Thread: 115 evinrude ocean pro are they any good

115 evinrude ocean pro are they any good

Has anyone here got a 96 115 evinrude ocean pro outboard engine are they any good have u had much problems would u bye a boat if it had one of these moters on it any info would be great thanks guys .

Re: 115 evinrude ocean pro are they any good

the only crook evinrudes were the six cylinder fichts
    if that motors been looked after it will give many more years
    of good service cheers brian

NQCairns

Yep I would buy one in a hearbeat as long as it checked out as a good motor, if it is a 60deg looper, heaps of extra torque over the crossflow V4s and fair bit better on fuel also. The exact same engine (with minor changes) can still be bought new today.nq

searaider

Hi Melbdan ,
    I had a 1997 115 Ocean Pro on a 5.75 Quintrex Searaider Cuddy cabin .
    I had the rig until I upgraded in 2002 .
    The motor only had 130 hours on it when I sold it . I didn't have any problems with it then & neither has the mate I sold the boat too .
    I always found it to be real smokey , when you first started it at the ramp . After that for the rest of the day it was fine .
    Sundown marine checked the setting on the oil injection pump & said it was Ok .
    Flat out at 5300 RPM spinning a standard aluminum 17 pitch prop it pushed my Quinnie to 35 knots & had heaps of low down torque .
    As posted by Bigbrian 47 , The Ficht fuel injected Johnson /Evinrudes , after the Ocean Pro's had a habit of blowing up & was the demise of OMC.
    Searaider 2

They are a pretty thirsty motor.

Mate had an early one a 5.5 Viking and it had a few factory recalls but that motor in particular never let him down. The warranty stuff was to do with the exhausting and water getting in from what I recall.

After owning and being on boats with big 4 strokes I could never go back to a carby motor for offshore. That said I love my little 25 2 stroke Merc on my little boat.