Thread: Marine Carpet

Marine Carpet

G'day everyone,

I've just prepared a new marine ply floor for my 4.8m centre console, and I'd like some ideas about the best way to secure removable marine carpet to it. I'd like to make it removable for ease of occasional cleaning. Any good/bad experiences would be appreciated.

PJ

Big_Kev

Re: Marine Carpet

PJ, I have glued the carpet to the ply of my 4.75 center console with contact cement. Uses heaps so get a big tin.
    The deck floor is in sections like a big jigsaw two bits forward of the console for the front quarters(triangle shapes), one the width of the console running to the transome from the console base(rectangle)and two either side of the rear quarters(wider rectangles). It is screwed to the cross bearers(ie bulkheads) for supporting the deck with stainless screws (counter sunk fush and hard to see), I put some Loctite Anti Sieze on the threads so they come out easy when needed, preventing corroding of the threads.
    I can pull out the section I want for cleaning or working on whatever in a particular area.
    To clean the carpets only requires a hosing and comes up good. Standing the floor vertical along a fence and giving them a thorough hosing if the blood and guts gets to bad, otherwise I just hose it down in situe when washing the boat as per normal, and tilting the nose up and it dries overnight.The water seems to seep towards the back and drain out.
    I have a casting deck at the front and fuel tank is under, some fuel has been spilt under the deck and this has reacted with the glue and carpet but can only be seen when the fuel tank is removed.
    So take care cause a fuel spill has the potential to stuff up your nice new floor if your tank is on the main deck.
    I find the floor hard and my feet can ache after a while when driving and standing in the one spot bare foot. So foot wear or a cushioned mat underfoot is the go.
    Cheers Kev.

Bundaberg_Bandit

I just re-did my carpet and I just used stainless screws with SS cup washers which provide plenty of holding power.

About 12 around the edges and then down the centre under the console and esky, I haven't kicked my toes on one yet, because the carpet I bought allowed me to screw it down tight under the level of the carpet pile.

It only takes about 2 minutes with drill to get them out.

Thanks for the replies fellas,

I've decided to glue the casting deck carpet and to screw the main floor carpet in place, at least initially. If this doesn't work as well as I'd like I'll glue it like you suggest Kev.

My fuel tank is not under the floor so I'll be very careful not to spill any fuel on the new floor.

Thanks again
    PJ

if you have'nt glued it yet. the best way to use the glue is to spray it if you have access to spray gun , just a normal old spraygun, thats how the marine trimmers do it . it sprays like cobwebs and with a little practise it very ease to put the glue where you want it. i used one litre of glue on my 3.55 v-nose,
    from front casting deck,floor and rear seat. about 3.5 M2
    spray on both surfaces let touch dry about 2/3 mins carefully place then press firmly down , instant marine trimmer!!
    then it realy gets ughly

"ways to secure removable marine carpet to it" so why the hell would you want to glue it ???

With a reasonable non skid finish on that ply and the general nooks and crannies that most boats have, marine carpet that's cut to fit "exactly" should always be easily removable and generally won't move/go anywhere.

Can't agree that glue and carpet go together in boats.

Cheers, Kerry.

If you don't want to glue, which is what you said at the begining,, but want to have it secure and removeable, head down to Bunnings and buy yourself some 3-4mm thick by 25mm (or 50mm if you like) wide strips of aluminium. It comes in 3 metre lengths and all you have to do is cut it to the lenght/width of floor and drill a hole every foot or so and using stainless round head screws, screw the strips down onto the carpet and into the timber floor. If your neat it will look very smick. And when you want to remove it just unscrew with drill and screwdriver bit. The 3 mm thickness allows it to snug itself into the carpet, not causing skin to be removed from feet and toes.

So, I have another view.

Glue a non - pretty carpet ( that is a flat pile ) to the marine ply. Then, buy your Marine carpet and fit it to size. The carpet over carpet is very stable. Won't roll or lift under normal circumstances.

Therfore you have the cushioning effect of a double carpet later.

Removable marine carpet on top.

Whatever way you go, at least there was heaps of suggestions here.

Thanks for all the suggestions fellas,

The boat's in getting a few mods done to it before it gets painted. Once that's done I'll make a decision and fit the floor carpet. I have made the casting platform and glued the carpet to it. It came up a treat and was very easy to do - marine carpet is very easy to work with.
    Thanks again
    PJ

SO "removeable" really wasn't part of the plan

Cheers, Kerry.

my old man had a 16" clarke abollone centre console. just used heavy outdoor carpet in one piece. just cut the hole out for the console with a slit at the front and back (to allow extra room for the hole when removing over the console for wheel and controls). weight of the carpet held it down. never moved at all
    Cheers Bill

bought my tinny with floors already carprted but got lazy [smiley=sleeping.gif] and didn't like [smiley=veryangry.gif] having to unscrew them after every fishing orr crabing trip. so now i lay carpet on top of factory floor with velcro strips stiched into the back of it. [smiley=wiseguy.gif] when the fun is over i just roll the top carpet from one end and take it out with all the crap from the days fishing hang it on the fence and hose. [smiley=sneaky.gif] boat stays much cleaner and doesn't take as much effort to clean, no tackle getz under the floor to start any rust. it's a winner all round. [smiley=laola.gif]