What's the most disgusting bait you've used??

Thread: What's the most disgusting bait you've used??

What's the most disgusting bait you've used??

Just reading in the reports offshore and I was reminded of a fishing trip a mate, my brother and I went on in the Logan river many years ago.
    The story...An old bloke gave me some live worms after I did a job for him on the Tuesday or Wednesday. Funnily enough I had the boat with me and I put them straight in the boat. I forgot all about them until we were going to go fishing on the Sunday.
    Well a few days in the sun in wet sand gave the worms a very pungent odour to say the least.
    The other two wanted to toss them.....nancy boys thought they stunk too much to bung them on a hook (they were worried the stink would get on their Sao's and vegemite at smoko)....I wasn't going to waste them...I'll use them to see what happens.
    Well, the bream I got that day was outstanding I was happier then Larry and they couldn't bash the smirk off my face with the dogfish donger after me landing the 3rd or 4th fish and they hadn't had a bite.
    Tally for that day...stinky worms... lots and lots
    .....all other prime baits...nil

So what the most disgusting bait you've used and what did you catch??

Re: What's the most disgusting bait you've used??

When i was a kid, my dad used to manage an abbatoir at Beaudesert. One day he brought home some bull's balls which he duly took with us on a fishing trip with some mates. My mate and I drew the lucky prize and sat there all day with bits of balls on our hooks ...

Not sure whether the plan was for us to catch some cows or not but needless to say (from memory), we were the only 2 that caught nothing! I still remind my dad of that experience and he just laughs It will certainly be a story to tell the kids when they're old enough!

Take Care T
    home is where the loan is...
    Helping people get the RIGHT Home Loan

S.S.

Chook heads in the crab pots............... Pooooooooooooooo Weeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

oh yeah we used to use sheeps heads in the lobster pots, you haven't lived 'till you pull one of those up after a few days, and once we were on holidays and we used to leave 'stuff" in the boat over night because freezer space was limited, we had a few days bad weather and forgot about two bags of pilchards in the fish box in the boat, what a stink after 4 days, maggots as big as worms!

I forgot to add, we used the maggots to catch yackas and slimies the next day, in conjuction with a handfull of rotted pillies thrown over the side, they worked a treat.

marlinqld

Offal...sheeps liver......... peeeewwwwkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk!!!

Around the NSW Nth Coast, one of the gun Bream baits were blackfish guts which were placed onto a tin, left in the sun until the top pops off.
    Not nice when using it, and the smell is something that follows you around for ages.

Ausfish Platinum Member BrandonH's Avatar

Well I collected some bait last night for sharks and well.. its got to be close to the most disgusting bait I have ever thought about using!!!!!!!

Pike Eel about 3 foot long De headed to make things easier lol..

If talking about crab bait well thats another story!!!!!!
    Many years ago I use to ride my pushy down to sandersons near the hornybrook bridge with 2 crab pots on each hanger. After awhile i actually had a "beach" bike that i use to ride through the creek and across the sand to the last creek before Bald hills creek. anyways this one day I was going to check the pots after school and noticed this dead shag in the mangroves.. Was very gone and had a stench that streached about 6 foot away!! Well being a kid and in need of bait I grabbed a rag and picked this thing up. Well even being already half rotten it lasted in my pot for another week!!! and managed to catch me at least one decent muddie each day for that week witch was way better then the scats, catfish and mullet I had been trying the previous weeks don't think i could bring myself to trying another one now.. it was a very very potent smell

Brandon...

easy question to answer..repulsive smell and slippery buggers to handle at times and cannot catch fish using them...soft plastics.

Without a word of doubt in my mind the worst is mullet gut and chicken gut. Sure glad I am a tupperware man these days.

He who aims at nothing is sure to hit it.

Geez Greg Great minds thinks alike
    Isnt it great to come home with hands smelling like they'av been fishing, then those covered in GLITTER

It would have to be food off the smoko van!!!!
    Gold Coast , Queensland. Paradise!

I ran out of towing baits once.... well to be honest I run out on a regular basis so you would think I would learn.

Anyway... out of desperation I rigged up a small whiting as a towing bait, no big deal one would think. I rigged it up on 7/0s, chucked it out the back and after 5 or so minutes trolling, hook up on a small spanish.

Now anyone that tows dead baits for mackeral know that baits usually get well and truely smashed, but occasionally a bait comes back with only minor damage, no big deal there, so out it went again, same thing happened, another small (just legal spanish) & bait still in good nick...sort of.

Cut the story short, at the end of the day all viable baits rigged or other wise go back into my freezer, in this case it was the end of my visit to Agnes.

Around 3 or 4 months later out comes Mr Whiting again, back into the water & another mackeral into the boat.

As the weather was looking good I decided not to freeze the still useable (Lucky) whiting again the next day, only one problem I forgot to put it in the fridge.

Next day my lucky whiting was a tad on the smelly side and only just held together with copper wire. NOT KIDDING, it caught another mackeral before it completely disintergrated.

So there you have a smelly bait story, although I havn't used whiting since, maybe I should.

r.
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

I'm with poodroo,

Chicken gut is the smelliest, most disgusting bait there is, even days after you use it you can still smell it on your hands,

Wonder why i still use it................................................ ..............

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead
    easy question to answer..repulsive smell and slippery buggers to handle at times and cannot catch fish using them...soft plastics.

I was going to say SPs also but I was going to say that they are not ecologically sound - they are not recyclable like any of the other baits.