What would you do
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: What would you do

What would you do

I went to look at a boat today. Its a 5.7 mtr Haines Bowrider with a 115 hp yamaha 2 stroke. The hull is 88 model and in what I would say good condition for its age. Engine has 350 Hours on it and the deal is $15000 with 30 days warranty. I have been looking now for about 2 months and finding boats in this price range get snapped up quick.

I am wondering if I am being realistic thinking I am going to get a really clean realiable boat in this price range that will be ok for fishing the river, a bit of water skiing and getting out on a good day or if I should just look got a later model 14 - 15 ft alloy boat with a later model 40 hp engine.

I guess I already know the answer but would love a bit of feedback.

DaveSue_Fishos_Two

Re: What would you do

If the engine is also an 88 model I think the unit is a bit overpriced. However, if the engine is younger and been well looked after and serviced regularly maybe it's not such a bad buy. What about the trailer? What extra's are you getting for your $'s?

The trailer is a bit rough but they will clean it up , new brakes etc,
    I thought the floor was a bit spongy and they are going to renew it, give me 12 months rego on boat and trailer and include an inshore safety kit. The boat has a full cover and sounder .I am pretty sure the engine is 88 model as well. The hull presents quite well. Its the original gel coat and still has a nice shine to it. I will get the compression test results next week. I am just a little nervous as I havent had much to do with boats and I have heard penty of horror stories

odds are if the floor is spongy so will the transom, IMO it is not just replacing the floor but most of or all the substructure
    buyer beware

Thanks Blaze

Yeah JubJub,

Gotta go with Blaze...$15,000 for a 1988 model with suspect floor/transom...hmmm...I'd reckon over priced...even in Tassie

I recently sold my 2002 15ft centre console Bermuda tinnie with 50 merc 300 hoursish and set up with the lot for $13,000.00 and thought i did real well

I used this rig at Minnie often, it pulled the kids around on a ski biscuit O.K. it probably would have pulled a skier, but not as well as the two boats I've seen you put up...I know its hard...be patient...the right rig will be just around the corner...i'll check around our area of Brisvegus and see whats on offer if you like

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

Thanks Rhys,
    The mob that has is has assured me they will address the floor/transom issues. At the moment I have lost a little confidence in it to be honest. When they initially told me about it the boat was ment to be immaculate. At best I would say good condition. I cant get over how many poor second hand boats are sitting in dealers yards.

I am keeping an open mind about it and will talk to the dealer on monday. If I were to do anything I want to see whats under the floor when they pull it up. I was lucky yesterday when I went to have a look at it because I managed to dodge the salesman when I got there and their mechanic wandered over. I had already checked out the transom and was a little concerened. He agreed that it was borderline. There isnt very much movement in it but there is a little bit. He told me he had it scheduled for monday to go into the workshop to assess the engine. He walks away and the salesman comes over and feeds me the line that the engine had been tested and the compression was good.
    To me thats a bit of a bargaining chip because its an out and out lie.
    I will talk to the guy I was dealing with and ask for at least 6 months warranty and see what he says. Its a little difficult for me because I am 3 hours from Brissy and 2 hours from tweed and there is really nothing down my way. It pretty much takes up a full day just getting up there to look at a boat.

Rhys dont go out of your way but if you see anything that you think would interest me please let me know.
    My email address is pedro_1@kooee.com.au

Oh the joys of boat hunting.

There is a lot of stuff in the yards that look pretty rough and they seldom seem to detail them like a second hand car yard, good and bad in that... You get a lot more confidence biding your time and buying from a private seller who has shown a lot of care with his craft. You can find good and bad both private and dealer though.
    Try separating and costing the items in the boat such as hull, motor, trailer, bimini & clears, electronics and extra gear such as flares.
    For example you might value the motor at $5000, trailer at $1200, Bimini & cover $1000, electronics $500 extra gear$200. That gets you to $7900 before you consider the hull, then look at the hull and ask yourself if the hull is worth the extra $7100 and if its not then what is it worth to you. You might even consider buying a good hull with an old blown up engine then fitting a new donk for $10000. That method gets you a rough idea on value anyway and I always start with the engine as it often dictates price.
    good luck.

Ausfish Gold Member

Spongy floor=TROUBLE

What would I do?
    Look elsewhere

Good post Burley Boy...there's wisdom in that!
    ><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

When you go looking, take somone with you that knows how to sus out a transom, and floor.
    I got my brother onto this ,and a mate of mine went with him, complete with a ball pein hammer. He knew exactly where to tap, and knew the sound he was looking for.
    Others have been caught with a bill for $ 4500, to repairs a floor and transom.
    Got someone that knows boats?
    David

Save your money keep looking

Have a look at this link
    http://www.ausfish.com.au/cgi-ausfis...30645497/15#15

Cheers Phil
    Grow old disgracefully

Jub jub I personally would give the dealer ,or that sales guy in particular,a wide berth .If they are content to lie to you then you take a risk in dealing with them.There are plenty of other boats around ,have a look on boat point or similar.I would not trust them to do a proper repair.
    cheers jon