Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Seafarer Boats

Seafarer Boats

Hey Guys,
    Looking at upgrading my rig to a seafarer 5.5m viking.
    will be using it strictly for gamefishing
    has anyone had experience on the seafarer range? and how well do they handle the slop etc etc.

any info would be good.

Re: Seafarer Boats

G'day DJ,

A couple of my mates have had the 16footer V Sea seafarers...They reckoned they are the best thing since slice bread - only ever hear good things about the V sea...I remember talking with one of them about the earlier viking as I was considering where to go with up sizing from my tinnie. He reckoned one of his mates had one and said it was a bit slammy in the rough. I very nearly moved on a 6mt Victory advertised in the trading post for $30,000ish before deciding to build a platey. A guy that fishes Minnie Water has one of those babies. It sure looks the part and he swears by it - beach launches the thing and all. I've seen it on the water...rides beautifully. I understand they had a model change and up date in 1994, which is still the current hulls today. But apart from that, I don't know much more about the Viking although seafarer has been around a long time and has taken out numerous BIA awards for boat of the year and stuff like that.

Happy researching

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

You might want to check this out - its a good article about the next size up Victory

http://www.fishingmonthly.com.au/boa...r/victory.html

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

Hi DJ,

Can't comment directly on the viking, but we fish out of a venus (half cab v-sea) and could not recommend it highly enough, everyone that comes out in it is astounded by how well it rides & the finish is great as well. Before you commit to the viking check out the "vamp, vouge & venom" (i think) 5, 5.5 & 6m center consoles I didn't know they made these models until I came across the 6m versions one day moored up in a canal if sporstfishings what you want to do these are some great boats (se the seafarer website) the venom 6m with twin 115's tops out at over 90km/hr and thats the reccomended set up for FISHING you can put more power on the back if skiings your thing.
    The money you save on a cab could be spent on an autopilot for solo billfish assaults .

Matty

Feel like throwing my hat into the ring on this one as well. #Fin Addict from this site (Rossco) has one of the very early 5.5m Vikings because she has a rego number SV555Q when the demo boat had SV550Q. #Unfortunately he is now working out in the mines of central Qld and not sure of how often he gets on the nets. #I have done a million hours in it with him but not since he put a 115 Yammie 4 stroke on it. #Originally it had a 115 Oceanpro OMC Evinrude. #1km a litre was a good day with that thing and now he is doing better than 1nm a litre. #Ross's was one with all the boxes ticked i.e. carpet everywhere, padded bucket seats on boxes, twin fold rear lounge, elaborate SS cutting board etc. etc. #He had Marine Fit do the SS targa. #

When I look at boats the first thing I look at is the live bait tank. #That being the case Seafarers and Signatures get my attention everytime as they suit my style of fishing. #Some of the HHs and Mustangs are OK in that department as well and a few PMs I have had with Boatboy would indicate that everyone should have a look at Southwinds and not discount them either. #

The one with a Seafarer is for such a beautiful looking hull that looks like it should work well with such a good V and such a pointy nose is they seem a bit slammy. #Rossco's being a cuddy probably excentuated that a bit more because of the cuddy configuration you were right up the front of the boat in the choppiest part and talking to Perko who had the 1/2 cabin version, the 5.5m Ventura it wasn't as noticable, only thing is it cuts down on the fishing room, but the Viking was ballroom size anyway in the cockpit. #

The other thing about them is if you get a drop of water on the nose you are going to wear it through the clears in a following sea. #This is right across the range too if you push them, right up to the big ones. #Ross might have driven it a bit hard in a following sea but it sure loved going downhill. #Right across the range they are a very safe hull and I can never recall any broachy type feel in it. #They are also remarkably stable at rest for a glass deep V. #Could do with trim tabs as well as they are very trim sensative leaning into the wind and weight distribution. #Have also been out in 2 different 6.2 Vagabonds, one with twin 115s which was bangy but safe and one with a 225 two stroke. #

The one with twins had a full set of spray dodgers, including a removable bit across the bowsprit to keep the water out when trolling and they are short and sharp and the nose dips into the one in front. #Without them in some conditions when trolling you would be wearing water a fair bit of the time. #That is the usual conditions you get on the shelf etc. with 3 or so knots of northerly current pushing into a bit of SE standing them up. #

