Thread: why do people only want to carry min safety

why do people only want to carry min safety

Often read in these threads on what is the min legal safety equipment for a given area like say morton bay. At the cost of this equipment, some of which is cheap and other not so cheap I would like the question to be asked "whats the best way, with what equipment, as skipper to maximise the safety of those I carry on my vessel"
    We as a group debate things like flares, fire extinguishes, epirbs, life jackets after we have just spent maybe $2-5000 on electronics, maybe $20 000- 100 000 on the boat and debate the need to spend say $350 on a life jacket.
    safety first guys/girls

Re: why do people only want to carry min safety

I think this will answer your question blaze............"it will never happen to me"

Thats a good point, Blase, and too true, Dave.

Some people don't have foresight...

SAFETY FIRST, ALWAYS!

Murphy will hit you the second you become complacent..

Maybe I'm one of those pessimists here 'cause I normally carry more safety gear then what's needed by law. For 'Junior' (a little 3.75m tinny) I always carry a mirror, V-sheet, bilge, 27meg radio, waterproof torch, spare rope, small medical kit, spare fuel, basic set of tools, spare plugsetc, charts of the area where I'm going (mainly 'cause I get lost down the pin way and around the southern end of the bay) and a set of flares plus all the gear I need to have by law.
    When you add up the total price it's next to nothing and the room required to store is very little as well (I put a special draw under the seat just for a lot of the safety gear). But if I need it, it's there. Always.
    After every trip I strip the boat out to clean and dry then I check everything as I put it back for the next trip. I put the spare fuel into the main tank and refill the spare fuel container. Maybe I'm lucky because I have the time to do it. But I think I'd do it just the same if I had less time up my sleeve.

Another reason for me to carry the gear is if I'm having a good day and venture to places where you need the safety gear I have it onboard. No worries with the boys in blue. That's so easy to do in the bay on a great day.

I've seen what can happen to a little boat when the conditions go to s--t. Better safe then sorry, especially if the extra safety gear is only worth less then $100

I also carry the same gear if I'm out at Lesley Dam. That place can blow up real quick.
    I'll have to admit I only have the elcheapo jackets but when in NSW we all use them over the bar. I also replace them every 2 years (for $13 why not??) I have looked into the better jackets but as usual I have to save up for them.

The cook calls me anal when we take either of the boats out as I have to put everything in myself. That way I check it on the list and nothing can be overlooked.
    Maybe I am a bit ... But better well prepared and safe then sorry though

Hi Blaze,
    Fully agree with your comment

Recent discussion here was having to buy lifejackets (PDF1's) for kids.

These are available for about $58

That is only the price of a slab of beer and some bait

I really think that #people should re-access their #priorities.
    Seabug

We are funny creatures, and need to have our hand held, even for self preservation.
    I mentioned on a post the other day, that it didnt make sense, to limit the compulsory carrying of a fire extinguisher, to a boat size.
    Can anyone explain that reasoning?
    I was out with my brother in his boat, and found he had no VMR phone numbers when we needed to get help for another boat in trouble, and no working radio.
    I had to phone my better half, to get the numbers we needed.

I note some suggested safety gear to carry, seems we need to make it compulsory.
    David

Got to agree
    If things go bad sometimes all the safety gear in the world may not help you but why not give yourself the best chance.
    Doesn't hurt to think about how you would feel if a mate or family member died because you spent the money on a carton or new rod rather than some good safety gear that would have saved their life. Doesn't hurt to think about the effect of something happening to you on your family and friends either.
    Think we've got to realise that the old adage "She'll be right" is probably a load of cr*p where sea safety is concerned and we all have an obligation to ourselves, our families and our community

Kindred spirits, Great post

Its a very sobering thought to think that the difference between the minimum or wrong equipment and the best or correct equipment for our children is comparable to a slab of beer.

Have a good week all
    Safe Boating
    Cheers Lloyd

Some people are like that Blaze.... the only reason they carry safety gear at all, is because they are told they have to.

We found out first hand what it is like to need the safety gear to save your life.

In 7 - 8 metre seas with 60+ knots of wind, you learn real quick just how important it is to spend an extra few dollars on good quality safety gear.

I agree, it is better to be safe then sorry. However, some safty items don't make sense, for instance I don't carry paddles. I am never going to able to use them to save myself from anything but swatting a Marsh fly. It might be OK to paddle 10 feet to the bank but any further is out of the question. My 15 footer isn't rowable and I am sure that they are more then useless in 625 Outsider or similar. A second motor will do the trick but setting them up on modern design boats with boarding ladders, pods etc is difficult. So reliance must be placed on radios, EPIRBS and anchors.

Sometimes orrs can be used for other things, most people rely on their steering. If the cable snaps with a little bit of good lashing, voila you have a tiller
    Sometimes they make a handy signalling device..... agreed, to row with in less than ideal conditions and close to shore would be an impossibility in the majority of boats in the open waters, but in a dam, a creek.... maybe just maybee we could talk the missus and kids in to rowing for us
    Cheers Lloyd

Hi Bowser
    I agree on the paddle thing, In tassie we tend to have to be more self reliant, I would think that 90% of trailer boats the fish in the salt use an aux motor and maybe as high as 75% that fish lakes (inpoundments) and rivers also carry an aux.

Having a couple of (wh)oars on the boat isnt so bad

lemme think:

10 life jackets plus one kids one.
    firebuoy auto fire system
    fire blanket and 2 other fire extinguishers
    V sheet
    whistles attached to life jackets
    digital EPIRB