G'day all,
I have a 50HP mercury 2 stroke (about 1990 vintage).
Just before Christmas I was steaming along when all of a sudden the motor died.
I found that the motor would run OK up to about 1800 RPM and then just die in the arse (missing & spluttering like two plugs had come off).
Anyway took it down to the local Mercury dealer and said give it a full service and find the fault.
After the service it still wouldn't pull more than 1800RPM under load (starts fine and will rev right out with muffs on).
So they pulled it apart and found the stator was out of spec on the high speed circuit (still working, just not right), so they replaced that.
Once again, starts first go. Runs perfect in the tank.
On the water gets to 2,000 RPM and just won't go any further
Does seem to be running sweeter and doesn't seem to be breaking down and spluttering as much, just not revving.
So now they think that the switch box (black box) is cactus too, so we get another one of them too.
Still same stuff.
So here we are about $1,000.00 in parts later and still haven't fixed the problem.
The head mechanic is off on leave and the ther guys are not sure what the problem is.
I'm not crooked on the mechanis (yet).
I do heaps of repairs on welding equipment and it's not uncommon to have to replace one part before you can tell if another related part is stuffed too.
On the other side of the coin I won't be paying for parts that need not have been replaced.
But anyway, I haven't yet discussed that with the mechanic so I'm not bagging them, nor looking for sympathy or advise on how to handle the costs.
What I would like is advise on what else may cause those specific symptoms that is perhaps being overlooked.
Spoke to Mercury Qld and their tech said based on the symptoms, he would have said stator and that about the only other thing is the trigger, but he thought that'd usually exhibit the fault right through the rev range.
It's almost like a rev limiter is being activated or something.
Any ideas??
Owen (looking forward to another boatless weekend![]()
![]()
![]()
)