-
Ausfish New Member
Quintrex 420 dory
Does anyone have any opinions on the 420 dory for river and estuary fishing? #Is there much difference between it and a 420 stacer? I have tried searching the forums but nothing seems to come up when I put in 420 dory - maybe I'm doing it wrong.
Is 40hp 2s yamaha overkill for this boat?
john
-
Ausfish New Member
Re: Quintrex 420 dory
I dont have one but I was seriously considering getting one as a mate at work has one with a 30 and he loves it !
I would put the 40 on if you can afford it though .
-
hey dude, I've got the 4.1 allycraft rhino with the 40hp yammy two stroke - love it, definatley not too much, just enough, especially with a load on, I'd put a 50 on it if they'd let me, cheers Ray
-
Ausfish Gold Member
John,
Quintrex also have a 420 Top Ender CV on their web site that looks interesting.
Bushbeachboy
-
-
Check out Aquamaster Alloy Boats on the southside of Brisbane. I just bought a 4.15m tinnie with loads of extras and it is an awesome boat. The build quality, service and value for money is excellent.
Nathan
-
Hi John
I"ve had my 420 widebody quinney for about 2 years now and love it.
Got the 30 Merc on mine top speed 42k by GPS.
Hav"nt taken it outside yet but some do.Just waiting for the right day.
Have a look at Heath"s web site a mate of his, Wello has one and catches some nice fish off the Gold coast in his.
Cheers Stu
-
-
Ausfish New Member
Thanks for the replies. Looks like it's the 40hp - boat type is the difficult bit. Is there much difference in quality between the various manufacturers?
From what I've seen they generally have the same thickness material in bottoms and sides, so I suppose the only real difference is in the welding.
-
Ausfish New Member
Stu
The boat looks good - what's in the box under the sounder? It looks like there are wires going towards the pointy end - is the battery up there somewhere? Do you charge the battery from the outboard?
-
Ausfish New Member
A friend got a new stacer 420 2 months back with 30/4 Honda .. very smooth with plenty of grunt. He told me that the Stacer and Quinnies are built at same factory. Stacer a lot cheaper....
-
I have a 4.2 dory with a 30 honda and highly recomend these boats, am very impresed by the finish and quality but just out of interest my brother owns the same boat with a 40 yammy and I wish I had the extra grunt.
-
Ausfish New Member
Mate I've just got a 415 magnum seajay. Had wide sides and low bow rails put on it.I did want the next size up 435 , couldnt afford it. I got a 30 ,2cyc seperately mercury.seems okay.Only had it out a couple of times.If you like a deep boat this is a great one .cheers , merry xmas.
-
Ausfish New Member
i have a 4.2 dory with a 40hp 2 stroke yammie great little boat for the estuaries and also quite good out in the bay. 4 blokes and esky full, up on plane no worries heaps of grunt