Monroe that I fished with had the big 6.8m with a pair of Fichts and couldn't believe how much better his Blackwatch was by comparison for the same amount of money. #When trolling in his 6.8 he was forever dipping the nose into waves. #They are just getting too big to fit in between the sets. #Maybe that is why Flattymatty's boat does well, it is a good little hull that fits down in between the swells. #Danny from the Gold Coast also went through a full set of Seafarers starting with the 5.5 CC Vouge and eventually up to a 6.8 as well. #He then got into Blackwatches. #That being the case, I wouldn't be getting a CC - too much risk of spearing them into a wave and wearing a big heap of water. #

What sort of budget have you got? #I am sure there are plenty of boats out there waiting for you to buy. #Was impressed by the pics of the new Fishinmission as well if you decided to go CC. Different concept that one with a big old style flair. #I only ever had two waves dump in my old 15' Blackfin CC a similar shaped hull, one at anchor and one going through the gutter at Waddy Pt. #Ron Campbell actually does that Blackfin hull up with a pod now and calls it a Spearfish as well.

Rossco probably won't like me talking about his pride and joy like this but I have been in a few boats since those days of hitting Moreton Bay in it every weekend. #Actually that is another point, it hated bay chop, then again what boat does, the 6.8HH I go out doesn't either to a certain extent. # Actually a very good Hervey Bay fisherman said 18'ers weren't real popular up there because 18' didn't fit very well in the waves. #Up there V19 Haines' were all the rage or come back down to 16' size but avoid 17' and 18'. # What places are you working out of?

In summary, say you had $30K to play with, look at 5.2 Kevlacats, Signatures, #plateys, Southwinds then Seafarers in that order IMO. # Now remember everyone before you get your knickers in a knot that the original question was "strictly for gamefishing" #and that is why things like Yaltas get the chop straight away for setup reasons. #Other alternative is getting any old hull and redoing the transom/floor and topsides and putting a 4 stroke on it. #Don't get sucked into a high tech 2 stroke either stick with a 4 stroke for trolling and live baiting. #I'll even give them that a high tech 2 will use less than a 4 but you don't buy 4s for that reason alone. #It is the no oil to worry about, the smell, the noise, the vibration etc. etc. that you buy them for. #

So there you go, I have probably upset every 2 stroke owning, Yalta driving, Ford towing, Cruise Craft owner in Ausfish land once again!

Smithy one word bull sh it.
    troy
    i would not put a signature in amongts the boats you mentioned.they are not the slightest bit compareable.
    troy

i'm pretty happy with my seafarer '69 vedette,
    it's got mounts for outriggers, so someone must've
    done some sports fish'in in it.
    i use it for hooning and bottombashing

Hey,

Considering Smithy mentioned me I should add my bit.

I once worked for Seafarer for a couple of years late 90's and I can account for their excellent build quality. They are not comparable to any of the others mentioned in these posts in that regard, which is why they hold their resale so well. (I also worked for some other Black brands mentioned for a very short time, as I was shocked by their quality after coming from Seafarer)

I do rate the Southwind SF20 hull extremely well, and certainly recommend it from a performance point.

I have owned/driven a couple of Signatures, and although they are good, they are no comparable to the excellent Southwind.

Sorry guys, but a platey just can't compare to any of these boats #IMHO, even comparing a bigger size to the others.

The Kevlacat 5.2 is a sensational boat, but most 2nd handies today are overpriced, and you need to factor in engine replacement for most of them.

For Troy i'd also add the Cruise Craft Explorer 625 to this list. Ive driven it, and the layout is fantastic.

My list would go KK, Southwind, Seafarer, Cruise Craft and Signature in that order, all for different reasons.

In the end it all depends on the almighty $$$$.

If you can stretch it the newer imports like my Seaswirl Striper will beat any of the mentioned boats, but you pay the price for it, including higher fuel costs.

Guys,

thanks for the info, gives me something to think about!

cheers!

