch a pike eel (large at that) and decide it can be used for crab bait, make sure you hit it in the head with a bat atleast 20 times, then double it because chances are while you have gripped it round the head with a rag and are holding it extremely tight while your mate gets the hook out it just may use its slim to its advantage and slip thru somehow....and swim away.....
    dont give ya next door neighbour a bit of slack about whos gonna catch more fish for the night, you might just wake up in your tent the next morning to find a bull shark lying next to you, and their not the best bed buddies, they reak like s**t
    dont dangle your toes in the water if the toad fish look hungry, they can bite people.
    lol this one cracks me up still, dont feed the egret that waits quietly on the bow of your boat while you cast net, they have a spear like beak, and can draw blood from your brothers hand as he makes the most feminine sqeal youve ever heard.
    lol im sure ill think of more soon, ive learnt alot fishing.....

Any additions?

when pushing your boat off the trailer make sure to have a rope to grab it when it gets off. i made this mistake at 4am on a cold winters morning and had to swim out to get the boat........lol almost wanted to put it back on the trailer and go home..lol luckily i had spare cloths in the car for when we got back.

cheers TiNTiN

I learnt a number of lessons all on the same cold winters night while fishing from land out on the end of Cleveland Point:
    1. When you build a home-made rod holder, make sure it won't fall over as soon as you get a hit.
    2. It's best to tie said rod holder to something heavy.
    3. When you have a rod in the holder, make sure the drag is set really light
    4. When you have a rod in the holder don't walk away and start chatting to the other blokes around you..... no matter how long since the last bite....

5. If you fail on all the above and you hear a sudden crash, turn around and see your rod disappearing over the edge, DON'T try diving to catch it.....

......I ended up going for the big dive across the concrete, sliding about 5 metres on my guts(all 110 Kgs of me) before elegantly sliding into the drink head first.
    I did manage to save my $300 rod and reel, but I lost a lot of bark and bloody near froze to death.
    My nearby "mate" nearly choked laughing and could only manage to come out with "Geez, when you decide to go for a swim, you don't muck about.."
    If I'd had any self-respect left, I would have choked him myself.

1. DON"T ever touch both terminals of a 900cc amp battery with the 12mm spanner touching your titanium dress ring

3rd degree burn right round the finger