australian way of living is lost - Page 2
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: australian way of living is lost

Re: australian way of living is lost

hi
    cooky
    your right i do have a place at cape upstart and it has always been the tradition
    to load your esky up and go down the creek s for a day .
    i have been going there for 30 years now and i have not seen any harm done to anyone.
    i did not say to drink and drive and yes cooky i agree with you again driving a car drinking is a lot different to driving a tinnie around the creeks drinking.
    i just find these laws there bringing out are ridiculous.
    you wait it won't be long before they will ban smoking in a boat.
    troy

I don't agree with smoking in the boat. It's dangerous to the fish when practising Catch and Release - you just shouldn't be allowed to contaminate their air when they're gasping away. If they get addicted from this exposure to tobacco, you'll feel terrible, because you just know it's going to be impossible for them to take up the habit when they can't light water logged cigarettes

as they pry the empty stubbie from you cold dead hands
    love it!! no ones going to pry a stubbie from my hands

They ask you if you would like a banana smoothie and a packet of tim tams and when you start drooliing with the munchies its "Book em Dano"
    classic!!
    although they could just stare at you without saying anything and your paranoia will eventually see you undone

Obviously you can be too drunk in a boat, and driving your car while drunk is dangerous.
    But the .05 thing is just an arbitary number someone made up, alcohol affects every one differently.
    In the US it is still .08 so the yanks can obviously handle their grog better than us.
    .07 over there , drive on. .07 here its off to jail with you.

But the Aussie way of living is changing in a lot of ways ,some for the better , but when I was about 18 I went out and got drunk about twice a week and drove everywhere , kept this up for about 2 years never had an accident, never got caught, couldn't remember getting home sometimes ( I used to jump up next morning and check to see if the car was outside). Those days are long gone.

driving a car drinking is a lot different to driving a tinnie around the creeks drinking
    absolutely agree - driving a car drinking is bloody hard when you're underwater - boats at least float

i must admit it is pretty bloody difficult to kill someone or hurt them after having a few casual drinks (not pissed / blind) in a small boat. Unless it's a jetski travelling at 100km/h +

plenty of the people I knew when younger (and still do) are MUCH MUCH more dangerous sober than me pissed as a fart.

Oh Seahunt. the 80's were good years I am getting drunk and randy just thinking about them (i was young then).
    Cheap beer then, 27c a pot if my memory serves me correct, Cartoon of throw down $9.95. Petrol 20 something cents per litre.
    Life was good [smiley=2thumbsup.gif]
    Now

you could most probably get away with it in the 80s because everything was made like tanks.

I remember being a little tacker and my mum was driving us kids home when the brakes failed on the old Falcon. She went straight through the intersection and ran over one of the signs - I kid you not there was not even a mark on the bloody chrome bumper bar. no damage to the car and flattened the pole. She drove all the way home - probably thought she could just bounce off things. Imagine these days in a modern car - you'd be too afraid to run through long grass on the side of the road - run into a stop sign - right car off

dr
    so your saying that once i have drank a six pack i would be in a drunken stupor -i suggest you better thing again.
    i was brought up as a kid going fishing every saturday and the old man used to take his share of stubbies for the days trip and i can tell you this much mate the golden grunter they would catch for the day would leave you speechless,
    i cannot see any harm he did but just injoy himself.
    when you go out in a tinnie from where i go where there is miles of coastline flats and creeks what is the harm of takin g your supply of beer for the day.i am not hurting any one somtimes you hardly see another boat just a fisho waiting for you to come out of a creek and put the bag on you.
    yet when you see trawlers coming in so close that there nets are nearly taking the fish out of your fridge [there is never a fisho to be seen.]
    troy

Quote Originally Posted by troy
    dr
    so your saying that once i have drank a six pack i would be in a drunken stupor -i suggest you better thing again.
    i was brought up as a kid going fishing every saturday and the old man used to take his share of stubbies for the days trip and i can tell you this much mate the golden grunter they would catch for the day would leave you speechless,
    i cannot see any harm he did but just injoy himself.
    when you go out in a tinnie from where i go where there is miles of coastline flats and creeks what is the harm of takin g your supply of beer for the day.i am not hurting any one somtimes you hardly see another boat just a fisho waiting for you to come out of a creek and put the bag on you.
    yet when you see trawlers coming in so close that there nets are nearly taking the fish out of your fridge [there is never a fisho to be seen.]
    troy
    Don't specifically remember mentioning your name Troy, but by denying it, probably places you in the in the category where they don't know they have had too much [smiley=2thumbsup.gif] i don't really care if you can or can't hold your booze,i don't really care if you do drink & fish/drive, but, if you get caught & you are over the limit you deserve all you get. just ask the people who have lost friends & family to accidents involving alcohol, how many boating/swimming accidents involve alcohol??
    it's that kind of attitude ( i can handle my drink) that makes a lot of people appear that they only just learned to walk upright.

i know a lot of comments are made tongue in cheek. sometimes there is no place for humor as it comes over poorly in print..

i am now going to hang the keys on the hook & have a cold beer.

Agreed the "Aussie Way" is changing, the younger generation of Yobbo is a different breed altogether from the yobbo I grew up with....As has been said several times already in this thread and many others covering the same topic;

.....If you drink and drive (car or boat) you are a bloody idiot and deserve everything you get and more.....

There may be no one else around when your tinnie is full of water 200m off shore and you've a had a 6 pack.....While trying to swim for shore your stomach muscles contract and cramp causing you to swallow a good couple of litres of sea water which in turn causes you to convulse further ansd swallow even more sea water......next thing YOU know is your feeling dizzy sliding in a nd out of conciousness and have no idea which way is up........THEN, your wife and kids are getting a knock at the door with the local coppa telling them that you've drowned and they need them to ID the body at the morgue......

So hey no one got hurt ecxcept YOU, oh and lets not forget, your wife, kids, Mum and Dad all your friends from here/work, what about the person finding the body, and the list goes on and on and on and on..........

Sure have a couple of beers but keep it at that........
    May the winds blow lightly upon your sails
    May the seas buffet gently upon your hull
    May your chiller be full of piscatorial delights

I just cannot believe so many people think that is Ok to be over the limit just because you are in a boat.

Troy,

Looks like your on a hiding to nothing here so just accept the fact that drinking in any situation that might have a not so desired outcome is a backward and unacceptable view.

Cheers, Kerry.

kerry what ever turns you on
    troy

Quote Originally Posted by troy
    kerry what ever turns you on
    troy
    Just luv ya attitude Troy [smiley=thumbsdown.gif]

Cheers, Kerry.

hey Cooky, i still have the HZ V8 wagon and WB 1 tonner. Won't part with them [smiley=happy.gif]. EVER!!

dr
    you might not have mentioned my name but yust go back and see what you wrote.
    you and kerry are entitled to your own opinion just as iam to mine.
    at least if i have something to say i will post it not like you and kerry who just sit buy and critised what other people have to say.
    as for attitude kerry you need a personality.
    and dr i do not skite what i can drink but i am sorry if this offends you mate but a six pack on a hot day would not even give us a glow up
    chill out dr and stop using the every day aussie as an excuse
    cheers troy