Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: I'd like to help the professonal fisher man.

Re: I'd like to help the professonal fisher man.

When he said he digging up pipes i thought him and the bus driver were gonna sit back and smoke a bit of weed!

No wonder he like fishing so much if he thinks thats what we all do when we go out! Thats why he want s to go with the pro. Probably thinks he will have the best weed!

Just kiddin mate

Welcome to Aus land. Best place in the world to live bar none. IMHO

Welcome aboard Tomu
    Great thread to read.
    I have thoroughly enjoyed it.
    If you're ever in Cairns then we can show you the ropes up here.
    We have a small boat(4metres) and fish in the rivers creeks and estuaries and when those rotten South Easterly winds are NOT blowing up tidal waves, then we can fish out around the islands.
    Rose
    PS Whenever we go to Japan the people there are overkind to us and this invite is just to show my appreciation to gentle Japanese hospitality in this small way. I wish I could do more. Locals in Japan wanted to take us fishing, but we only met them the day before we were to fly home here and unfortunately we missed out on a great time. Maybe next time we go over for a visit to Japan

Quote Originally Posted by flick
    This is hilarious.
    ?????????
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

Don't think he was having a go at you, Roz, just a chuckle at Tomokatsu's last post. Found it quite amusing myself, good to see some aussie's steering him in the right direction

Quote Originally Posted by Homer_Jay
    When he said he digging up pipes i thought him and the bus driver were gonna sit back and smoke a bit of weed! #

Welcome Tomo. Im quite impressed with how quick you've picked up learning english!. For 5 months of learning English, your talking much better then some of the 50 year old inbred feral's around my area. Then again, thats probably not hard to do . I learnt Japanese at school in Year 8, and can only remember one word... Rakugaki - meaning Grafitti .

Good luck with your fishing mate. If I can help in any way mate, send me a PM (Personal Message).
    TT

Thanks everyone mate!
    I researched Aussie words with the website of aussie_true_blue mate taught me.
    I used “big bikkies” of Aussie word in talking to my host father. Did your bought table cost big bikkies?” He was little bit supraised. I have interesting to Aussie words. McDonald's (the hamburger place) is Maccas in Aussie words but this in Japanese slang is Mac. Lots of other country word in Japan (loan words in Japan) are changed short word. For example, Air conditioning is Aircon, Television is Televi etc.
    I often have mishearing. When my host mother cooked a cup cake, I asked her “Are you doing now?”. She taught me “coffee sprinkle”. But I could not be heard it that I said my heard words. “Coki pule?” but she thought I said her cake is “cocki poo” of the mean of “cockroach poo”. I made her angry. And I arrived Australia soon I talked to my host family. I said "A SO" of Japanese word to my hostfamily in this talking. Its word is not means that Japanese giving responses like “well” or “How can I say” or “I see”. But my host family thought I said “AXX hole”. I felt language is bit difficult but interesting.
    I thought I will try to sometime go out somewhere for fishing before I help to pro fisherman. Because I don’t have knowledge of Australian fishing. I think this starting is about late of Oct or Dec. But I have no idea for this travel. And this travel I thought I respond your invitations and I tried to send PM but I still can not send PM.

P.S. lots of Japanese people like fishing. But usually fisherman in Japan doesn’t have a boat. Because Japan doesn’t have space. I can see lots of boats or yachts on bay in Australia but local Japanese harbors have pro fisherman boats and Cityside Japanese harbors have tanker and ferry. I rurally see personal boats or yachts in Japanese harbor. But in Japanese lake I sometime saw small aluminum boats.
    This attach is popular setting on beach or estuary for catching flounder and “KISU” of looks like Whiting. Fish usually bite a second bait, First bait is for seeming. I drag little bit the sinker and wait after landed sinker. My friend in Japan taught me this.

Tomo

Quote Originally Posted by tomokatsu
    often have mishearing. When my host mother cooked a cup cake, I asked her “Are you doing now?”. She taught me “coffee sprinkle”. But I could not be heard it that I said my heard words. “Coki pule?” but she thought I said her cake is “cocki poo” of the mean of “cockroach poo”. I made her angry. And I arrived Australia soon I talked to my host family. I said "A SO" of Japanese word to my hostfamily in this talking. Its word is not means that Japanese giving responses like “well” or “How can I say” or “I see”. But my host family thought I said “AXX hole”.

Must be dificult, but very amusing for you to try to expain your way out of some of these 'misunderstandings'. Oh, to be fly on the wall. Try telly or tv (tee vee) for television is most used.

Keep these stories coming, each one puts a smile on my dial.

You made me smile, thanks for your posts buddy.

BB

jim_farrell

Sorry roz, not laughing at you. I am finding it all very refreshing. I went to school with a japanese exchange student called Hideki. It wasn't just his use of the language but his sense of humour combined with it. I am finding the same with Tomokatsu. The bloody poo segment I found amusing.