Thread: Morton overnight.

Morton overnight.

I’m sure it’s been mentioned before, but I’m looking a camping a couple of nights at Morton with the kids and would like to know how safe is it to leave the boat anchored for the night.

I have been over on plenty of day trips with no problems, but always keep an eye on the boat.

If anyone has any tips, tricks or suggestions, I would really appreciate it.

Brenmer

Re: Morton overnight.

Hi Bren,
    Safe as in not sinking or swamping or safe as in no scumsucker stealing your sounder, radio, rods, etc.
    For the former it is a good idea to keep away from the Tanga wrecks. The current really races through there & many have come to grief. Bugman can tell you more about this. Watch wind direction. Anything but SE on the W side of the island can be bad news. Try & anchor on low tide if you are planning to use your boat when you want to. This may require a short swim. Anchor on the high & you could be aground for ages. Use a bow anchor into the deep water & a stern pick back to the beach. Plenty of rope back to the beach is the go. Bury the beach pick deep at the high tide mark. Stops 4WDs running over it.
    As for the latter, try to avoid holiday times. Midweek is good. I would NOT leave anything portable of value in the boat. Or anything portable of value in the tent. Times have changed.
    ROLL TIDE, ROLL.................

The area just south of Tangas (before the timbers) is a pretty safe anchorage in everything but strong West directions. #I have to disagree with the 2 anchors approach as a decent wind side onto the boat puts way too much pressure on your ropes and could see waves breaking over the side sinking it. #Use 2 times your boat length of chain and approx 10 - 20 times the boat length of rope to anchor your boat if your anchoring in close to shore which is usually only a few metres deep anyway. #Adjust what looks reasonable to avoid hitting other boats but ensure the rope lays flat and the nose of the boat into the current and/or wind. #A decent sand anchor will do the trick but make sure it's big enough for your boat as they are often sold new with something too small for the job. #You can get your boat out at all tides form this area unlike the areas further south which are flatter and have bigger tidal drains and the like. #Your stuff will be OK in the boat if it's in front of your campsite, check it with your torch through the night and make sure things look OK for your first few trips. #Most of us probably still do it every night anyway. #The wrecks area is OK as well but deeper and therefore experiences more tidal run than the shallower area further south

I camped there for two nights some years back with my old man and the missus. We stayed at tanga wreck camp ground and travelled from one mile ramp. carried the tent, gas cooker and all of the food in a 5.2m tinny. Made the mistake of anchoring in too close and the boat was high and dry when we woke the next morning. we did eventually get it off with some help from a couple of guys then proceded to fish around the beacons in the area. good couple of days just relaxing even if the fishing was a bit lacks.

Went out to Morton yesterday for a day trip and had a look at the spot AronF mentioned, thankyou! # Had the boat anchored most of the day to see how it handles, Seemed to stay pretty still. I also saw a lot of different anchoring methods, all seemed to work well….thanks for the tips.

I had always been told by the older boaties not to anchor overnight at Morton unless you want to wake up in the morning minus a boat . I reckon a good protected spot, the right wind and anchor it should be fine. I will be giving it a go over the next couple of weeks.

Thanks very much for all the detailed input. If you think of anything else that might help, please post it #

PS What about sleeping on the boat? ours is a 5.5m half cabin. Have been told its pretty easy to get sea sick
    Brent.

Kept our boat there for 10 days straight on 3-4 different trips. Had to endure days of 25-35kn SE which will keep you landlocked but the boat will be safe it you anchor the way suggested above. Sure, you can sleep on the boat but it'll be more comfy on the shore in a tent, great campsite just there actually under the trees, not too many insects and close to the beacons for maccas. Whiting around the corner at Shark spit, flatties near the timbers and Kingies at Curtain just a short trip away. Just follow the basics of ensuring you have plenty of good heavy chain, strong rope and a decent anchor all relative to your boat and check them regularly during the trip if you're staying for more than a few days and you'll be OK

My wife and I slept over at Moreton a few months back. The weather was pretty good, but the slight constant rocking of the boat made me crook as... I had to sleep up top while my wife slept below. Ended up getting covered in dew and having a sh!thouse night's sleep.

I can doze on the boat during the day or sleep on the boat at night if it's tied up at a marina, but not overnight at Moreton. But maybe that's just me.

DaneCross

Has anyone launched from the beach over there? I'd imagine it would be pretty easy (in the right conditions) but are there any particular spots that are better than others?
    I'm just asking because we're considering a trip over there early in the new year and would like to be able to put the boat in/out because we'll more than likely be staying at the resort I guess there is a down side with the added cost of towing a trailer onto the barge
    DC

You can run but u cant hide my friend

p.s towing over there on the barge costs too much IMO.

Was over on Moreton last week and there were a few people we saw launching from around the Tanglooma wrecks. Didn't see any major dramas or problems.

I launched an 11 foot tinny there heaps of times, but I'm not sure I'd be comfortable with a big glass boat. It is do-able though.

If I was you, I'd be more concerned on where you park the boat/trailer if you're staying at the resort - it'll be safe enough I suppose, but you might have a long walk loading and unloading.

The barge *is* a rip-off when it comes to boats - I ended up having to pay more for the boat than the vehicle, even though it's overall length on the trailer was shorter. Strange, since the charge for the 4WD included the occupants and driving permit.

good luck,