PHP Warning: Use of undefined constant VBA_SCRIPT - assumed 'VBA_SCRIPT' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in ..../includes/functions_navigation.php(802) : eval()'d code on line 1 9.9 on 3 metre tinny
hey,
got a 3 metre tinny and i dont know what sort of motor to put on it...i was thinking a 9.9 or a 15? are 9.9's more expensive than 15's? can you do anything to increase the power of a 9.9, if so what?
They're basically the same motor just some minor adjustments in the carby is what separates them. I think they're around the same in price. A 15 would fly on a 3 metre tinny though, is the a boat specification plate telling you the max hp? 15 could be a little steep for some makes
the tinny is a quintrex 310 Dart model, its only rated for an 8, but I want it to go pretty fast. the max transom weight is 42 kgs, and 9.9's and 15's are 35 kgs. Do you know how to change the carbi's or modify them?
yes abit dicey. I think if the boat could hold the bigger motor it would be allowed to. It's not the weight thats an issue but the boat going faster than what it is designed to do. This may result in welds busting ect. An 8 shouldnt go 2 bad on it but yes Id be careful. How old is the boat, is it still under warrenty? Because putting a motor that is too big on could make it void.
The 9.9 would go good but once again be careful with your specification plate. If the boat is onlt 1 year old it may still be under warrenty im not sure. Have you considered a tohatsu 9.8? It's pretty much as fast as the 9.9 but only the size of an 8. Perhaps that's something to consider
No worries mate. I used to think they were all the same until I realised tohatsu also make a 9.9. here is a link to the 9.8 hp motor on the tohatsu motor http://www.tohatsu.co.jp/en/boat/products/m9_8.html good luck with the boat and tell us how it all turns out for ya.
You're right in the the 9.9/15 tend to be the same motor and therefore the weight is the same. I had the same question on a 3.4 tinny that the compliance plate said 10hp. I had a 9.9 and wanted a 15, but couldn't get a straight answer from anyone on how to get the boat re-classified, so stuck with it.
FWIW, I reckon an 8 is about right. Tohatsu do the lightest one if I remember correctly. I'd advise against exceeding the compliance as you'll be in deep shit if you need to make an insurance claim, or worse, a claim is made against you.
If you put a 15 HP motor on your Just 3 meter tinny you will need 3 bags of cement up the front what a waste go for 6 HP and don't need a licence and will be safe.. you want excitement? get a jetski Fuel consumption 15-22 liters an hour...
3 meter tinny was considered a tender and used to have 2-6 hp motors... between shore and anchored boat/yacht
Your idea is OK but you have a wrong boat 3 meter tinny I would consider to name it Super bathtub i hope you are not thinking of taking it out to sea..
Sorry marcusarnold i am trying to save your life... we don't like to lose members
ahoj a 3m Tinny is fine for rivers and creeks....Certianly not a "bathtub". Infact i own a 3m Punt by choice as it allows me into water most boats cant access. It may not be your style of boat but than again your boat may not be my idea of a fun day on the water....
An 8 HP would be fine wouldnt go anything over that though (this was the info i got from this site a few weeks back ). I am infact looking for an 8hp for my own 3m punt at present (anyone got one to sell PM me )
You might get away with a 9.8 but i would think it would be over kill and as someone said to me you would want to be carefull heading into the wind with any kind of chop as you may find yourself upside down.
Im really not sure ay...im gonna have the tinny fairly loaded up- Getting a floor put in soon, going to have all the nececary estuary fishing accesories (rod holders etc) and a fuel tank, and i still want it to plane with me and 1 or 2 others onboard. Just not sure if an 8 would push it along well enough with that much on?