Thread: Southwind

Southwind

Hey everyone! I am in the market for a nice second hand boat around the 25K mark for fishing / cruising The Bay, Broad Water and some close in off shore when I get a bit of experience. I have fallen in love with the Southwind SR565 both for its looks and apparent value for money with a fully optioned 1998 model for 24K occupying my mind that I found a week or so ago...

What do pple think - good value?

There is a 2002 rig (same boat) for 31K too but does not look 7K better to me for similar hours on the clock. Appreciate any comments about the boat from pple with experience in such a rig. Thanks for your time in advance, Brad.

Re: Southwind

G'day Brad,

I'm guessing your from Brissy and the Southwind you've seen is the one at QBS Loganholme. Had a quick look on the net last nite too, and she looks ok from the pic's.

I've got the 95 model SR17 with 115 Yammie. Great rig and a very soft riding and forgiving hull. I use her for both bay and offshore work which is well within her capabilities. ( still need to pick your days tho for offshore work, remember she's still only a trailer boat) The boat's a well finished rig with a real sporty look and feel about it too. They are made under the name of Southern Cross now with a local dealer at Yatla.

I used to have a Haines V17R and loved the ride that only a Haines can give, but you will be suprised that the Southwind will ride even better and have just that bit more space too. I wouldn't be waiting too long, these boats don't last long on the market.

If you want any more info give us a call.

Tony President Brisbane Southwind Club
    Light travels faster than sound, that's why some people seem Bright ...... untill they speak

PS: I had to crop the pic because I didn't want everone to see the full esky on the beach of Coral Trout and Red Emperor that I caught from the House Boat #
    Light travels faster than sound, that's why some people seem Bright ...... untill they speak

Boat seems ok Just make sure the motor is great, little concerned about the age?Just remember that the market for 2 strokes has fallen,just an exercise but ring a dealer and find out what they would give you as a trade on the motor -negotiate from there.

Now Now Skippa
    I think you may have had a little to much sun that day.
    That was your bait esky full of pillies and squid that you were looking at
    Cheers Dazza
    PS Nice pic of the Hai.....sorry Southwind.

And a dry pic as well.

No have to say the ride in Tony's the other day was nearly as good as a Haines. No , nice boats, effortless the other day on a fairly ordinary Bay.

It's FULLY SIC man

Couldn't resist eh Brett #

Nah nah, not pillys or squid Dazza, it was Coral Trout just like MM's and at Peel too honest # #
    you can catch anything at the Houseboat ......

Skippa i knew you would be straight onto this.
    You should come for a ride in the stacer, good tinny ride plenty of room and runs on the smell of an oily rag.
    Carnt comment on southwinds or haines. Could get into trouble.
    Graeme

Hey Skippa;

I just wanted to thank you for your response... and posting them pics for me. What is the Southwind Club? I will be going to have a look at the Southwind I mentioned tomorrow and have organised Dad's 4wd incase I decided to ... (oh God can I justify that much money to fish lol)....

Always Offshore - what do you mean you would be concerned about the age of the Motor? 1998 doesnt seem that old to me and the motor has a full service Hx and looks new.

The only worry I had was the floor was a little "springy" in the aft port corner of the cockpit which worried me a bit - so am taking a fiberglass "expert" with me.

Thanks again everyone for your help / advice / knowledge,

Brad.

G'Day Brad,

Mate there's no Southwind club, just me and my dumb sense of humour # #
    More having a dig at the 'Haines Dayout Boys' # #

Each to their own I guess, but I don't know that I would be too concerned with the 98 Yammie, would pay to have it checked out of course, unless you know about outboards yourself. By the sound it's been serviced regularly, but yes its a secondhand rig, so its buyer beware.

I'd be a bit suss tho on the springy floor, I'd want that checked out, especially if was handing out 23k.

Good luck with the purchase, damn I love buying boats ...... #

Gawby,

Mate I have to confess I do like the sound of 'running on the smell of a oily rag', but ya gotta weigh that up against the cost of dental care when you have to get ya fillings replaced

jokes aside tho happy to deckie for ya any time..

Tony #

Mate, didnt mean to upset ya! If you need a hand with any fibreglassing I,d be happy to help out[have done a fair bit,recently did a pod on a mates boat] Cheers and good- luck!!!

A Mate of mine is about to get delivered a new Stinger 723 with a Suzuki 70 four stroke with tandem trailer and all the stuff for 33 K - Mojo

SR565...mmmm, yes please..!!..nice boats.

So Brad,

How'd ya go, did ya look at the Southwind on Sun?

Are you the latest member of the 'Brisbane Southwind Club' # #

God I'm surrounded by Haines, Cruise Crafts and an endless array of Tinnes .....

Tony #

Skippa,
    GO THE TINNIES
    Graeme