Thread: two fingers on treble....ouch!

two fingers on treble....ouch!

Young son Josh (going_phishing) has just learnt why we don't just grab hold of a popper caught in a tree when the tide is in full flood #. Two of the hooks have gone bend deep into two fingers...ouch

He's just up at the hospital now getting the 2 fingers freed up again so he can fish later today he reckons....I reckon he'll be too sore but we'll see. All the jokes started on the way back to the ramp......just a little prick.....Josh's first fingerling.....strange bait....etc.. He didn't even catch a fish this morning!!!

Funny enough I was just talking to him on the mobile and he still feels no pain at all. Isn't it weird how the body can mask pain so wonderfully...though I did tell him when they get the bolt cutters onto it there may be a tad more pain, and as for th huge needle (he hates needles)

Couldn't work out what to put this thread under....Tackle.....Report Estuary.....Recipes (for disaster)so thought I would just put it here.

Re: two fingers on treble....ouch!

OOOOuch. Might have to flatten the barbs on all the other trebles. I never do but I know I should .

No pain yet!!!

Bugger me,
    I can remember getting a treble caught in my leg with a bass still attached to the lure an dshaking around but I recon 1 in each finger has to cain

Some things you only do that one time huh? I am guessing he has learned his lesson on that

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

Just spoke to him on the phone....definite pain now 'cause the doctor just stuck the needles in both fingers and attacked. One of them didn't take to well but he has such a hatred of needles he told the doctor to take that hook out anyway....doctor wouldn't so hence, another needle... and is fighting tooth and nail with his Mum about the Tetanus shot he now has to have later this week.

Not happy Jan!

I better not keep the jokes going when he gets home as he is finally starting to catch up to his Dad sizewise.

Gorilla_in_Manila

Ouch!

This is a bit late, but a really handy bit of gear to have with you when flinging lures at tree lined banks is a broom handle or bit of dowel about 3 ft long with a little sheperds crook on the end.
    Make a little U shaped crook out of 10 or 12 gague fencing wire or a strong 3 inch nail, and secure and bind firmly to the end of the stick. Then just motor over near the lure, catch the trebble or hook with the crook on the end of the stick and give an almighty heave.

Also good for getting lures off sunken snags down to a few feet when you can still see them, and getting the hook out of the mouths of spikey mongrel catfish or chomping sharks that you don't necessarily need in the boat with you.

Jeff

Good advice Gorilla. They also say never to cut the the hook flush with the skin, so the attending doctor can see the direction of the barb for the extraction exercise. I am not a needle man either and am wincing at the thought of what he is going through.

Chin up going_phishing! #

Thank Gawd for local anaesthetic. Been there done that.

Hang in there Josh!
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

not good

darryl_l

Geoff,

I thought Josh got enough trophies this year already but looks like he is trying real hard for the DAG award

Hang in there Josh I aint gunna take that trophy off ya lol

Darryl L

hey guys,
    I'm ok and it didn't hurt 1 bit It can't have been to bad 'cause I talked mum & dad into going back out again this afternoon and we got some threadfin salmon, herring, bream, and grunter .

Thanks Darryl I wanted that one so bad last year I had to try for it this year.

Josh

YYYYYYYYEEEEEEOOOOOOUUUUUUUUUCCCCCCCCHHHHHHHHHH

Tight lines <*)(((((((((><

GO JOSH!!!!!!!!!!!
    That would have stopped me matey, even with the benefit of a few painkillers [smiley=beer.gif] [smiley=beer.gif]
    Oh the exhuberance of youth............where did it go.

Champion effort mate..........................Billy

Geez your a hero Josh ....you wouldn't even sit still long enough so I could Tag & Release ya

Chicken.....

Dad