I currently use a 97 Subaru Liberty 2.0 Wagon (2wd) and tows my 4.2 brooker (450kg) fine. I reckon the Camry will have no problems towing a 4.2.Originally Posted by Mogwai
i have a 2000 model v6 2wd rodeo and it does the job of towing just fine , and it takes me to work no probs too![]()
jason
... i only work to support my fishing addiction.....
yeh the rodeos make good towing vehicles - I had the dual cab V6 before the hilux. Better at towing than my hilux 3.4l v6 on the highway - lower gear ratios so it sat at higher rpm.
Ideal tow car? Would be one that can legally do the job, safely do the job, comfortably do the job and of course economically do the job. Therefore a large 4wd, such as f-truck/patrol/crushers etc would not be ideal for me.
For me that is. You guys/gals with 6m+ boats may beg to differ.![]()
Cheers - Paul
Gmc 6.6l turbo diesel with 702nm of torque , 300hp ,4x4 . I need it to tow my bobcat and just happens to tow my boat sufficiently. Don't ask what my fuel bill is as i don't want to know either
Has power everything and is easy to drive , just a pig to park
craig
i just sold my gu 4.5 patrol manual i had her on gas it was great for running costs , i had the works(lift kit, large tyres, etc) on it and had all performance stuff done got all dyno tuned up was pulling about 160 hp at the wheels would tow the 6.4 amm centre cab pretty well without holding up traffic
and without blowing heaps of money good truck
run as cheap if not cheaper than a commodore
I am Happy with my Holden Calais V8 with load levelers.
She has never let me down got plenty of guts to pull the old mans boat
which is at 2t. Put the cruise control on the highway and off we go.
Aj
Originally Posted by Mogwai
Mogwai I strongly advise you against the Camry. Front wheel drives have to pull the car AND the boat - this puts too much strain on the clutch. I pulled a (relatively light) 15ft glass boat around with one for a while but eventually the clutch haemorraged.
Originally Posted by Tony_N
Mogwai I strongly advise you against the Camry. Front wheel drives have to pull the car AND the boat - this puts too much strain on the clutch. I pulled a (relatively light) 15ft glass boat around with one for a while but eventually the clutch haemorraged.
[/quote]
Amazing difference when you upgraded to the Forrester. The engine must be about the same size, but no comparrison between front wheel drive and AWD.
Not saying it the BEST .... but I sure am happy with it and it's performance.
Jeep Grand Cherokee Turbo Diesel 2003 - 5 cylinder with a 2.7 tonnne towing capacity. She's a great tow horse for my 5.5m fibreglass boat and trailer (more than 1.2 tonne in weight) and very fuel economical as well. Recent trip to 1770 saw me avergage 13.9L/100kms travelling at the speed limit on cruise control. I filled up before I left brissy, did 500kms for 69.7L![]()
The car has all the mod cons and is a comfortable luxury ride, esp on long rides.
Herby![]()
Hilux SR5.....giddyup
the mullet
thanks guys bugggers me what to get.. i only have around the $18000 mark would love a Hilux SR5 but its way out of my price range![]()
Mate - all I know about cars is that you need to kick the tires before you buy one.Originally Posted by Mogwai
But - I would have thought anything with 6 cylinders and rear wheel drive would be plenty of grunt for a 4.2 tinny. Surprised that your 82 Commodore doesn't do it easy. 2nd hand cars is still a buyers market - I'd be looking at a few cars that you like the look of and test drive them with the boat behind. I repeat though - be very leery of front wheel drives for towing.
FWIW
Mate - all I know about cars is that you need to kick the tires before you buy one.Originally Posted by Tony_N
But - I would have thought anything with 6 cylinders and rear wheel drive would be plenty of grunt for a 4.2 tinny. Surprised that your 82 Commodore doesn't do it easy. 2nd hand cars is still a buyers market - I'd be looking at a few cars that you like the look of and test drive them with the boat behind. I repeat though - be very leery of front wheel drives for towing.
FWIW
Tony[/quote]
Would have thought even most 4cyls would be more than capable and much more economical to tow a 4.2 tinny around
![]()
Cheers - Paul
i would love to go the 6 cylinders but the car will be maly use to drop kids at sckool and takeing the boat to the ramp i did not what a 6 as it would be a big waste for me and hoping it will be a lot cheaper in the long run with a 4 .. the poor old commy has just about seen her day hes rusting and has lost a lot of power over the years but she still goes will be sad o see her go![]()