Thread: Stainless Steel Props

Stainless Steel Props

Hi Guys,

My name is Tony and i am new to boating and this site.

I have just bought a Dory 445 with a 50hp 2s yammy

went fishing and hit mainly loose rocks and has already chewed a bit of the prop

been told the yammy props are soft and crap

looking at a stainless prop but costs heaps

for the yammy prop $740
    for the solars??$520

Any advice would be appreciated

and yes i know the 1 about lift the motor b4 u get too shallow

Re: Stainless Steel Props

Darwinboy,
    I was advised against getting a ss prop by a mate. He told me that while the ally prop would bend a little bit and break, the stronger ss prop would transfer all of the impact energy to the gearbox and cause probs there. Be good to get advice about this from someone here.

Bushbeachboy,

thanks for the reply

Yeah i was told the same thing and was also told that if i hit that hard would stuff the gearbox with the allot prop as well

a mate has same motor and he did 3 alloy props in a cpl months and hasn't had a prob since he changed to the ss prop

thats why i put a post here to see if i can get the right answer

Thnkas again

Have you thought about fitting a small electric outboard for shallow running in around those rocks?

It would probably cost about the same as a stainless prop and you have the added bonus of not worrying about your gearbox.

They are magic for sneaking in around the snags. Silent. Instant on and off. And makes the boat very manouverable.

Darwin boy,

get on to ebay and the tradin post, hang out for a while in these places and you should get a second handy for $200 or so

Retired Honda Master Tech