Thread: Spare Wheel Security

Oldyella

Re: Spare Wheel Security

All you need to do.. is make it harder to steal than the next poor B%$^$^&d parked there.
    A thief knows all the tricks and will get your wheel if it is in view. Mine goes in the boot of the car.

Quote Originally Posted by 2iar
    [quote author=DR link=1141187148/0#5 date=1141194732]mine is in the back of the truck as well... goes in on he front seat when i go out fishing

Only trouble with this is that if your spare is targetted for stealing, you also end up with a broken window on the truck (or worse)

Hope it never happens to either of us, mate.

Good luck,
    Mike[/quote]

back when i was a boy, a few of us owned MGB soft tops. after 1 was slashed so some creep could go through it looking for something, we all bought steering locks, emptied out the gloveboxes & always left them open so it could be seen that they were empty & always left cars unlocked. pretty sure we had people/mongrels go through them , but never had anything stolen or any damage to car still tend to leave glovebox open & use steering lock..so far so good!!!
    truth is if they really want it they will come prepared & take it, most measures only stop opportunists...

Quote Originally Posted by finga
    Gidday 2iar,
    Maybe time to find a new boat ramp with the apprehension you have with the current one. Where is it??
    How do you stop them from pinching the ute and trailer with the spare still attached??
    Sad world when you can't leave the car and trailer for a days fishing.

Hi Finga,

Believe it or not, I've never had any problem at any ramp I've ever used (mainly using Nudgee now) or at home, and I'd like to keep it that way. Maybe I've become a bit paranoid from some of the stories on here, but I'd still like to do everything practical I can for peace of mind. Having said that, I haven't got $200k of rig or anything, but I do absolutely love it.

Good luck,

Quote Originally Posted by Tony_N
    [quote author=finga link=1141187148/0#9 date=1141205338]
    Gidday Tony,
    What stops the "mongrels" undoing the two u-bolts and taking the tyre and bracket?? It's only one nut more then taking the wheel of the bracket.
    Yeh Scott - gotta start thinking like a criminal I had thought though that a decent set of bolt cutters would make very short work of the lock I have on it at the moment. As people keep saying - you can only deter them, you can't stop them if they are really keen.

[/quote]

If you're unlikely to need to move the U-Bolts, having them welded works. You'd then need an angle-grinder to get them off.

I've got the same concern as you about padlocks, but they might help deter rather than prevent and are surely better than nothing.

Good luck,

Locknuts are easy to remove with a hammer and an old chisel

Padlocks can be cut with a pair of bolt cutters, as can chains, cables etc...

Personally I would go for locknuts, and one other measure, just to slow them down.

Quote Originally Posted by 2iar
    [quote author=coasty link=1141187148/0#2 date=1141187875]my spare in up under the front deck of the boat. its out of the way and cant be flogged when im out in the boat.
    Thanks mate. I've only got a 4.6m cuddy cabin, so there's not much room and I don't want to add weight to the boat either.

Thanks for the reply though.

Good luck,
    Mike[/quote]

ive only got a 4.5 brooker forward control.
    it just lays there under the life jackets

The best option for the spare would be to weld the bracket to the trailer frame. Then weld a vertical piece of 6 x 30 strap for the wheel to go over and secure with a padlock that has a shrouded shackle.

Spare, what spare???

Gooday 2iar,
    Plenty of good suggestions there. I thought I'd add my own 2 bob's worth, I hate all thieving mongrel bastards passionately. My spare wheel is mounted on a hub which is attached to the chasis via a cut-off stub axle in turn sitting in box section welded on. My train of thought goes like this, lock nuts are only so good, a pair of vise grips will easily undo them, most thieves, I imagine will carry boltcutters, so to me chain isn't the best. I bought some thick wire rope from bias, (6mm I think) swaged a thimble on one end, covered the wire with garden hose then swaged the other end. I bought a round disc lock (yale, stainless) but any lock with a staple that you can't get bolt cutters into, will be better than a standard lock, thread through & around chasis, then lock up under the wheel (making it more inconvenient for thieves).The wire requires parrot beak cutters to cut (expensive-too dear for lowlifes?). I also use 2 different style lock nuts. Or you could use chain as well, with a separate lock, which will make getting your wheel look like hard work & I reckon we all know what those bludgers think of that.
    cheers, staino

talking to a bloke today and his is locked onto the trailer. the only problem was someome piched the alloy spare off the back of his prado.he reckons you just cant win.