Welcome to Ausfish - Nice Boat!! Just need some fish now...........
nice rig cliffo,
i took notice of the yaltas at the SC boatshow also. they seemed like very good value for money rigs. canopy looks excellent. happy boating.
steve
Welcome to Ausfish - Nice Boat!! Just need some fish now...........
top looking rig there very nice indeed
Nice boat. bet you feel like a kid with a new toy--- know I did when I got my baby.
May she bring you heaps of fun and heaps of fish.
Ronnieh
Gee they are a nice looking rig........................i presume they perform as well as they look?
Cheers everyone
Az - I'll let ya know, will prob be going outside on saturday, may get a bit bumpy in the arvo
Cliffo
Very nice looking rig, look after her and she will look after you
Just a question did you consider a 4 stroke ? What made you decide to go a 2 stroke.
Nice boat Cliffo,
I've just got back from fishing at Quobba Station up North WA. Worth the 10Hr drive from Perth. Got any clues to fishing spots close off shore around Perth? Did you go after any cray's while you were over here?
Hey Goldfish , been up too Quobba many times, used to go to Red Bluff For 2 weeks at a time, awesome place.
Never had much luck close in around Perth, for bigger fish anyway but could always fet a bucket full of big fat whiting
to about 40cm in 30m of water off Ocean Reef, and always got a good feed of squid at the first reef just north of Mindarie
Marina about 1km out. If you can get to Lancelin I've got a very reliable source of Pink Snapper and Dhufish thats pretty
close to shore in 12 to 14 m of water. If your interested i'll let you know where, what size boat have you got? Where in Perth are you?
Great White, thats the motor that came with the package and the budget plus I kind of like the lack of technology in a trusty old 2 stroke
Cliffo
Damn - another member with my next boat . Where are you Graeme - It's only a matter of time before Gawby sees this post I bet .
G'day Cliffo, awesome site you have infiltrated here.
i too like the yalta's, look like a genuine man's boat, even the older models like Hagar's, never heard a bad word.
What i am interested in is is the probs you had w/ your old 22ft half-cab.
I am sure everyone has had their own boating disasters or purchased a second hand boat that wasn't quite the bargain it appeared to be and ended up costing a bucket load more than you thought (myself included!!).
I am wondering if you would mind sharing w/ us what made that particular rig a such a nightmare,(maybe in a new thread?).
deiter
Give a man a fish, and he'll eat for a day. But ,flogging him into submission will result in him taking up crabbing.... and once he gets a taste of that sh*t, well, he may never return again.
Hey Deiter
Man What didn't go wrong with that boat. It was a 22ft Swiftcraft Half Cabin late 70's model, the hull itself was excellent, big, solid and tough as boots.
Problem was really just a bodged up schitty old mercruiser. Turned out the guy I bought it off rebuilt the leg by himself and put the seal between the top and bottom gearbox in upside down or something, ended up with bottom gearbox full of water and some very burnt gears and a $2500 bill.
Then noticed a very subtle noise coming from the donk (Ford 302 V8) but couldn't pick what the hell it was. went on for a while then one day while 10 mile out it wouldn't start, wouldn't even turn over. After $150 tow from coast guard left it out the front on trailer for a month or so very pi$$ed off.
Eventually had a look at it, took the spark plugs out and turned it over and out shot all these streams of water. engine was totally hydrauliced with salt water. The exhaust ports in one of the heads had corroded through the water jacket and filled the whole thing up with salt water.The noise I could hear was water sizzling inside the exhaust manifold. $5000 bill.
I whacked the trailer with a hammer one day and the hammer went straight through the drawbar, $2500 for new trailer
Driveshaft Gimbal Bearing $800. Do you want me to stop now????
The Frustrating thing was that I had the boat checked by a Marine Mechanic and it was all good, Just one of those things i suppose, now I just put it down to experience, and this time around I was fortunate enough to have the money to buy a new boat and I feel very lucky that that was possible.
Now I've got a great new boat and don't owe a cent on her to boot
ha ha ha, sorry mate, i shouldn't laugh coz i am in a similar boat (parden the pun) at the moment, only on a smaller scale.
i do think thou that the lessons i have learnt while in possession of my current rig will be priceless when making future boat purchases. i can't help myself with boats, its a disease i think.
glad to hear you are happy with the yalta, and being a new boat, any gremlins will be covered under warrenty. that peice of mind is worth a million bucks on the water.
just hope you get to enjoy this good spell of weather
deiter
Give a man a fish, and he'll eat for a day. But ,flogging him into submission will result in him taking up crabbing.... and once he gets a taste of that sh*t, well, he may never return again.
G'day Cliffo,
I live in Tuart Hill at the moment and building in Landsdale. I've got a 4.75m half cab at the moment but trying to source another motor as the old merc 50hp has given up. Love to try the spot in Lancelin once the motors replaced.
Hey cliffo,
I dont think you will ever regret buying a new rig.
Owned a few old ones myself in the past, sold the lot and bought a TABS 5.7m ally plate. Best thing I ever did. You turn the key it goes. The sounder works, radios are clear and loud and whats even better is that people look at it and say sh-t hot boat thats what I want, and while their saying it we are doing it. Bloody nice boat good fishing and tight lines.
suttos