Boat for heading across to Moreton from Scarboroug

Thread: Boat for heading across to Moreton from Scarboroug

Ausfish Platinum Member Mr__Bean's Avatar

Boat for heading across to Moreton from Scarboroug

G'Day guys,

I have a mate that is looking to buy a Quintrex 530 Bow Rider (forget correct model name) to use for fishing and family outings.

Prime need is to be able to take the family on trips across to Moreton Island and back to Scarborough.

Question, is a 530 aluminium bowrider suitable for the trip and for a safe return.

Recognise that safety is all about conditions on the day, but generally speaking would it be a suitable choice for that stretch?

- Darren

Ausfish Platinum Member peterbo3's Avatar

Re: Boat for heading across to Moreton from Scarbo

Hi Bean,
    Once the "F" word (Family) comes into play then Bow Riders & trips to Moreton don't have a real lot in common. I own a 5.6m plate CC & have had some terribly slow trips back to Scarborough when the runout tide stands up against the wind. No safety issues but a slow slog that other members of the family may not appreciate. Wet & sometimes cold too. A half cab will keep people dry & allow storage of gear & possibly even a camp.
    I would prefer a 5.5 or 5.8 cabin boat for this type of use but each to their own.
    ROLL TIDE, ROLL.................

Hi Darren,

I go with peterboro3 on this one. Families, Bay and ally don't really mix IMHO. That said, I've had some pleasant days with the family in my last 6 metre ally rig but the days were few and far between in summer when the water didn't stand up in the arvo, which made for a slow, hard and wet slog back.

Don't be put off altogether but when family is involved you really have to pick your days and if possible pick your boat. If you don't want them put off for life a cabin or at least a cuddy is preferable and even then, depending on conditions, they may have to stand and not be able to use it.

If he's buying new, then a bigger/better/glass second hand boat may be preferable on the same budget.

I'm with Kev & Peterbo3 on this one. I think many people underestimate both conditions in the Bay (& how suddenly they change) and the distance accross the bay (a good 25 - 30km depending on where you launch from). Many people make the trip over to Moreton on a glassed out morning then get caught out on the trip home..........slow, wet and bumpy. For family type boating in the bay I would go for 5.5m+ with cabin for some weather & sun protection. I take my kids (6 & 4)accross regularly in a 575 Cruisecraft & find that the kids always end up asleep by 3pm after swimming & climbing sand dunes all morning. The cabin is ideal for them.

gropeher

Yep,
    definitely with you guys, I bought a 4.8m Savage originally thinking fishing and take my wife over to Moreton from Raby bay, I ended up selling as the bay gets up and its a long slow slog back, as it is, since the last time my wife did not enjoy the trip (last September) I decided to sell as the bump gave me the crappers so I bought a cruise craft, a much better ride however I still have not been able to convince her to get back out yet. It probably dosnt help that we now have a 4.5 month old little girl however she still remembers how bad a ride the bay can offer at times. Go for a second hand glass with cabin, and hopefully front and side clears too, keeps you warm and dry.

Cheers Ryan..

Beany, I must agree with the others here and think your mate would be better off looking at a glass half or cuddy cab. If he is looking at new for similar money as the crappy quintrex he could get his hands on a Yalta Triple 5. Better value for money in that and a far superior ride. Quintrex boats do not offer the same quality rough water ride as any glass deep V hull. My 2 bobs worth anyway.

Cheers Ron
    Make something Idiot proof and they make better Idiots

I have to agree 100% with everyone...IMO family days out on the bay & over Tangers in best suited to a 5M+ half cab glass boat..Many an awesome day spent over at Tangers has been some what spoiled by a ruff,wet & uncomfortable ride back to the ramp..the novelty will wear off REAL quick with the wife & kids..

Ausfish Platinum Member Mr__Bean's Avatar

Thanks guys,

All taken in and passed on for consideration.

Interstingly, your concenrs mirror my initial comments about the trip home whenever out for the day, it is always in the back of your mind.

Had a brief look across that water when up there last weekend, but all looked fine from the bank and you can't see far enough to see what it is like out in the middle ground.

I will let you know what he ends up going for.

- Darren

I have too many memories of wet cold trips in open tinnies. The comments about the right boat for family trips are so right - Most of the last 5 years I have had 2 boats, a cuddy or half cab, and a tinny. Even then it is soooo important to pick the right days or you risk the missus and kids being put off boating, and that's a crying shame. I had one day out and the weather came up a few years ago, this put an end to family trips for a while and it took ages to restore their confidence (didn't i feel great)

The other option to getting a different boat can be to make family trips shorter and in more enclosed waters. I'm getting the bowrider as most family trips I take the kids to round island which is just outside the harbour here (less than 1k) they have a great time snorkelling, watching the dolphins and occaisional dugong and if it's dead flat we go for a little hoon and they get a shot at driving.

Now I'm getting a bowrider that will stay pretty much the same, however I'll also be taking them out in the estuary and dams rivers etc to mix it up a little for them.

Once their confidence builds I'll start to stretch the distance out again, however only on perfect days. Nothing kills a nice day on the water more than having upset kids who are tired cranky and uncomfortable!

The other thing is protect them from the sun and wind, so make sure they've got sunnies and a good hat and slather them with sunscreen or they'll turn in angry monsters before you get back to the ramp