QLD Powerboats??

Thread: QLD Powerboats??

QLD Powerboats??

G-Day all! I have been trying to sell my boat for about a week with only one nibble. The call was from the “Queensland powerboat company” and they offer to sell your boat at your min agreed price. They then try to sell it for a bit more and take the profit as their payment.

Sounds like a good deal, but does anyone know anything about them and are there any catches??

Re: QLD Powerboats??

Brenmer

Have you placed an add in the For Sale classified here?

They get a lot of hits and cost nothing.

Just a thought.

Harry
    I love the sound of reels screaming in the morning

Not enough posts just yet. I do have it in boatpoint and ebay.

If it's Queensland Powerboat Centre at Loganholme your talking about I bought a Formosa through Shane, who was a decent fella to deal with.
    Damo

sounds like another middle man shake down merchant.......they all come across as good fella's, its their game/living...
    if you did all that you said, i think you have done your best, but hey todays consumer society everybody wants it brand spankin' especially boat/outboards. do you think they will find somebody that didn't read your effort's already on ebay?
    best trying some word of mouth instead i reckon....but the anti-social nature today doesn't help that, seems everybody's out to take advantage of good nature!
    hold tight on what its really worth
    damon-who aint no rat~

Ausfish Platinum Member peterbo3's Avatar

Hi Brenmer,
    This type of deal is called a "consignment sale". It means that you will have to leave your boat & trailer with these nice people whilst they try to unload it. They will normally ask (demand) that you sign some form of release absolving them from any responsibility if there is any damage or loss to your property for any reason whatsoever.
    Ask your insurance company if you are covered whilst your boat is with them & request confirmation in WRITING. No cover=no leave.
    Or as Damons 33 ( who is much older than 33 but refuses to update his membername) says, try word of mouth. Put it up on this site.
    If it is a fair price you should get some interest.
    ROLL TIDE, ROLL.................

If I was to put my boat on the market, I think that 3 months is a reasonable time to maintain the price without dropping it, maybe then reavaluate. Like any thing, easy to buy, hard to sell

Ausfish Platinum Member boatboy50's Avatar

Hey,

I had a boat consigned there many years ago. It didn't sell in their hands. Sold it later for a bit cheaper.

I currently have a boat for sale, which they have also called me on three times. They say they will sell it quickly, we are sure of it. Thing is they have the same boat already sitting in the yard for the past three months.

Im happy to sell mine privately for a little less, thank you very much.

P.S. Check how much money they want if they sell it!

Gday all New to this forum. I had my boat on consignment at Qld Powerboats for a few weeks. It was unwashed and full of leaves when I pulled it out. A standard mechanical inspection by a mobile marine mechanic engaged by them for a prospective buyer and an unauthorised repair at the time stuffed up my engine costing me money to fix it and lost a prospective sale because of it. No recourse. Not impressed. Tread carefully. >

Thanks for all the replies! It’s great to know there are still a few good blokes out there willing to help out and take the time to give out some sound advice.

This mob called me when I was selling my 12ft allycraft. I had it advertised for $3,500 and they said that because the motor was so new, and demand of tinnies of this sort was high, I would easily get that price if I put it in their yard.

So I filled out their documentation (which incidentially disclaims all liability for your boat, even though they assured me over the phone that their yard is fully insured), and I just before I arrange to take the boat to their yard, they tell me that a new Quintrex 12ft package can be had for $2000-3000, and that I had to drastically reduce my price to get a sale. I disputed this with the guy and asked him what horsepower motor such a package would come with. He didn't answer, and I said that mine was a 1 year old 15hp yammie and there was no way you could get a new package with a 15hp for the price he suggested. He backed off and said that obviously I knew my stuff and the market price, and that probably it was best I sell the boat privately...

The kind of attitude they had towards me was dishonest and rude. Sounded very much like an old skool used car salesman - big promises up front to get you interested then they try to cut you down after. Not the type of people I like to deal with.

I ended up trading my boat in for $3000 for my new boat. Very happy with the transaction with Marine Tune at Burleigh Heads. Very professional and kept all their promises, will definitely be returning to them when it comes to upgrade.

wow - talk about Caveat Emptor (or in this case seller beware)

I'm selling a tinny, if I get a call from them I know only one thing to do:
    Run forest run!!!

Like Damo..a friend of mine bought a Formoso from them & he had no problems...but IMO sell private..I reakon a good boat at a resonable price should sell fairly quickly..

Big_Kev

It is a good way to sell your boat if you don't want the hassels.
    But these guys run a business and they need to make a dollar from the sale as well.
    The only way for them to get paid is to sell your boat by what ever method and this may mean they lean on you to drop you price to get a sale. (money that could be yours)
    I always use the Trading post to sell cars and boats,I fork out the extra money for the RED HOT DEALS section with a pic in the mag.
    People who want to buy a boat or a car will be bound to get the post for weeks previous.
    (think of what you do yourself when looking)
    The first place they look will be RED HOT DEALS.
    A pic is worth a thousand words.
    Selling something is all about getting it to the market that will want to buy it. Boatpoint is good, but the the post has more local circulation.
    I have never missed yet and have always got heaps of calls and got the money I wanted using this method.
    Go the trading post first is my advice.
    Dissclaimer-I do not work for the post and have no affiliation with it.
    Cheers Kev.

Yeah,

Gotta agree with James and Kev, sold my Haines recently thru the Trading Post. Was only in there for 2 days when it sold. The only problem I had with them was they kept leaving the ad in for the next 2 editions. Phone rang off the hook, even had a guy from Tassie offer me more than I advertised her for.

As James said, a good boat at a reasonable price will sell. Just goes to show the good resale value of the Haines I guess. Here's hoping the Southwind will be the same when her time comes. (which won't be for a while )

Light travels faster than sound, that's why some people seem Bright ...... untill they speak