Thread: Any tips for Whale watching

Any tips for Whale watching

G'day all,

With the ekka public hol on Wednesday and a half decent day prediced on seabreeze I reckon we might take the fam out to look for some moby's...if we can find them.

Where is the best place to try and find them....out through the Southpassage and around the front of Straddie or out the top end of the bay and around cape moreton? Or any other suggestions? Any tips would be gratefully recieved

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

mju_75

Re: Any tips for Whale watching

Hey there Rhys

Mate i went down the gold coast on a charter few week's ago now on half day trip saw heaps of whales out there not too sure if there still there or not hope this help's"

Thanks Mark,

Do you have any idea how far out from the sea way? and what direction?
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

you obviously haven't been paying attention to the pic on the top left hand corner of my posts mate,,,,

can it get any better??????????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgG_TxEPaQE

mate, i went out the gold coast on sunday morning saw 2 whales, plus also whale watching boats , they just passed our fishing boat by 30 meters,

i was at 24th fathom. just in front of Surfers.

bad thing was, no fish on a squire

G'day revs

We've seen plenty out from Pt Lookout around the group and flat, they appear to like passing close to the rocks. There can be a lull while they do their thing up north, and they take their time heading south.

rgds

Sportfish_5

Head out around the cape and follow "I Spy" around and keep an ear on the VHF Capt Kerry finds em quick and has a legion of helpers on the water.

Or you could tow a BFT around

I was out at deep tempest on sunday and saw 2 x

couple of mates were at the cathedral and saw a few right near the boat

and a mate was out from the seaway and a little north and saw a couple yesterday

geoff

thanks choppa...you don't happen to have a GPS mark for that one do you????

Thanks guys, looks like there are a few around...sounds like it shouldn't be too hard a task at the moment

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Once you spot some try turning your sounder off,I reckon they tend to come closer to the boat then.

Fat_Chilli

Just follow one of the Whale watch charters out of the sea-way, they send up spotter planes. I also saw one a two weeks ago at the 24's in front of Surfers.

Ausfish Platinum Member whiteman's Avatar

Plenty up our way at the moment. Latest pics.. http://www.bbbalc.com/index.cfm?Menu=Tourism&PageID=188

I don't think GPS marks work, they aren't like fish hanging around structure, but on a journey. The whale watchers do get tips on current locations but scan the horizon for "blows" the spurt of water they exhale when surfacing. You should be able to spot a blow from at least a kilometre away

Rhys, Just sit below the light house at the top of Moreton around Lunch time. Be quiet and have a little lunch in the small bay there so that you get a clear view down Moreton Island on the outside. You will hear them, or spot their blow on the horizon. We have always seen them there as they seem to pass right under the light house and the up the inside of Flinders and Hutchies.

Oh, and keep an eye out for EYE SPY and the other Whale watchers, and stay within eye sight of them.

I have also seen them towards Wide Caloundra from Flinders where they seemed to play the most.

Good luck

fish2eat is not wrong.
    Bring binoculars and go 10kms out the Seaway. Can't miss if you try.
    They tend to dive if a boat rushes towards them then resurface 5mins later but in the same line. Keep an eye on any large craft and you'll see that they are whale watching boats. If they're moving fast they're heading for a pod and if they're ot careful the pod dives.