-
Plugging hull hole
Any suggestions for NEAT and SAFE way of plugging a 25mm dia hole below the waterline in a tinnie? Arises from an unwanted thru-hull bait tank pump.
Strewth
-
Re: Plugging hull hole
local chandlry should have a plug to fit it exactly.
-
Too easy!
Go to the local plumbing shop and buy a product called Ferropre Pipe Joining Putty. Comes in a two tin pack for about $30.00. It is a magic to use, easy to mold and with a wet pinkie, you can make a brilliant smooth finish to it. Best to put on both surfaces inside and out so it forms a common plug type bond. Dries in about half an hour and when fully dry, even a jack hammer won't look at it. I used some to plug up a hole in my kid's Commodore oil sump and it never let go. Don't leave home without it!
Other products are the Knead It epoxies from Hardware Shops and there is one specifically for aluminium! Stick with the Ferropre!
-
gday mate
just go and see your local alloy welder and offer him 20-30 bucks cash or a carton to weld a patch on the hole. Then you know it wont leak.
cheers anyfish