Thread: Never Again!!!!!

Re: Never Again!!!!!

Good story kingtin, unfortunatly it is one that is replacated in every ramp in every town in aust. Makes you realise how many stupid people are in the world!

land_based

Sometimes i duck down the ramp sunday arvo just to sit down and watch these blokes for half an hour, better than tv i say. I've always used the blald hills ramp, but it does have some security issues.

Your right on the money there kingtin I to was at dwb on the monday and it was kaos I ended up putting my boat on the other side of the pontoon near the rocks (tinnie of coarse)as it was chockers,I've said it b4 im my posts that I avoid it on weekends but this too was a special trip for my daughters b/day so I made an exception,I dont want to come across as complaining but #when they put that new pontoon #in they should have made the ramp wider to start with first ,due to the high volume of traffic that now heads down that way ,as for the other ramp off of bald hills rd I have never used it personally but a m8 of mine has and had his car broken into on 1 occasion ,he blames that on leaving his back pack on the front seat so the theives could see it .By the sound of things Kingtin you are a local around the Bald Hills area as am I #One day I hope to meet you out on the water ,wont be for a while though as motor went BANG! on Monday and im off to catch Barra today for 2 weeks in Darwin .cheers Snas
    THOUGHT OF THE DAY

Live life like a dog,If you cant eat it or hump it ,
    pee on it and walk away.

Quote Originally Posted by BrandonH
    <snip>
    PS: there is another one behind the strathpine shopping centre and its setup better but there is a lot of shallow water between the ramp and the north pine arm. I have been up this way a few times also, let me know if you want some extra info on it and i will try and help!!

Brandon...
    Cheers Brandon. I've used that ramp also but I wouldn't like to attempt it at low on a king. Little birdy told me that there's some good jacks near there.

When written in Chinese, the word "crisis" is composed of two characters. One represents danger, and the other represents opportunity.

Quote Originally Posted by snasman
    <snip>

I have never used it personally but a m8 of mine has and had his car broken into on 1 occasion ,he blames that on leaving his back pack on the front seat so the theives could see it .By the sound of things Kingtin you are a local around the Bald Hills area as am I One day I hope to meet you out on the water ,wont be for a while though as motor went BANG! on Monday and im off to catch Barra today for 2 weeks in darwin .cheers Snas
    Yeah mate, security's an issue at most ramps nowadays. I go solo some days and the deckie puts me in the water and takes the trailer home. I give her a ring to come and get me when I've had enough.

Wish your daughter a happy Birthday for me and enjoy your time in darwin........seeya when you get back with some good reports

When you aim for perfection you discover it is a moving target.

This has come up before, but it's crazy that they spent so much money redeveloping the facilities/boardwalk/playground/BBQ's/toilets etc., and never thought that in doing so they'd increase its' popularity.

I'm certainly no beancounter, but how much more could it have cost for some additional concrete and grading etc to make it a 2 or 3 lane ramp?

Madness >

Good luck,

Quote Originally Posted by 2iar
    This has come up before, but it's crazy that they spent so much money redeveloping the facilities/boardwalk/playground/BBQ's/toilets etc., and never thought that in doing so they'd increase its' popularity.

I'm certainly no beancounter, but how much more could it have cost for some additional concrete and grading etc to make it a 2 or 3 lane ramp?

Madness >

Good luck,
    The argument I was given was that the wetland couldn't be encroached upon any further When I argued that they didn't need to "encroach" and that all they had to do was move the heap of rocks and put a concrete slab in it's place, I was told that the rocks were to prevent erosion.........Like .......a concrete ramp wouldn't prevent erosion?

When you forgive it takes you from the place of the victim to that of a victor.

dohles rocks was good on Monday, we came back in around 10:00, put up with the queue jumper boat with three blokes unloading nally tubs from a small tinny. Karma works, they ran over their own light board.

Then had to drive up to Osprey house to tie the boat down; there were boat trailers parked up as far as there, and cars with empty trailers looking for spots. Bet Osprey house were happy to have a fishing boat in the carpark next to their no fishing sign.

I reckon they've ruined that ramp for my purposes; no trouble to launch a 14' tinny on the old ramp, and if you want to launch a big glass boat, there's always the magnificent ramp at Contarf; saw a couple of 6 metre glass boats launched at Dohles equipped with offshore tackle.