Thread: How do you feel?

Re: How do you feel?

My kids are grown and moved out...but..with having my own business then a lot of time is involved in running it. As you know Kev, wife and I just love being on the water relaxing..fishing is not all that important but time on the water is. We try and make every 2nd weekend available to go out but that does not always work out...I won't put my weekly costs for owning the boat on here..but...it is worth every cent of it...just for the wife and I to have some time together ...I just have to put up wth her digs about me having to finish the painting etc at home..what is wrong with 5 year plans for these projects.

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead
    <snip>
    I just have to put up wth her digs about me having to finish the painting etc at home..what is wrong with 5 year plans for these projects.

5 years eh? Gotta keep 'em sweet and rush things I suppose

I just read this post and was really impressed with how everybody said such positive things about your missus loving her work etc. I felt sure they would all be saying that fishing was the only thing to consider.

The only thing stopping me fishing at the moment is the stinking wind! We have been grounded by the wind and the fact that we only have a tiny boat so really have to pick our days if we want to go outside even though it is only just outside.

I recently had a really miserable day off and sat around feeling sorry for myself watching too much telly coz I just felt hopeless without being able to wet a line. There's really not much to do in this little town we have just moved to when you are weathered in.

So lately we have been getting out in the local creeks and loving it. Once my missus even suggested a before work fish and she never stops asking when we can go to Awoonga next.

So basically I am blessed. I work with her all day, come home and cook and spend the nights with her and on my days off can think of nothing better than fishing all day with her. The only downside with my wife is there's all this weird stuff in my pantry that I can't read and have no idea whether it's food or cleaning gear!

We don't have kids in the equation yet though and at 41 years old I am nervous about this happening to say the least. I'm just enjoying it while it's happening. If I could get some mud crabs now life would be complete.

Henno
    aka Mark

Mate i guess we all have our problems. I had been waiting patiently for my new boat to arrive and it happened to be ready just as my wife gave birth to our first baby. I was a mix of emotions at the time, completely blown away by the birth of my first child, what an awesome experience, but knew it would definately cut in to my fishing time and with a brande new rig sitting in the shed it was very difficult to come to terms with.
    I managed to sneak out a few times but did feel quite guilty abot me out fishing, and the missus back at home with the bub.
    During this time i was targeting jew fish so i would check moon phases, tides etc and mark it on the calender on which days or nights of the month i would head out as to make my missus aware of my intentions, but pretty much on every date that was right to go, something would come up and alas no fishing was done. I started to get really pissed off with the situation until i spilt my guts to a mate who listened intently. He turned around to me and said to really think about what i am complaining about.
    I have a new boat, I have a healthy new baby girl and a wife who loves me deeply, i have a business which is mine and i love doing.
    This made me pull my head in pretty quik.
    There are heaps of crew out there who are in jobs they hate, partners who cheat on them, children with problems and cant afford to put food on the table so if other fishos on this site have same problems as us i think we are all doing ok.
    Just remember that next time you are out there with your family or by yourself, just how truly lucky we are to live in this country, have the options and opportunities that we do, and enjoy what we are doing to its fullest.
    My baby girl is now one year old and now that she fits into a life jacket, the bub and the missus loves a night fish in the river hunting jew. She loves the boat and falls asleep everytime to the slow purr of the motor when under way. Nothing more satisfying than fighting a jewie at night in the river with the missus rerady with the gaff and the bub asleep up front.
    Jewie

Kingtin I had something to say but then I read Jewienewies post and I forgot what it was.
    Good Luck and best wishes to all and their loved ones.
    Seasons Greetings

My wife is a psychologist and has to work late a few times a week. We also have a 3yo & 12wk old I look after those nights and a few mornings when shegoes in early. I think we are very lucky, we both are very motivated and enjoy our jobs. Ourkids are healthy and happy (Paige, the eldest LOVES day care) and we both love playing with them.

The most fishing I get is a half hour here or there when work permits. Which is great and I'm not complaining, but now I rarely get to go at night. There is too muchgoing on with the missus working and the two kids to get bathed, fed and into bed. Bythe time thats done we may get an hour to spend together as we both get up around 4 - 5am dependignon who is starting early and who is getting the kids up.

Paige is stilltalking about fishing with daddy at easter (she had no hook but laved it) so I am taking her fishing in a couple of weeks. A mate also has a 3yo boy so we will take the kids out to 'the hole' and try to get them as hooked as we are.

As for the nightwatchman,she likes boats almost as much as me (but she prefers the more comfortable type). So I am off to the inlaws this morning to get some time on the riv sports cruiser so we can start taking that out ourselves. That way when I can buy a boat she might let me set it up predominantly for fishing as we have her parents boat for luxury cruising and weekenders.

Love my wife, my kids and fishing. Just can't wait tillthe boy is old enough to combine all three.

May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line

Quote Originally Posted by Brett1907
    My wife is a psychologist and has to work late a few times a week. We also have a 3yo & 12wk old I look after those nights and a few mornings when shegoes in early. I think we are very lucky, we both are very motivated and enjoy our jobs. Ourkids are healthy and happy (Paige, the eldest LOVES day care) and we both love playing with them.

