Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

Thread: Boat setup problems

New_fisher

Re: Boat setup problems

Here it is boys, note the cav plate is pretty much the same height as the keel, your advice is appreciated, Ray.

New_fisher

two, the cav plate is almost in line with the keel, the guy st the boat shop said that the aluminium boats cause more turbulent water off the back due to the chines, therefore you cant lift them as high or it will cavitate, sound reasonable?

New_fisher

Final one

Quote Originally Posted by Hurlz
    two, the cav plate is almost in line with the keel, the guy st the boat shop said that the aluminium boats cause more turbulent water off the back due to the chines, therefore you cant lift them as high or it will cavitate, sound reasonable?
    Nope :exclamation. Your engine is way deep in the water.

I would lift that engine 1 hole..possibly 2. It would be a whole different boat with it lifted. Cavitation shouldn't be a problem.

Being an alluminium boat it will be easy to lift. 10 min job to lift, if ya need a hand gimme a yell, will come and help ya

Retired Honda Master Tech

Like garry I reckon ya wanta go 2 holes though, there must be a lota underperforming boats out there. Maybe the dealers set them that low for beginners, like having L plates and restricting speed.

I had a stacer that would bow steer when the motor was set close to the transom. The cavplate and the foil should be somewhere near the bottom of the hull. Remember that the foils job is to help you get out of the hole and prevent cavitation when turning. It cannot do this if the foil is above the bottom of the hull line.
    I would try some spacer washers, you have nothing to lose to get rid of the spray.
    As for hull speed its a balance between bow steering and top speed.

Hurlz,

As Gary said mate if you need a helping hand to lift it...I can come and help you also.

New_fisher

Guys thanks for your help, I have already lifted it one hole already - if I took the pics last week it would of been another inch lower again, I will pull it up another hole - I only have one hole left - what happens then? Do i have to drill more holes in my transom? If I get stuck I will give you a yell - thanks very much for the offer though, Cheers Ray

hurls,

have you run the boat yet?

how does it perform?

andrew

New_fisher

nah mate, crook as a dog. probably put her in tues next week, I'll let you know how she goes, I was thinking of buying some of those plastic cutting boards used in the kitchen and cutting a few spacers out of them to lift the foil off the cav plate - anybody got any better ideas? I thought the plastic wouldn't mark the paint on the engine and would slao stop corrosion? thoughts?
    Cheers Ray

Hi Ray
    I personly dont like any of the add on wings, if outboards were meant to have such a beast they would be part of the original moulding and not an odd on feature to mask a possible fault/poor design or under powered hull.
    One of the reason I dont like them is it puts tremendus pressure on the orignal cav plate (not that I have even seen one broken for this reason), by putting spacers under the wing to raise it in the water that leverage would be increase dramaticly
    Just my humble opinion

mate put a foil on his 25hp and didnt really notice too much of an improvement. But i have a foil fitted to my 70 johno and people have commented how quickly the boat gets on the plane. Have not tried the motor without it but the previous owner noticed better trimming and quicker planning when it was fitted to his first motor a blue band merc.

andrew

i say scrap the foil chuck a trophy prop on and lift her up
    about to do that to mine ill tell how the prop goes cheers

New_fisher

Thanks Speedy, interested to see how you go - what is a trophy prop and what advantages does it have over the factory prop? Cheers Ray.

i have a 4.2m stacer with a 30merc, it was on numb 2 hole out and at the end of a day my shoulder was just aching. i put up with this for few months, then last weekend put motor out to 3rd hole and it was like have power steering, but just seemed to dig in a little longer on takeoff. but it does throw more water up at the back. i was going down in morn to buy a $25 foil and see if it makes a difference to getting out bit quicker. but steering is really easy now, can move tiller arm with one finger as before had to hang on real tight.