Thread: correct trim

correct trim

I have a question. I have been runing a new motor and need some advice on the correct trim. It is a 30 mercury long shaft on a 4.2 forward steet runa bout. when i took delivery new from thedealer the motor is sitting on the second hole.from bottom. Do they set this to the correct position for this set up or do i need to play around with it? When running nearly at full throttle, the spray is coming of from about one third of a boat length rom the bow? Does this sound rigt.
    Jewie

Re: correct trim

sounds right, i think, it's a bit hard to visualise. depends on a lot stuff, height of cavitation plate, angle of transom. did u say fwd steering? it could tend to take a nose down attitude. play around with it and try another hole, it's only a dirty duck that swims in the same hole.

Hi Jewie, I am in Newy too. Anyhow, I was told by more than one mechanic that the cav plate should be skimming the water or just under it by no more than 1cm, while at near full revs, trimmed up proper, as in trim up to prop vent then trim back a bit. Hope this helps,. Just adjusted my 200. Made a hell of a differance.
    waykel

7dan7

hi jewie wat brand of 4.2 you got? does the 30 push it along alright?

Its a4.2 stacer sea hawk sports with a 30 lightweight Mercury. Really wanted a yamaha but advicewas go the merc for better warrnty. Still running motor in, so wont get true indication until after first service and reduce the fuel to oil ratio. She is noisier than i expected but again, need to iron out a fewbugs, stop vibrations,tighten a few things etc. From first impressions i thin it will have ample power, Had four adults in her yesterday and she got up on te plane no worries at half throttle, ; looking forward to having it serviced after 10hrs as they adjust the fuel mixture and will reduce the fule mix to 50:1 as manufacture reccomends, then she will hit max revs and give me a true feeling of what she can do.
    Jewie

7dan7

hi jewie glad to hear you are happy with your new boat. thinking of buying a similar rig when i sell my current boat. tossing up whether to put a 40 or 30 on the back sometimes i might have the girl + kids + a esky with me. when you said 4 adults how much weight do you reckon?
    ive heard the motors are a bit noisey, is it a problem?

dan

Just sold my 4.2 sea hawk with 40hp big merc (60 with smaller carbs, 3 cyl 976cc)

Would do 31mph or 50km/hr with just me in it. With 4 on board still on plane ok, but weight distribution critical, also only bout 25mph.

Good little boat, just needed more space and grunt, the 40 would pull kids / wife in biscuit but they are progressing to skis etc.
    Bit smokey too for my liking trolling, but all in all fairly good all rounder, I just used on dams, never outside

I would say go for max hp you can get/afford, but then again maybe not good advice from a guy who cant possibly live with less than the plate says I can have as max hp Bit of a revhead

Glad to answer any further ?? on this boat / setup

Rgds

Ron

7dan7

hi ron
    thanks for reply, have ordered a 4.2 stessco runabout. they have 3mm bottom + 1980 beam + the best price for that type of boat. am saving for a motor probably go for a 40hp tohatsu 2cyl cheapest i have seen + 3yr wrnty. bigger is obviously better but i dont have much room + prices just keep getting bigger. will be using it in the bay on good days, wondering if you had yours in small chop about 10-15kts? how does it ride?
    this pic is of the 445 dimensions the same except longer than the 4.2