Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst 12345678 LastLast

Thread: smoking

Bundy_Burp

Re: smoking

I see no one bashing anybodies head in and as for name calling all I see is a group of people stating there opinions lets all hope we can still do that or is the political correctness going to rear its ugly head in here as well .

Bundy

i dont see pc here but lots of hairsplitting

everyone has a opinion and should be able to voice that without being called retarded or dogooding treehugger

i like to discuss and argue as much as the next person but it depends on the level of insults how much i enjoy it (been around a few chatboards)

so thats my last post to this topic as it is a loose loose situation
    those who smoke will smoke no matter what
    those who dont wont no matter what
    the two will never agree on anything
    trying to convince the other person that only my view is the right one is futile

so have a nice weekend everyone and chill out

regards anya

scott_b

Gday tunaman
    My mates father used to take us fishing when we were kids and he did everything wrong ,smoked , ate banana's ,oranges ,put aeroguard all over his hands , we could never out fish him.
    wamjam

gogecko

I just buried my best mate and deckie this week. He lost a battle with the big C and the doctors said it was entirley due to smoking and alcohol. Dont tell me theres no evidence. He was only 51.

Sorry to be on such a downer. As an ex smoker Im really pretty cool about smokers, even on my boat. Im not usually a preacher, but this week I wish everyone could have seen my mate in hospital fighting for breath.

OK, thats my last word on it.

[quote author=jim_bream link=1155135295/45#55 date=1155297780]
    I'm liking the argument that you bait yer hook with your dominant hand, so smelly fingers only touch the hook. (Counter argument: ever caught a leatherjacket with nothing but a bare hook touched by a human hand?)

It ahs been too long since I went fishing, I am sitting here trying to remember how I bait on my hook, See ya off fishin
    Ross

May your lines be as tight as ....

Quote Originally Posted by the gecko
    I just buried my best mate and deckie this week. He lost a battle with the big C and the doctors said it was entirley due to smoking and alcohol. Dont tell me theres no evidence. He was only 51.

Sorry to be on such a downer. As an ex smoker Im really pretty cool about smokers, even on my boat. Im not usually a preacher, but this week I wish everyone could have seen my mate in hospital fighting for breath.

OK, thats my last word on it.

Andrew sorry to hear of your loss

When i was 6 years old my parents had another child . a baby girl she died at 4 months from lung cancer . no-one will ever convince me that smoking causes lung cancer.

yes i smoke and my butts are put in a butt bucket and diposed of at home.

Jason.
    ... i only work to support my fishing addiction.....

Quote Originally Posted by puks
    i think someone should shout a bottle of valerian in here

being a smoker is these days becoming to be a social outcast which is not a good way to go

there are many social smokers who only have a fag when having a beer at a party or in the pub with a mate.
    there are many smokers who would love to quit but its very hard
    its easier not do eat sugar or whitebread
    it s easier not to drink
    smoking is an addiction
    apperently nowadays cigerettes are laced with smallest amount of heroin so you get hooked even more makes it harder to quit mentally
    the body is over that within a week but the mind isnt

instead of bashing each other why not accept each other and if needed help each other

i startet smoking in 98 when i was 23 i theoretically quit 7 weeks ago i smoked 30 to 40 a day
    now have a cpl every now and then and a pipe but even when befor i smoked i had a problem with ppl outcasting smokers
    to me that discremination

so lets all settle down a bit
    there always will be smokers and nonsmokers
    its personal choice even if smokers are aware of the risks

as for the the pictures ont he packets these days they are disgusting and some of them are not completly true anyway

if you ask me there is a lot of BS around when it comes to outlawing smoking
    dont get me wrong i am aware of the risks what it can do to you
    but i dodnt think we are getting all the facts

however the question was i believe ddoes the smell of smoke has an affect on fishing
    not should smoking be outlawed while fishing

anya

Mmmmm heroin laced cigs.

