Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123

Thread: Battery and Electrolysis

Re: Battery and Electrolysis

Quote Originally Posted by quigs
    Ok Kerry so have i got it right? dont insulate motor from hull....
    No, no point and in any case would be extremely difficult to do "properly"

....so then the hull uses the anode on the outboard?....
    I'll leave that one up to those that make some of this black scientific stuff their profession as many outboards have more than 1 anode and in many cases it's the (secondary) trim tab anode that sees more action than what many assume to be the primary (mounting bracket) anode.

I've never replaced the main anode on ether engine in 15 years, where as the trim tab turn to cob webbing every few years.

Somehow I'd be worried if an outboard anode didn't show some reaction, sometime.

Cheers, Kerry.

Thanks Kerry for afirming what I gleaned from my research.

Quigs

kerry
    this has nothing to do with this post but as i am relatively new to computers how do place what other guys have said above your reply.
    cheers troy

quigs
    Glow in the dark stuff fellors/ Gals

Just an experiment why don’t you hook up the battery to the tinnie that way you will find all the anodes placed on the boat, they will glow in the dark .
    Especially if it is earthed make shore your boat is in the water .

And if the boat is wired correctly this phenomenon dose not show at all
    happy wiring
    BladeRunner

Quote Originally Posted by troy
    kerry
    this has nothing to do with this post but as i am relatively new to computers how do place what other guys have said above your reply.
    cheers troy
    Place what ever it is you want to quote between the word quote (within square barckets) and /quote (within square brackets)

place text here
    For BOLD, Italics or underline (an others) simply highlight the text and hit the appropraite Add YABBC Tags B I U (above the smilies)

Cheers, Kerry.

If Boaties are looking for a solution to preventing electrolysis once and for all then I would suggest you investigate an electrolysis prevention system called SeaBis.

So far it turns out to be the only product that detects stray current, shows you a process to source and eliminate stray current and then provides a detector so that you can continue to monitor stray current and eliminate it immediately on detection.

Once all the stray current has been sourced and eliminated then t he boat stays stray current free and cannot be effected by marinas or neighboouring boats or any other stray current that might be hanging around.

When there is no stray current then there is no electrolysis. See for yourself at http://www.seabis.net

Kerry is 100% correct. Could not agree more.

I am also a sparky and i have a particular interest in galvanic corrosion and electrolysis, both of which occur in the boating world.

It's worth noting that the galvanic process can only occur within an electrolyte environment, salt water is an excellent electrolyte. In fact any water will conduct (even PURE water).

Good wiring, proper anodes and wash her down with fresh water and let her air dry is the best prevention.

In regard to motor isolation. There is a distinct difference between bonding and earthing. The electrons from the negative battery terminal will seek the shortest path to the pos terminal, they don't care if they have to go through your hull. Give them a good clean/short path via earth wires. Bonding on the other hand is crutial for proper anode operation.

Bond the motor, earth the accesories.

Quote Originally Posted by devocean View Post
    Mate told me I should never leave the battery in the boat as it causes severe electrolysis and will stuff the boat in no time at all. Is this true?
    Struth there is some science coming out here. I just disconnect my battery (At the battery terminal) when the boat is not being used..

I use a battrey clamp attached to a electrical wire that runs out the side of the shed into the earth. I clamp the earth wire to the hull when boat is stored.

In short, with the isolator off and the earth wire attached, it has stopped the electrolysis which seemed to be taking effect on our boat which was 1 year old at the time. Its now 3 years old and shows only slight advancing electrolysis.

Works for us. (Probably all in my head) Cheers !

This may be slightly off topic but has to do with electrolysis.

When you put your aluminium boat on top of your zinc plated mild steel trailer and connect tiedown chains and steel winch cables you also create an a potential corrosion problem.

I've put a multimeter in the circuit and read a potential of 5 volts.

Kind makes you think doesnt it.

Next time you are out in saltwater, prob the water around the boat with a multi meter (black to the hull, red in the water). You may get a surprise.

Rumor has it that salmon are attracted to it..........................