I agree with Darren on two points. The build and finish quality of the Seafarers would be the best in Australia (point 1) but unfortunately we can't hold a candle to the imports (point 2) using all the latest CAD/CAM technology. I have recently seen a couple of promotional DVDs from companies like Skeeter and Triton that were awesome. They are not just making Bass boats either, they are doing the full range from alloy and glass Bass boats, to flats boats, to centre consoles and then big cabin and walkarounds. The quality of a Seafarer will be a consideration for you for resale etc. and I expect they will stack up well there. Have another mate that has just bought a 5.9 Victory with a 150 Oceanpro and I am hoping to get a ride in it shortly to see how it goes so that will be interesting. They are nearly suppossed to be the pick of the sizes.

Just thought of another thing. Half and full pod boats are probably best for backing up as well. That is good point with the Seafarer. Their 1/2 pod design is sweet, flush off the bottom and a good use of space. The Viking loved to back up hard. It is not recommended by a lot of people i.e. Peter Webster etc. in the mags but they sort of have to say that you shouldn't back up in case someone inexperienced buried a transom into a wave. You do get those calm days though when it is possible. Makes tagging a lot easier IMO as you are presented with the biggest possible target and with the scales pointing the right way for inserting the tag if the fish is going away from you and you are backing down on him. Any boat you consider should have a 25" transom because of this point. My Mclay even though it had a sort of a portifino transom sported a full pod and it went hard in reverse. 680 HHs also back extremely well but our 702 Signature with a big arse won't back at all so I think it is a pod thing.

djmac are you looking at seriously livebaiting? Can't stress enough the importance of a good live bait tank setup. It needs to be large in capacity, circular in shape, have no 90 degree corners and have a good lip at the top to stop water slopping out. That is the main reason Signatures and Seafarers will get my attention everytime I look at boats. Rod holder placement is also another issue to look at. Seafarers would win out over most brands here as well. Theirs would be the widest gunnels getting around on a production boat alllowing placement at any angle. They are also handy for sitting on as well once they get that wide. That is what is wrong with a lot of the old classics, nowhere for rod holder placement and they had those stupid raised coamings.

Troy mate, just for interest's sake what is your boating background? Done any trolling on the shelf for Marlin?

" i would not put a signature in amongts the boats you mentioned.they are not the slightest bit compareable." In what way? Ride or finish? They certainly have the best live bait tank, with the fold down transom flap you are fighting the fish nearest to the propellor of nearly any other brand and with reasonable rod holder positioning on them I think they stack up well as a "gamefishing boat" in any of the lists above.

I still can't come at a Cruise Craft for gamefishing - portofino transoms, not the biggest live bait tanks in the market and when fighting a frisky fish you would be miles away from the motor if it darted across the back.

Smitthy i have enough boating back ground to comment.if 40 years is not enough i do not know what is.

troy

And gamefishing experience?

Quote Originally Posted by troy
    Smithy one word bull sh it.
    troy
    i would not put a signature in amongts the boats you mentioned.they are not the slightest bit compareable.
    troy

What????????? you haven't spent much time in a signature have you..
    Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

Smithy,

Will be doing a fair bit of livebaiting as well yes.

But i will also be fitting some slimey tubes onto which boat i decide.

after looking long and hard between the seafarer and haines sig models, the haines had a better finish and i know they ride well, but the seafarer seemed beamier and also had better placement as you say for the rod holders etc.
    i also noticed at the transom where i would mount a decent rigging table in the haines, it wasnt really wide and you would struggle to mount a good table in front of the motor, the motor would tilt up into it.

I have at the moment a 5.2m centre cab based off an old haines hull. handles the slop really really well but a little tender at rest because of higher chimes.

I should have around 35k to spend so wanna make sure i get something a bit more solid, somewhere to get out of the weather and enough left over to trade the motor for a new 4 stroke (unless it has one already).

Well for $35,000 sounds like you are going secondhand. #Does sleeping on it come into the equation?

Here is a picture of the boat I have done a lot of hours on. #Even though it is now getting close to 10 years old and it has seen out one motor and a trailer it presents like new except for a few rust stains.