Can't see any quotation marks there anya, didn't spot a link either, & your name is at the bottom of the page.

BTW. you say you have a couple every now and then, and you smoke a pipe. Sounds to me like you're a smoker

Both yourself & John are a tad delusional.

I sincerely hope you both wake up to reality before it's too late.

All of my friends that smoke at least realise the dangers, they make efforts to stop, but more often than not they fail.

At least they try, and for that they have my unconditional support & respect.

Cheers Roz.

GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

LOL.......

Old topic (the anti-smoking one) even older replies................
    Hate hearing people arguing over crap...............
    It was all good until some boofhead had to become self-righteous.......
    Mind your own business................Billy

Thanks Billy
    At Heaven's gate a soldier stood,
    his story ready to tell,
    St Peter said, 'no need my son all is understood,
    Go right in cos you've already served your time in Hell'

ok roz
    i see your point
    bad wording as always gets me into trouble and misunderstanding
    my bad will learn from that to shut up if thats ok

i have quit 7 weeks ago cold turkey
    no patches
    did well for 3 weeks but personal stuff set me back hence the cpl now and again because of stress

smoking is an addiction some need longer to quit and will fail and get back on the train and quit again

i think this trhead should be closed now befor more hairsplitting is done

i intended to ingnore it but well couldnt
    am a weak weak person
    anya

Can't make judgements based on colour or race or religion but it's okay to kick a smoker.I'm an on again off again smoker and I agree it's not a good habit but people should realise that as soon as the do gooders have banned smoking Alcohol will be in their sights.And whatever else they decide we need to be protected against for our own good.And why is a Heroin addict a victim but a smoker deserve what happens to them.
    As far as the fishing goes makes no difference some of the best fisherman I know are smokers [course most of em are about 60]

I might as well add my 2 cents worth..I do on everything else.

My grandfather had both his legs amuptated...from hardening of the arteries due to smoking.

If anyone doubts the ravages of cancer...try this lot:

Watch someone go from healthy to not even being able to walk due to cancer on the spine and finally spreading to everywhere else...took 2 years of complete decimation of the body until finally death eased that agony...this person was a smoker.

In the second instance...diagnosed with bowel cancer...surgery..found cancer in the small intestine and the liver..terminal...took a man of 6' tall and 105kg to a man that could not leave his bed and weighed no more that 65kg at time of death...total time since original diagnosis till death...15 months...never had a smoke in his life.

Both of the above cancer victims suffered the disease at the same time..they were a couple married for 54 years ..the first died on Xmas day 2004..the second died on 4th March, 2005.

If you think cancer is a disease that only others get and that there are painkillers that will ease the pain..forget it...that disease is absolutely disgusting and painful...I am not sure of the causes of it but I can assure all of you I would not wish it on anyone...it knocked the crap out of me watching my parents die from it...they are the 2 people mentioned above...the worst 2 years of my life....am not looking for pity but for those that discount the warnings re smoking..think again.

And the really dumb thing is ME..I still smoke!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Anya you shouldn't need to ignore any attack on yourself.........
    You, as an Australian reserve the right to defend your opinions and/or actions................
    Don't ever apologise for standing up for yourself while under personal attack..................
    I've read your previous posts and you seem to be a very open person and I feel that you have enjoyed this site as I have enjoyed reading your posts, you are obviously enjoying learning about our shared passion and sport and I for one find your thoughts refreshing.........
    I doubt that you are a weak person and I am embarrassed on your behalf...............
    Please don't let this experience ruin your regard of this site and it's many friendly members......................Billy

Gee this is heating up ,settle down my friends.
    Greg sorry to hear that , i watched my mother eaten away by this awful diasese,not a pretty site .
    George

ill go and try some brussel sprouts -not
    At Heaven's gate a soldier stood,
    his story ready to tell,
    St Peter said, 'no need my son all is understood,
    Go right in cos you've already served your time in Hell'