Pinhead, you forgot to put in , "deckie on sinking boat with bucket", Makes best auto bilge pump ever. Keeps on going, even after battery is flooded
LOL
David
pinhead wheres the bucket and lanyard?
flares?
torch?
and lets not forget the anchor
i think most people carrie the right amount of safty gear it is just a few that doun't and the sad bit is that the few are more than likly the ones that will need it the most
most times it is easy to see who the dangours are and who are not
the ones with the well kept boats seem to have the gear they need but the cowboys who just don't care are just that cowboys
Pinhead, you forgot to put in , "deckie on sinking boat with bucket", Makes best auto bilge pump ever. Keeps on going, even after battery is flooded
LOL
David
reading a few things here lately there appears many are quite prepared to spend heaps on the toys and yet skimp on what are almost essentials which make a boat reliable and self sufficient
Just went and spent some good dollars on a, Navman 7200, radio for my boat, a lot of my friends believe it is a waste of money as a mobile phone would do the job.
It's my belief that if I can get a message to a boat that is already on the water my chances of staying safe in an emergency are increased heaps!
The radio also has the DSC feature on it, a lot of reading to be done on this feature.
Does anyone know who you contact for the number to enter into the radio?
Cheers Andy.
ok..I forgot the flares and torch..I do have them.Originally Posted by sf17fisherman
As for bucket and lanyard..I do not have them..manual bilge pump fitted.(duh..how dumb is that)..the bucket and lanyard to be used as a drogue if required..I doubt they would do much for a boat that weighs over 4 tons
Relaxed, go to this post here.
http://www.ausfish.com.au/cgi-ausfis...1136679468/0#0
There is a pdf file on their for printing out called MMSI form. Thats what you are after. You will need to hold a valid Marine Radio License to apply for the MMSI number. In the document it has a list of the different licences that are valid.
Cheers Lloyd
Finga
Don't worry mate i do the same thing before any gear goes in the boat i make sure all the necesities are there.After all if something goes wrong i need to know where everything is.
Cheers Dazza
People are just like that; it's as simple as that. They're the same ones who will but a $50,000 4 wheel drive and put the cheapest, nastiest tyres on it they can find or drive from Capalaba to Redcliffe becuase they saw an item they want $5 cheaper over there. It's crazy, but a lot more of that goes on than we think.
NICK.
Thanks Subzero.
I need to do a radio course anyway, this will encourage me to speed it up a bit.
Lots of great info on that post, thanks again.
Cheers Andy.
ok..I forgot the flares and torch..I do have them.Originally Posted by PinHead
As for bucket and lanyard..I do not have them..manual bilge pump fitted.(duh..how dumb is that)..the bucket and lanyard to be used as a drogue if required..I doubt they would do much for a boat that weighs over 4 tons
[/quote]
too ture mate and to tell the truth i'm yet to find out what good the bucket and lanyard is myself makes for a good loo in our smaller phescent trailer boat
I thinks it is people (a) who don't know (b) think they will never need it (c) who are to cheap to buy it
Yeh, your right Nick.
A lot of that goes on
Had a little giggle yesterday. I went to fuel up the car and boat for the weekend. Had a Woolies thingo so thought I'd use it. Turned up to the servo and b-gger me the line of people waiting. There must have been at least 35-40 cars waiting, most with the windows up A/C on. That's not me. I hate lines. >
The servo up the road (300-400m away) which had petrol for 6c cheaper then the discounted price at Woolies had exactly nobody waiting at the pumps. You beauty says me.
I had no hassles with the boat, no waiting for 2 bousers (normal and premium fuels) and no waiting at the card swiper and cheaper fuel to boot. (only down side was I didn't get to use the Woolies thingo )
I would have donated $10 for not waiting in line but instead saved about $5.00.
Another example is one of our neighbours drives 15km one way so they can get milk for 38 c less and they buy 2 at a time or they'll drive from Loganholme to the Rocklea markets to get a case of fruit then throw most of it out because it rots.
someone mentioned buckets, where in the blazes do you find good buckets these days? a good old solid 2gall plastic bucket with some meat thinkness and solid metal handle? well at least better then the 50 cent version with the coat hanger wire handle and give it half a day in the sun and it dissolves into a plastic rubble pile.
Mantaray
Check the local building sites. Some of the buckets they use for glues and other building materials are simply thrown out. I've grabbed a couple of buckets from the building sites (after asking the guys on site if it is ok) and them gone home and washed them out. They are a lot stronger than the Woolies specials, and don't break down as quick in the sun. Additionally, the handles are a lot stronger.
Hope this helps
Harry
I love the sound of reels screaming in the morning
They even come in assorted sizes (10lt, 20lt) and with a tight fitting lid. If you don't have any building sites near you, try asking in busy restaurants or cafes as they often buy their mayo in those pails too.Originally Posted by harry_h01
If you'd prefer to buy them new, Bunnings sell the 20lt size, complete with lid.
--
Bev