Tinnie Question

Thread: Tinnie Question

Tinnie Question

I had a look at a tinnie to run around the creeks in, but need some assistance and advice.

The tinnie is a Brooker CT10 (3m).

Firstly it is in a bit of rough nick and needs some TLC, but I need to look at engine size and also how many it will fit etc.

Any support or suggestions would be appreciated, as I am a land based angler and I'm not up to par on tinnies etc.

Thanks in advance.

Harry
    I love the sound of reels screaming in the morning

Re: Tinnie Question

CT10 are quite a small boat for their length. The CT stands for cartopper so they are smaller and lighter. My guess for a motor would be about 6HP. You say it needs TLC. How rough is it. My mate bought a punt for $200 and it was bad but with some aluminium patches glued with Sika flex and 2 extra ribs he made up himself it's actually quite good now. Usually with a boat like that the first thing is to get rid of any steel, brass or stainless fastening so theat the corrosion doesn't continue.

Try to us all alloy pop rivots as fasteners. All alloy mean that the shaft is also alloy too. Any stainless steel fastening should have teflon washers to isolate them from the aluminium and duralac paste to neutralise any electrolysis

Needmorerum

Harry, I reckon the 3m would be too small. If you can, throw an esky, tackle box and a couple of blokes in it and see how much room you have left.
    Dunno how much you want to spend, but there are bound to be some tinny's for sale at the moment to give you some options. I have an advertisement for one at work, can't remember the full details, but it wasn't to bad. A bloke from QAL is selling it and asked me to put an advert up at work for him.

Anyway, make sure you get what you want, last think you want is to get something and not be happy with it. Or worse, have to row it home.

Corry

Thanks for the assistance davo and corry.

I went with instinct and said no. The call to Brookers convinced me of the work required and also some of the finer points.

I will keep looking and will find something that more suits my needs.

Thanks again.

Harry
    I love the sound of reels screaming in the morning

Hi Harry,

I would look for something around the 3.7m mark as a minimum. As Corry said, you need to be able to fit 2 blokes, esky and your gear. I have had experience with Stacer, Sea Jay and Quintrex around this size and they all perform well. Motor size would be in the range of 15hp to 25hp.
    Don.