Fish kill 1770!!!!  Help! - Page 6
Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst 1234567 LastLast

Thread: Fish kill 1770!!!!  Help!

Re: Fish kill 1770!!!! Help!

G'day Blaze!!
    They will have to make the cell soundproof!!!!! LOL

Re: Fish kill 1770!!!!  Help!

Tony, and all concerned. Top marks and my appreciation at your persitence.

It makes you wonder though, that nobody in authority is available "out of hours" ..........What would it take to make them sit up and take notice?..........that whatever caused the fish kill was also toxic to humans? I mean, if you see a fish kill on a large scale, wouldn't your first thoughts be, "We need to get on to this immediately and ensure that no humans come into contact with the water"?

It seems to me that this kind of event is taken far too lightly and things will only change when a human is seriously affected by it........by then of course, it will be too late.

We treat this world of ours as though we had a spare in the trunk.

Tony,

I think the local member might need reminding how few votes it will take to put him out of a job at the next election. The sitting members are our servants, they work for the people that put them there, to represent us and to present our opinions and concerns to the government of the day.

G'day Phil
    Yeah mate, there may be a few people getting a stir-up on monday if we don't have any results. The local member included!!

Regards, Tony

PS... might be worth a bit of a troll round the headland in the morning, rumor has it a little black about 5-6ft was hooked off the rocks this morning
    Never know ya luck!!

Re: Fish kill 1770!!!!  Help!

Perhaps if you contact AAHL, fish disease laboratories, you could have a result?

Dicer
    We still have plenty of frozen samples and if we do not get sufficient results from the epa and dpi we will be looking to have them independently tested. If thats the case we will contactaahl for sure. Regards, Tony

Well Tony, I would have been out all weekend with the weather the way it is, but a certain Bugmeister, has my boat at Awonga. He and Leanne are putting in a few days there prior to their impending departure to Tassie to live. Apparently the Barra are hard to find down there !

OH, hit the place I told you I was going to. Spent an hour there, result in pic,. Dinner is served !

CHeers Phill

Gorilla_in_Manila

Nice feed Phil.

Guess you are going to tell us they were all caught on your special slugs!

Jeff

Nice one Phil
    Fresh whiting for brekky.....mmmmmmmmm
    We will have to send Brett and Leanne barra photo's
    The Marlin was apparently hooked on a raider.

Regards, Tony

gif

Results were back in a few days ago

despite promises I had to chase them.

Announcement here soon or 4BC Talking Fishing

be nice to publish results here to garry for all those that dont listen to nugget (bit early for this kid on most days)

Just a thought , many years ago i remember a big kill in the tweed river around the current mariner, the cause was a large school of pilchards being driven onto the banks by rather large sharks, the bay was thick with fish that drowned due to lack of oxygen. No large fish mainly pillies and the odd flathead and whiting. I am told the sharks were Bull sharks and tigers!

Hope they are posted here quickly.

I can confirm that the results of testing ( very limited ) has been complete. There were no pesticides present in the fish specimens.

I will let Tony and Gary elaborate on this, and what our next step is.

Interesting thought Sandman

In the end, I think all of us in this neck of the woods hopes it is a Natural Occurence.

DaveSue_Fishos_Two

If an announcement can be broadcast on radio....why can't it be told here??? I can't follow you on this one Fooksy?????