-
fishing u.a.e
g'day there,just wondering if anyone out there has flyfished in the waters off of dubai as i've moved here from oz and was wondering what fish are around and where is best to fish,gear etc.Love to chase tuna so please tell me there's good tuna fishing.any help would be good thanks.
-
Re: fishing u.a.e
You are on the wrong side of the coast
Please make sure that you get a license if you are going fishing there. The police are known to have targetted fisherman and confiscate everything if you do not have the paperwork. Apparently it is a mission to get with all the paperwork involved, but not impossible.
There are a couple of places around Dubai, but with the dredging the guys have not been doing very well. Speak to Andy Demare at the Le Meridian Mina Siyahi Marina, they have three boats that used to do charters into the Gulf. My last trip was an absolute waste because of the dredging. It has been a year since and things may have changed.
There are no tuna on the Dubai side but they do get monster Cobia and Spanish Macks.
Near the breakwater walls there are a few trevally, bream and sweetlip.
Book yourself in to a hotel in Fujeira and go fishing on the eastern side of the country. Dorado, HUGE yellow fin tuna, spanish macks and the odd marlin cruise around the Indian ocean side. There is a South African guy who runs charters on that side specifically set up for fly fishos. (Forgot his details but will look for it.) Well worth it and the boat is designed for fly fishing in mind. They drift amongst the 100 plus oil tankers anchored off Fujeira and we have had some very good sucesses there. Just watch the wind though, things can get very ugly very quickly when the wind comes out of the north west.
Wessel
Doha side of the pond.
-
-
Hey wessel thanks for your help mate as i hadn't even thought about getting a license so i may have lost a couple of nice rods and some gear as well as the hassle.I thought it may be a bit better down fujeira way,i'll have to get down there seeing you can go outside without melting now.it'd be nice to feel a bent rod again. Any help is good help and welcomed so thanks heaps. Meherio it is me mate how's the new boat going i'll be back in nov. for a quick trip,the grasscutters will have to team up for a fish in the new rig. RHINO
-
G'day mate, boats going well. I going to go out on the weekend for the first Tuna trip in the boat. I got the 10wt out last night and went for a quick cast in the dark on the passage. I'm pumped about catching the first tuna in the new boat, I saw a couple of schools right at the cape two weekends ago. I've got my game plan sorted leave home go straight across to Tangalooma then head up to comby, out around to the Cape and back into Bribie back along the beach home to watch the Grand Final I should some fish in that trip.
Send some photo's of the course over!!!
Let me know when your coming back in November and will go for a trip.
-
What you mean melting, summer is over
On this side of the pond we are starting to see the bait schools again and we have had a bit of luck trolling. We caught this baby last weekend but had no luck on the fly rods.
It would appear that the fish were hanging out in a thermocline at 6 to 8 meters depth. The temperature on the surface was still 31 to 32 degrees though...... Good enough for a bath or my thermometer is in need of a calibration.
Just keep going way offshore until you find the birds. Just watch the international borders though. I heard that they arrested two Germans at the beginning of this year who accidentally strayed into the Iranian waters. Apparently they are still in jail.
Wessel