smoking - Page 6
Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst 12345678 LastLast

Thread: smoking

Re: smoking

Quote Originally Posted by puks
    ok roz
    i see your point
    bad wording as always gets me into trouble and misunderstanding
    my bad will learn from that to shut up if thats ok

i have quit 7 weeks ago cold turkey
    no patches
    did well for 3 weeks but personal stuff set me back hence the cpl now and again because of stress

smoking is an addiction some need longer to quit and will fail and get back on the train and quit again

i think this trhead should be closed now befor more hairsplitting is done

i intended to ingnore it but well couldnt
    am a weak weak person
    anya
    Not a problem Anya, pretty hard to let the herion laced cigs go unchallenged.

But don't think for one minute I am attacking you. I am attacking your opinions, and I feel I am entitled to do so, just as you have the right to agree or disagree with mine.

I empathize with anyone who is trying to stop, I CAN quote a few doctors, some of who are family members, when they said that, in their opinion "nicotine is more addictive than herion", that surprised me.

shaman,

Stop the tanties, there are no "personal" attacks. Some strong views are being put forward regarding the issue of smoking. Absolutely nothing wrong with that. So don't go and turn it into an emotional slanging match.

GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

No tantrums here Roz, just thought that someone should speak up as obviously people who have been judged to be "retarded" and "in denial"
    by the psycology experts may need a bit of assistance. I just found it all a bit embarrassing...................................Bil ly

Ausfish Gold Member

I am fighting the dreaded nicotine habit at the moment and trust me it ain't easy > Went to the M&G today and after a few lite beers would have cut my ex mother in laws throat for a smoke Ooops sorry probably would have done that just for the fun of it But ya know what I mean.

jitlands has a point . but the butts on my boat all go into the boat butt bottle .....
    im with you grand marlin on pinheads opener

Haven't had a cig in 5 months and a bit , still get the crave for that millisecond now and then, tell my mates I am still a smoker, cause after 25 years it would be too easy to start again. I will never try to pressure or force them or anyone to quit, that is their prerogative.
    All I can say is that for me it became a necessary step in my life as I could feel my life slipping away, for want of a better explanation. I have walked parts of Lakefield with me mates and boy out of breath, no good. All night fishing jaunts smokin’like a chimney coughin’like shite and a mouth that tastes like an ashtray, no good. It was sinus hell, shite I was sure I couldn’t breathe properly. Time. Said to myself “self this is no good, I have to give up”.

Been 5 and a bit months since I had cig and it has not changed my angling abilities, but I sure feel better for it.

“Live long and prosper”
    Give a man a fish and feed him for a day , teach a man to fish and feed him for life .

i have a couple of "smokes" every year on fraser and it doesn't matter to the fish .......
    "whats the time"

I think we should defer to hard scientific evidence on this...

Proven fact that 100% of non smokers die.

Ausfish Premium Member

Quote Originally Posted by Grand_Marlin
    I think we should defer to hard scientific evidence on this...

Proven fact that 100% of non smokers die.

Furthermore, my French mate Eric reckons that in days of old, two of the main methods of preserving meat were to smoke it or soak it in alcohol. Therefore, there's a case to be made that smoking & drinking keeps you fresh, n'est pas?

Good luck,

Well done to those who have made the decision to try and stop. I am havoing another go after undertaking afitness assessment that said my abody age was 12 years older than actual - so looks like no more cigs and better eating and exercise habits for me.

This has for the most part been an inspirational thread for me and it is always good to see some open debate on very hot issues.

The comment about nicotine being moreaddictive than heroin is absolutely true. Nicotene is almost the most addictive substance on the planet.
    For those trying to give up, part of the reason why you get cravings for things like chocolate is that the brain associates these with pleasure the same way it associates the pleasure released by a hit of nicotene hence why a lot of people giving up smokes put on weight

Anyway, I'm on Day 3 now after a pack a day for the past 12 or so years and already wanting to committ some sort of dramatic violent act, but am meeting my urges with copious amounts of chocolate, milo etc so also need to start exercising to beat the additional weight I might put on

My Quit day is tomorrow, I have smoked for too long. i have tried to Quit many times but have failed. i went to the doctor and asked for help, after trying a few different things i was prescribed Zyban to assist me in quiting. i have found that it is very effective but i have been weak.

So tomorrow is the big day. Im not sure if this is smart, but Im also going to try and sell my boat tomorrow at a boat shop, its my birthday and i have been invited around to the parents for a birthday diner with a tribe of 30, might be a bit much, but i will let everyohne know before hand, that im crazy.

I have a few days off to save my workmates my bad humour.

If i can quit it will be the best Birthday Present EVER>

>

The smileys represent the moods i will have tomorrow

Hey Jewmaster, I have been on ZYBAN and it worked okay for me
    If you want more info send me a pm and I can tell you the MINOR side effects that I had
    The attached little shark should be on Zyban too

Some of you righteous need to join the Greens and start your own campaign against smokers, and call yourselves the Clean Air Huggers.
    Dont you think those that indulge in a smoke, no the consequences, without getting a ear full every day.
    Been doing it for 30+ years and hasnt killed me yet, but tomorrow could be a different story.
    We all got to go some time, wether its from smoking or being run over by a truck.
    So go preach somewhere else, and let a man kill him self in peace.
    As for the original thread does it deter fish from biting, no way in the world.
    Sorry just wanted to get that off my chest, especially after the last lot of laws came out.
    Lepers are Lepers

ever seen those "clean air huggers" (onya webby) jogging over the story bridge in peak hour traffic? me reakons they'd be better off sitting at home and lighting up a pack of winnie reds. smoking is a personal choice, as is fishing drinking, swinging , on topic, i smoke, my wife does not. our catch rate differs slightly. my catch rate went up, when i discovered the soft plastics though

Quote Originally Posted by webby
    Some of you righteous need to join the Greens and start your own campaign against smokers, and call yourselves the Clean Air Huggers.
    Dont you think those that indulge in a smoke, no the consequences, without getting a ear full every day.
    Been doing it for 30+ years and hasnt killed me yet, but tomorrow could be a different story.
    We all got to go some time, wether its from smoking or being run over by a truck.
    So go preach somewhere else, and let a man kill him self in peace.
    As for the original thread does it deter fish from biting, no way in the world.
    Sorry just wanted to get that off my chest, especially after the last lot of laws came out.
    Lepers are Lepers
    Did u cough it up ?????

There is a whole section on Zyban on www.forces.org/evidence/kill/kill.htm
    It is called "Lets Kill Them For Their Own Good".

No way would I touch the stuff. There is less risk from smoking in my opinion.

I reckon Qld Health would be in much better shape if the resources they directed against smoking (including 80 jack booted smoking police) were redirected to hospital beds.