Thread: Canberra Fishing

Canberra Fishing

Hey all

Just found out that i will be moving to canberra early in the new year for work, and was wondering how many members are on here from canberra. I was also hoping that these members would be able to shed some light on the fishing options available to one who lives in canberra. I feel i may have been spoiled living and fishing in south east QLD.

Cheers and merry Xmas to all
    Mitch

Re: Canberra Fishing

Don't know about canberra, but sydney isn't far away.

May 2006 Order New Hilux - June 2006 Order ARB & Other Goodies - August 2006 Organise fitting of ARB & Other Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Delivery of New Hilux with Goodies - 2nd September 2006 Break Goodies - 3rd September 2006 Use Angle Grinder to Modify New Goodies - 4th July 2007 BEND ARB rear protection bar (Big Rocks) - 31st July 2007 Notice cracked welds in the ute tub. TWIST!! - September 2007 Bend Alloy Side Steps - Feb 2008 Install steel side steps - March 2008 Bend Steel steps & Punture Diff Lock Air Line

Mitch mitch mitch, maaaaate you have my sympathy. As an expat Canberran now living in SE Qld all I can say is mate youre going the wrong way!!!! Sorry mate couldnt help myself, once youve become accustomed to the cold (and it does get VERY cold) you do have a few options.
    Depending on whether fresh or salt is your go here a couple of thoughts
    Fresh: Lake Burley Griffen - Carp, Redfin, yellowbelly and a few cod. Lake Tuggeranong same as LBG and Lake Ginnenderra also as above.
    Also look at Lakes Eucembene & Jindabyne and Wyangala dam at Cowra. All of these will produce trout but last I heard they are all low on water (like everywhere else ) If its salt you need then you have the South Coast not far away Batemans Bay has the Clyde River - great estaury fishing and offshore or keep going south towards Narooma and Bermagui for some serious offshore - Think BIG Kingies and Yellowfin Tuna out on the shelf. I can recommend Daryl Stewart at Narooma bait & tackle, he also runs Narooma Charters.
    Unfortunately you arent going to find any Jacks down there, but hey - you will need to go somewhere to thaw out now wont you? And did I mention the cold? Brass monkey stuff indeed
    Thats a quick overview but if you need any more specific help let me know and Ill try and remember some more.

Cheers and Beers

"Mystique" Haines Signature 580BR with 175 of Mr Suzuki's finest ponies

Thanks for the replies

I am an old salt dog so to speak, so will be keen on some good estuary fishing that is not too far away (weekend stuff). I would be also keen to do some good freshwater fishing to.

Scott - Thanks for the help. Initially i will be mostly landbased, but will look at getting a small sea going vessel later. What species are on the cards in the estuaries?? Just interested on some gear to take with (also gear for the fresh). I will be primary lure fishing (hopefully, but will give bait a go if the fish don't like my lures)

Am really not looking forward to the cold, but sometimes these things have to be done.

Mate sounds like the Clyde River is going to become your friend. Although you might be a bit restricted landbased there is a hire boat place next to the bridge at Batemans (or there used to be) where you can hire a tinny. All the usual suspects to be caught Bream Flathead Whiting etc, the Co-op at Batemans is a good backup and the Clyde River oysters go down well with a couple of brown lemonades
    Basic spinning gear is all I ever used - around 6kg line is heaps. There are plenty of beaches that are pretty fishable too so check out the area south of Batemans Bay down past Tomakin towards Broulee all nice spots although they do get busy in holiday time being so close to Canberra.
    There you go mate hope that helps a bit and did I mention the cold

Cheers and Beers
    "Mystique" Haines Signature 580BR with 175 of Mr Suzuki's finest ponies

Mick_Godfrey

Jack Hunter

You have my deepest sympathy, i finshed my four year sentence down there last christmas and believe me your first winter will cure the urge for freshwater fishing.
    If you are in to jewies go to a place called Moruya Breakwall (signposted as Moruya Airport nth side of river about 2.5 hrs drive) Nice spot, you can camp right on the beach at the breakwall end and there is a toilet block there. (A guy comes round and takes your money in the arvo's for fees).

4 days either side of the full moon with a run out on sunset is the go here, catch some live tailor on the ocean side in the arvo then chuck em back in the river and hang on (about 3/4 of the way out, you will see the holes). i was using 12ft one piece with a shimano TSV4 60 or 80lb leader and 30lb mainline which slowed most of them down. During the Jan-Mar period they also live bait for Kingies and tuna right off the end off the wall but be very careful of the swell, this is a dangerous bar and wall.

Sothern head of Malua Bay is also big on LBG for Tuna and King during these months which is about 20mins north.

All the info on Bermagui from Argle is good too, lotsa fun to be had there and a good estuary system.

PM me if you want to buy some second hand thermals...........i no longer need mine

Thanks guys for all your info and your help. i have done a fair bit of beach fishing up here as well, so that would be on the cards too.

Just looking for some good fishing on a regular basis. Will have to find out some more info when i get down there as well.

Mitch

Hi Mitch,

I live in Canberra and have done for the past 15 years, I moved down from Sydney and don’t regret it at all. Don’t believe all that talk about it being really cold – it’s all about layers to keep warm – you’ll need about 20!!! It snowed here only weeks ago.

As already mentioned the coast is less than 2 hours away if you take the Batemans Bay option but in my view a better place to try is Merimbula, it’s a great little town and much better on the eye than BB. Plenty of fish around the area as well – better again than the BB.

Apart from the already mentioned lakes in the Nations Capital and the snowy region, Canberra also has some great little trout streams but these will no doubt be too dry this season. You can however do the country a favour and have heaps of fun at the same time on the dreaded European Carp. Carp will readily take flies and certain lures and they pull like the clappers – especially the river fish (can’t eat them though). Great fun sight fishing for them in the shallow waters of the Murrumbidgee River on a warm summers morning.

That was going to be another of my questions....what gear should i take??
    If i plan on doing a bit of estuary/beach/freshwater fishing what would be the best rods, reels, and lures to take (as well as warm essentials).

Currently i have two light spin outfits, two heavier baitcasting outfits, and some surf gear. Lure wise, i have a range of flathead/trevally/jack hardbodies, and the larger (4in and up) soft plastics.

Also, would it be wise to invest in a small tinnie (if funds permit)

Mate there is a few yak fishos from canberra on www.akff.net check the reports section for up to date fish info. Hope this helps. If the fishing sucks there's always Fyshwick to keep you entertained. Check it out when you get there it doesn't matter where you are in Canberra every road sign points to it. Cracker night you beauty!

Mate, I’d bring the lot if you can. As far as the tinnie goes it could be used in the mountain lakes and the coastal estuary’s however you will need an electric motor to use it on the lakes around Canberra - if money is an issue then stay away from Fyshwick – that Shayned is a naughty naughty man! (although there is a good tackle shop out there.)

How successful is beach fishing down on the south coast?? Im talking about bait fishing and spinning for tailor/salmon/jewfish etc. Also how does the weather go wind wise.

Sorry for all the questions, but just want to get an idea of what to expect, and what to bring with. I would be looking at going fishing once a week sort of thing.

Mitch

Australian Salmon off the beaches south of batemans bay went ok for us. Good winter time jewies around jervis bay and the local river. No cast net for livies though.