Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Thread: Mistakes,,, I have done them all (or have I?)

Re: Mistakes,,, I have done them all (or have I?)

This happened a few years back but is true, I saw the result.
    A mate had a few drinks with the boys on a sunday afternoon and was late home with the new boat.
    Parked the boat in the garage with the ute outside and pulled down the garage door as he took off to resolve his problems with the wife.
    Next morning alls well with the wife got up late and jumped in the ute to go to work and you guessed it the door followed him down the drive.The ute still connected to the boat.
    G'day greyman hows Illuka (sorry to dob you in)

Wally

this one only happened on sunday took the boat out with the brand new motor on cruising along on the way back to the ramp next thing plonk brand new outboard falls off
    luckily the water was only about 2m deep

that was after i tried to take the safety off my lighter with the knife which snapped slicing a big slit in my finger

land_based

launched my old tinny wothout tilting the motor, wondered why it wouldnt go into the water

Trying to anchor up whilst using two anchors on the one rope . Throw out anchor one then quickly reverse up and throw out anchor two at the end of the rope.
    Ooops. In a split second as the anchor hits the water realised that I forgot to tie one end up first.
    Ended up dragging fishing line with all the big sinkers to drag the rope back up.

Bgood

And another time I was winching the boat up and hadn't put the ratchet on.Went to put it on and let the winch handle gowhich of course hit my hand.It swelled up like a balloon.the nearest hospital with an xray machine is 3/4 an hour away at Innisfail so of we go.The doc says nothing broken are you alergic to anything i says not that I know of and he gives me 2 codral forte for the pain.2 hours later my wife is dragging me into the local doctors unconcious and in convulsions from a severe alergic reaction to the pills, he had to give me an adrenaline shot.I nearly died!!! Would you beleive my brother is more of a disaster than me and my father, we won't even go there.It seems at least 1 of my girls has inherited this should i say disaster gene.I can tell you a fishing or camping trip with any member of my family is definately not boring.

This is great. Now I dont feel so lonely.

My best one was when I got home late one friday night from the local fisho after too many cans. Had to prep the boat for the next day. Forgot to lock the hitch onto the towball. Next morning I thanked my lucky stars as a Southerly had cancelled fishing and I went to unhook it. The road to the ramp is extremely bumpy (as are all NSW roads) and it could have been quite a mess. Moral to the story: I have never ever prepped a boat in an intoxicated state since.

I didnt learn my lesson with some rigs. Saw a nice 3-3.5kg kingfish take my bait and hook only 3 metres from the boat. No more beer and rigs.

I wont bore you with the countless anchor stories.
    Why is all the good weather around on weekdays?

Only left the bungs out once..........very very embarrasing when ya gotta go get the car and recover a full boat on a rather busy day (Easter public holiday). Have done many of these and will no doubt do one or two of them again.....
    May the winds blow lightly upon your sails
    May the seas buffet gently upon your hull
    May your chiller be full of piscatorial delights

Left bungs out once

Left bait at home once

Left rods at home once

Drove back from the ramp to the caravan park at 1770 with the motor still down once

So I am learning from my mistakes but as per the above posts I have some more learning to do.

Steven

Steven

Hi Cheech,

I will have to fess up to a few of those, mainly leaving stuff behind.

But I will dob in a gent right here right now!!

The chappie who I won't name, always used to follow the same method of boat launching..... Reverse down the boat ramp, break hard, boat would then slide off trailer and into the water...jobs done!!!

But on this particular morning, he had obviously forgot to check the tide chart....and it was still dark,

you know what I am going to say next!!!

Yep, he launched his 5 metre glass boat onto the boat ramp!!!
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

left bait at home on the weekend, even after reading this and saying... "never would do that"

a guy(not mentioning names) up north bought new fishing boat ,had a successful day fishing ,went home at night ,went to wash up ,found he had left rods iin rod holder on top of boat, but found them in a melted state for he had hit low lying power cables!!! lucky escape!!

Thought I had got over all of these things AND having read this this post still managed to leave the kids life jackets at home last weekend.One hour return trip as you can never be too carefull with the little ones. My mistake ? listining to my wife telling me that they will go mouldy left in the boat ( the life jackets not the kids )

Alex

Yes bungs, who hasn't , just once though.
    Launched boat onto concrete ramp when the winch gave way, I always leave the safety chain on until the last thing now.

Most annoying was pulling up a fiesty and not very happy mud crab on a fishing line, little bugger released himself into the boat and ran amuck trying to amputate some toes.
    People were jumping all over the place, I finally cornered him only to see him escape under the floor.
    Spent two hours unscrewing seats and pulling the floor up later that night trying to er rescue him.

One very lucky crab was eventually released unharmed. >

Absolutley clasic stuff people it makes me home sick (currently in ireland). By the way i have done just about all the stuff on that list.

A few years back, a mate scored a boat of an old fella that had had it paked in the shed for years. Motor was siezed up solid, so put a new donk on it, and took it down to deep water bend to test it out.

All went well, but the bungs were leaking (between the bung holder and the boat, not the actual plugs), so home they went. Parked it up the driveway, got out the old silastic, a good dollop around the outside of each bung. Now this bloke had a couple mates there just to help him out, as you do, and it was taking a few stubbies to lubricate proceedings. So by the time they found the silastic etc etc, they had had a couple or three.

Then one of em says - how are we going to know the leaks are fixed.
    Bright idea - lets stick the garden hose in the boat, fill her up a few inches, that'll do the job.

So a few more brews while waiting for the boat to fill up. Got deep enough, all congratulated themselves over a successful job. Realising they were a bit to far gone to take the boat back out, decided to settle in for the afternoon, and have a few more brews or three.

About 2 hours later, one of em says - whats that funny creaking noise? dunno have another beer was the answer.

About 15 minutes later there was this almighty crack, the boat plunges to the ground, right wheel has snapped off the boat trailer, water everywhere, boat badly damaged. Guess who had left the hose running in the boat all that time?

Result - boat and trailer totaled. Morale of the story - beer and boat repairs dont mix!