Thread: Problems at Telwater (quintrex & stacer)

Problems at Telwater (quintrex & stacer)

I have heard a few slithers of information that there are some issues at the telwater factory...

Just been bitten by the curiosity bug as i was looking at buying one of the boats made there... anyone want to fill me in or point me to another thread that has talked about this.?

Re: Problems at Telwater (quintrex & stacer)

Can't help ya there G #

If you get a good one, then their boats are OK at best. If you get one that has some serious problems then you may as well go piss into the wind as you have better luck suceeding doing that than getting things rectified from them. I will never own or recommend a Telwater product to anybody.

Ron
    Make something Idiot proof and they make better Idiots

Quote Originally Posted by Gbanger View Post
    I have heard a few slithers of information that there are some issues at the telwater factory...

Just been bitten by the curiosity bug as i was looking at buying one of the boats made there... anyone want to fill me in or point me to another thread that has talked about this.?
    Yeh mate they are not good. Just bought a 2010 510 freedom sport. Welds on rear transom are full of holes from left to right hand side. Struts supporting transom are hollow, allowing water to run directly back into hull. Engineers report is that rear transom doesn't meet up with hull. Telwater filled the holes with silicon before it left the factory(new boat). The silicon has fallen out. Trims mounted out of wack. Radio mounted on 15 degree angle. upgraded to 500w stereo. Stereo installed is that is 50w. Telwater say everyone knows there is no such thing as a 500w stereo("it's a typo" according to Jason). It's in there brochures, on there web site and in my contract. Faulty hydraulic steering. And Trailer is rusting. This package has is approx 6 months old has done 7 hours work(freshwater) and spent the rest of it's time in the dealers shop. Still there now as repair work has warped the transom and engineer says it is almost unrepairable. Pretty angry at the moment but if i remember any other faults i will post. Sorry i forgot to mention....i have been promised contact by Quintrex. 4 weeks on and nothing. You would think they would do anything they could to rectify a "lemon" they have released. Or is it a lemon ? How many other boaters are out there with leaky boats.
    Further update. Gen Manager of Telwater was supposed to ring me today. Didn't happen(unusual). Dealer says boat has to go back to Q'land. Min 2 months turnaround.
    ** 01/09/2010 To the credit of dealer and quintrex. the boat is now going back to have the hull replaced and a stereo system fitted that is closer to what is in the brochures and signed for in the contract. i am still extremely dissapointed with the stress and frustration we have had to endure over the last few months, but pleased that we can finally move forward**

I too was burnt a bit.
    Bought a stacer 469mp in 2008. Start of 2009 the hull split along the keel weld up the front, approx 20cm long, quite a scary and dangerous situation when your along way from the shore and crossing your fingers that the bilge pump can keep up. It did till we got back to the ramp but only just.
    They 'fixed' it by just zipping it up with a mig from the outside and hoping for the best. (unfortunately i didnt know this at the time..)

fast forward 12months later, early this year the hull cracked agan, same spot same deal, thankfully i was on a river this time, not as scary.
    They had to put a whole new rib in apparently and do some other stuff to the remaining supports under the cast deck.
    I sold it to a dealer after this - even though it was fixed correctly the second time - just lost confidence in it.

So appart from falling appart structurally, it was a geat boat!

Sorry to hear your problems guys!!!! The above issues is why every time someone on here ask about the quality of a Quintrex , i let them know in no uncertain terms that it's a crap product and yet every single time you get shouted down by the " happy Qunitrex owners" yes there are some it seems! Any way glad you have posted so this thread can be linked to any future quintrex/stacer inquires!!!

Ps I do actually believe that quintrex do make the occasional ok boat it just if you get a bad one there customer service and complaints handling is so bad that you have to fight for ever to get anything done to resolve the issue!!!

PPS maybe there should be one thread about quintrex issues that the mods "sticky" to the top of boating chat , so no more ausfishers get con into buying these pieces of junk!!!
    Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

I must have a good one then. I brought a 06 460 dory and have never had an issue with it yet( touch wood). Been out in some pretty shitty weather too.
    A mate also must have got a good one hes got a late 90's vnose jobby and he treats it like he stole it and not an issue.

Looks like its a lucky dip with them. I have read a lot of the telwater bashings on this site and allot of the time it seems to be either larger quintrex or stacers in general.

neil

We're looking at the 5 - 6m Top Ender at the moment, like the ride and dryness of my old mans 5m Top Ender, what else is on the market that we should look at if not Quintrex? Happy to look around, unless you know someone with a different hull, it is hard to take anything for test drives when not close to the cities or major dealers.

Corry
    Corry

I reckon I would be looking at the Allison Alloy in that size, look pretty good to me, but then I have never had a drama with Quintrex either, but there seems to be plenty that have.

Quote Originally Posted by Corry View Post
    We're looking at the 5 - 6m Top Ender at the moment, like the ride and dryness of my old mans 5m Top Ender, what else is on the market that we should look at if not Quintrex? Happy to look around, unless you know someone with a different hull, it is hard to take anything for test drives when not close to the cities or major dealers.

Corry

Corry,

There are heaps of boats in that Top Ender Market, Horizon 515 Northerner Models, Blue Fin 5m Cobia model etc. So there is plently to choose from. And might be better value for money. Where do you live?

Boatie_72

Had a 480 Topender and I thought a great boat.
    My problem was the motor, the old "black anchor", 2st Merc 75 hp. Always thought there was a problem, but could not get it fixed. I know now probably the rectifier. I would buy another Topender, but would want a good look at it first. Get the floors up.