p.m me for further info....
I reckon grub's right. I've never bred them as he does, but a mate of mine used to breed barra at the D Bay hatchery for the fingerlings now living in a lot of the lakes up north. I was in the same fish keeping club (ANGFA) as he, and sometimes messed around at his work. They seem to get swim bladder infections a lot.
Also, if the fish tank treatment is getting expensive when something like white spot bothers you, I believe changing the fish from fresh to salt, or salt to fresh is the cheapest and quickest way to fix it up. but then I haven't done it. (of course this would be only feasible in a bare tank. Expensive plants wouldn't much enjoy the trip down the estuary.
I hope the fish does well.
rob
hey tim becker, thats my dream, i love native fish!!!!!!! how do you ween the barras on pellets, cause i have 2 bout 25cm -22 cm, and i have tried to give them pellets before but were not interested i usually feed them dead food from the baitshop, and live food. and because i have feed them on that stuff they wont take pellets. do u have any suggestions??? or anyone else that has info
cam
Last edited by Cammy; 18-01-2007 at 12:14 PM.
hey there cammy if you only feed them pellet for a week or so theyll eat them barra can go days without any food not recomended if you have fish in the tank that they can swollow but ive got a large polennei wich is south american the barra tried to eat him quite a few times but he just didnt fit in his mouth. get some very large high protein pellets bout the size of a dog biscit.
yer ok i will try that, thnx
cam;
Australian Native Fish VidsSpecialize in Terapontida's, Perches, Cods, Gobies & Gudgeons
cammy, barra and jacks can grow very big very quick, especially if you pump the food into them. Bass, goldens, silvers, spangles and jungles don't grow anywhere near as big as adults.
Dunno where you can get jungle perch from
Some retailer have them from time to time.
At one time or another Smith's Aquarium (Sandgate Road Boondal) has had bass, jacks, silvers, goldens and jacks. Can't remember if jungle perch ever featured.
I suspect they might be hard to get hold off as only a breeder could supply them in fingerling size. I don't know af any commercial breeders of even if DPI has bred them.
got a jack from them, Luc.
A great pet. Maybe not as nice as a Dawson river Saratoga. Equal to a bass, but with more fisher appeal?
Died of whitespot and ???? between when I sold it to a bloke where we both work, and when we picked it up.
Sad victim of a two tank huge wipeout. Nothing to do with Smith's, I'd had it for 4 years by then.
I suppose a bass or estuary perch would be closer in max size to a jungly, as opposed to a jack, which grow heaps bigger.
i no a pet shop that can get any native fish, just pick a native!!!
cam
Australian Native Fish VidsSpecialize in Terapontida's, Perches, Cods, Gobies & Gudgeons