The most fishing I get is a half hour here or there when work permits. Which is great and I'm not complaining, but now I rarely get to go at night. There is too muchgoing on with the missus working and the two kids to get bathed, fed and into bed. Bythe time thats done we may get an hour to spend together as we both get up around 4 - 5am dependignon who is starting early and who is getting the kids up.

Paige is stilltalking about fishing with daddy at easter (she had no hook but laved it) so I am taking her fishing in a couple of weeks. A mate also has a 3yo boy so we will take the kids out to 'the hole' and try to get them as hooked as we are.

As for the nightwatchman,she likes boats almost as much as me (but she prefers the more comfortable type). So I am off to the inlaws this morning to get some time on the riv sports cruiser so we can start taking that out ourselves. That way when I can buy a boat she might let me set it up predominantly for fishing as we have her parents boat for luxury cruising and weekenders.

Love my wife, my kids and fishing. Just can't wait tillthe boy is old enough to combine all three.

Not another bloody cruiser jockey..more wash and speeding boats to contend with...don't do it..LOL

Now Brett..any man that has the urge to put up 10000 xmas lights definitely needs a psychologist for a spouse..u may be an ongoing study for her...write a thesis on the propensity of clark griswold types and xmas lights.

now I'm not Yoda , and I dont have a missus and rugrat ,,yet anyway , so, er, um,, I should probably cancel my next smart ar$ed remark disguised crudely as advise as I know it will offend some of the ball and chained members of this forum..
    My future wife will own a pub up north and I will live on the gold coast working as a field product tester for a large sounder company ,so I can see myself running into similar dilemas,,

Youve given me something to think about.

PinHead, the cruiser has 4 sets oficicle lights and a blow up santa on the bow for christmas!!!LOL

Did well enough this morning to get to go out ourselves. It may be a cruiser brigade, but he got a bait board with rod holders made upfor the duckboard. It'll do untill I get a fishing boat.

Meanwhile I'll be drinking my wifes dangerously potent starwberry daquiris while everyone else is drinking flat beer cause it got too shook up in the tinny...LOL. Even my mates will put the beer/rum/bourbon down for her daquiris, they'll kill ya!!

May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line

Quote Originally Posted by Brett1907
    PinHead, the cruiser has 4 sets oficicle lights and a blow up santa on the bow for christmas!!!LOL

Did well enough this morning to get to go out ourselves. It may be a cruiser brigade, but he got a bait board with rod holders made upfor the duckboard. It'll do untill I get a fishing boat.

Meanwhile I'll be drinking my wifes dangerously potent starwberry daquiris while everyone else is drinking flat beer cause it got too shook up in the tinny...LOL. Even my mates will put the beer/rum/bourbon down for her daquiris, they'll kill ya!!

where do we meet up for the daquiris??? I have the white thongs for on a cruiser.

I'll have to take the missus out first (it is her families boat), then we'll see what we can do. The more the merrier!!

Bloody hell, Pinhead in a thong that really is taking the joining the yuppie/jetset/south of france/cruiser owning thing too far. For gods sake what ever you do don't get it wet.

WHITE THONGS FOR EVERYONE!!!

Now that would be a white christmass in Australia!!LOL

Shame on you Kev!!!

Mrs K.Tin sounds like a one in a million.

I must admit I've had the same whinge from time to time.... no deckie.

I know your boat is a lot bigger than mine, but have you ever considered just getting out there by yourself?? I don't often take my boat out by myself, but when I do, I thoroughly enjoy the peace and quiet.

r.
    GO THE CRUISER UTES!

....OH WHAT A FEELING!

Quote Originally Posted by roz
    Shame on you Kev!!!

Mrs K.Tin sounds like a one in a million.

I must admit I've had the same whinge from time to time.... no deckie.

I know your boat is a lot bigger than mine, but have you ever considered just getting out there by yourself?? I don't often take my boat out by myself, but when I do, I thoroughly enjoy the peace and quiet.

r.

Sorry about that Roz................I was having a "feeling sorry for myself" moment

Yeah, been out a couple of times on my own when the deckie had something else on, but midweek is the problem as I have to do school runs if she's working.

I'm just longing for the time when she's had enough of shifts and the whole family can be together (fish together) at weekends. The upside is that if she's off during the week we can at least put the tinny in the Pine and have a few hours alone before the kids come back from school. The downside is that she then isn't home at weekends when the kids are. I was just wondering about other folks' positions with regards to shift work

I'm blessed (I suppose) in that the deckie likes to fish with me, but also doesn't mind me going it alone or with someone else if she isn't in the mood. I know some guys whose wives hate them fishing...........they don't want to fish but get peeved if their husbands want to. One of my older boys came over a couple of years back. I hadn't seen him for 10 yrs and we went out in the bay. I got him onto a couple of bronzies and big shovellies and he loved it. When we got back his missus had a face like a cows arse She berated him saying, " I didn't come half way round the world for you to piss off with yer dad and leave me alone with the kids". Still don't know if she had a point but I thought she would have given him a bit of leeway seeing as we hadn't seen each other for so long. She's buggered off and left him with the kids now and hopefully he'll get out here soon.

Some nice responses in this thread and I appreciate it 'em. It's nice to know that some wives are understanding of the need for their blokes to fish, and it's also nice to see that some blokes appreciate the wives POV when they don't want to have their hubbies fishing all the time.