Northern Gold Coasters ?

Thread: Northern Gold Coasters ?

Northern Gold Coasters ?

Hiya..

I've been an avid Salty angler for a while now. I spend far too much time chasing Marlin these days, and wondered if there were any semi avid salt fly fishos on the Northern End of the coast whose brains I can pick for fly locales, fly patterns and lines etc to use ?

I picked up a cheapy 9WT outfit for a good price. I have to check the reel and backing etc, but it looks OK.

I am looking at hopping into my boat and chasing the pelagics in and around the seaway when I get time, so any advice is well received.

If anyone can put me onto a place to get good flys for a fair price up this end of town, I'd also be appreciative.

I'd also look to take anyone out who can give me any pointers too...maybe swap a days marlin fishing as well ? I have a 5.25 Cuddy setup primarily for chasing Beakies, so casting will be an issue is a wind I'd guess ?

Wayne

Re: Northern Gold Coasters ?

far to much time chasing billfish wayne?? is there such a thing!!??

What about Billfish on fly, plenty of guys have caught beakies as the 1st fly caught fish (lucky %#@*^#s). A few of us have the bigger gear,and r just itchn to have a go at this end of the scale,(I could even drag down a world Champ,with a #17wgt,he would have 3rd shot though) . All the guys that have done it (some very well)say its not as difficult as it would seem, teasing is the key, if no one knows how to tease a fish properlly it wont happen, Thats where"knowalage is king"and all the flyrod gurus in the world wont help if you dont "know Billfish". Id keep u knee deep in flies for a chance at being involved in a Billy on fly capture. MQ
    PS the SeQ flyrodders meet down the coast once a mnth, but there all Troutys.. [smiley=sleeping.gif]

I've done some switch baiting with Live and Dead baits for Marlin, but mainly out of flybridge Boats. Its easier to spot the fish on the teasers that way. Id be keen to take a couple of you fellas out one day to see if we can switch a marlin on Fly. My boat fishes 3 OK..but 4 would be a problem.. and thats where we'd need the 4th to present the fly.

I've just won some clousers from the US on Ebay, so I look forward to tying them on and having a chuck soon.

Wayne

Head out to the traps Wayne and get into some dolphin, ive had a fair number onboard hook into some dolphin on fly and they are easy to get close to and good fun allround on that size gear. time on the water quinny would see you into a marlin or sail no worries.

SNELLY

Surely all SEQ flyrodders couldn't be all Trouty's

Quote Originally Posted by mackmauler
    Head out to the traps Wayne and get into some dolphin, ive had a fair number onboard hook into some dolphin on fly and they are easy to get close to and good fun allround on that size gear. time on the water quinny would see you into a marlin or sail no worries.
    What patterns for Dollies ???

This is where I need guidance. Also.. floating or sinking line ? Tippets etc ??

I dont have much of an idea.

Wayne

Quinny
    Trouties indeed,just lost a spot on my boat champion
    Wayne
    Far from trouties mate,a couple of us have been discussing the billfish on fly scene for this summers run of little blacks,but some one with experience on the Bills would speed up the learning curve.
    Next meeting is the 21st of sept.
    i will PM you my contact details,unlike Quinny who just leaves his on dunny walls .
    Glenn

G'day Wayne
    Intermediate lines are the best "allround" line to fish where you are, try scientific anglers bonefish taper or Rio clouser taper to suite your rod size.
    Best flies for dolfin fish would be a pilly head if your using burley ,otherwise use Decievers, Flashy profiles or large Candy's to match the baitfish they are feeding on.
    Mate if you can catch Billy's then fly fushin will be a piece of p@$%^*&
    Cheers Chris

Thanks for the replies. Some good stuff there. I appreciate the advice. I'm going to have to run up to Redland Bay to the tackle store soon and have a good talk to the guys there.

My new career selling houses limits my weekend activities these days unfortunately, but once the blacks are around, I'll be arranging time off to get into them. Mid weeks always better anyways, as you have the bait schools to yourself.

If anyone knows someone with a flybridge who'd be keen to hand me the wheel for a day later in the year, I'd love to be on the sticks for a go at marlin on the long wand.. if not, we'll have to make do with my shitty little boat.

Thanks again,

Wayne

I just read some stuff from Dean Butler, they use little boats alot (no fly bridge), the teasers dont run to far back, just have to keep an eye on them at all times.
    As for Dollies there a great fish,, went out with mackmauler late last season and had a ball, there fast, jumpy, good to look at, tasty, obsessed with surface flies, but pretty bloody cluey (on this day). Definattly worth the run out.Id kill to get to get a big bull. mq

Glen, Howd the doggies go? LOL.

Dont worry Quinny, youll get your shot at a bull soon enough, as for the marlin saw quiet a few within fly range last summer, the best lure was only about 10m back, even I could have cast that far you would have liked this one fish lol, played with that lure for at least a minute, itd pull a meter of line and drop it, then come back again! exciting stuff, just gotta get out there and try..

Good morning Wayne.
    I too live on the Gold Coast and would be happy to help you with your fly fishing.
    My phone number is 55 740 047, if you care to phone and have a chat sometime.
    Kind regards.
    Barry.

As long as you can get away from the guys using baits you're in for a chance. I've caught my blacks at Port Stephens and Noosa and Sails over in Broome where they are pretty damn easy to catch, really I've only caught about 8 all up on fly with the last one in about 2000 at the fly comp at port stephens.
    I'll post a photo of some of the flies I've used, all flashy profiles, tandem hooks when I get home.
    My first black came after raising over 20 fish. If they're not keen to bite, they can be a b**tard but when they're hot to trot, you can throw just about anything at them.
    Some of my biggest mistakes included using an "overdressed" fly, having the flyline wrap around the spool of the reel on a windy day, Actually, they're the only two.
    Make sure you tease the billy within casting distance using ONE teaser only, make sure all the rest are removed otherwise the fish will swim from one to the other to the other, let it concentrate on ONE. Don't mind using a skipping bait for this purpose. If they come up on a swimming bait, switch over to the skipping bait, easy to see.
    Make sure you have as many hands on deck as what you do teasers.
    Once the fish is teased up, cast your fly behind the teaser and remove the teaser, most times the fish will turn, see your fly and eat it , well, that's the theory and it sometimes works
    Remember if you're fishing by "the rules", the boat should be out of gear when you make the cast, can't be seen as trolling now can we. But when it comes to all that IGFA stuff, bugger the rules I reckon.

Forgot to mention, they CAN be teased up to within patting distance on some days. Now that's pretty awesome to see