Ramp mayhem

Thread: Ramp mayhem

Ramp mayhem

Just a wee gripe I thought I'd air.

On Sunday I with 10,000 others headed out from the GC Seaway to the 24s with my seven year old mate beside me. Had a really great day and passing whales made my son's day as well. Caught a feed.

Returning to the Grand ramp around 1:30pm found it chocka with three boats on the beach waiting for pick-ups. As the car park was full when I left at 7am I parked a good way up the road so had to leave my little mate to hold the 16ft'er off the sand and rocks...which he usually does very well.

When I returned to the ramp queue I saw a man obviously helping my son hold the boat, a pair of shoes on the footpath and rolled up trousers indicated he wasn't a boatie. I left the Rangie in the queue to check if all was well, turned out some hoons had been roaring past the ramp at high speed and the wake almost forced my boat and its young attendant high onto the sand!

I know there was an offshore race earlier and this must have brought out the idiots as attendences to a track grand prix does.

One can only marvel at the stupidity and lack of thought some clowns have, both on the water and the road. Anyway, thanks for listening.

Happy fishing chaps.

Brent

Re: Ramp mayhem

Yep.

Good to see someone stopped to help the skipper to be.

I had a similar thing happen last week I was approaching a ramp (in a river where the whole area is a no wash zone) where an elderly gentleman had backed his vehicle down the ramp to retrieve his tinny but the wash of a goose comming from the other direction had washed it off the bank and out into the middle of the river. He was contemplating swimming after it as he was taking off his shirt as I rounded the bend. Now this river is just South of Cairns so there are plenty of Snapping HandBags around.

I simply grabbed his tinny on the way past and returned it to Shore for him didn't take long but should not have been necessary. I am always happy to help but it is unfortunate when someone elses ignorance to speed in our waterways is to blame.

Happens all too often.

Fez

Hey Bonka, That ramp near the Grand Hotel is a F@@kwit magnet, as is the channel in front of it. I usually use the ramp behind the southport pool. You can get a park up till about 6.30 this time of year. If this doesn't work for you suggest you try Loders Creek or Ray St at Biggera Waters where the need top be able to reverse a trailer keeps most of the knobs away.

gogecko

I wont use the Grand ramp for obvious reasons. I use the seaworld dve ramp next to VMR. Its a breeze.

Ausfish Premium Member SCOTTYGC's Avatar

i stay well clear of the grand hotel ramp and use the Loaders creek ramp or the quite one up past the runaway bay marina

i drove past the grand ramp on saturday it was so busy there that cars with boat trailers were up all the side streets

i did notice some jet skis at the ramp
    i thought they were banned from using that ramp and the one on biggera creek?

scotty

jim_farrell

I find a better angle on the seaworld ramp, just don't like it for night fishing.

real idiots in the world

Hey all,

a bloke in a 5 meter plus half cab tinnie went thru the marina at Horizon shores on Saturday afternoon at about 10 knots. not quite planing but with enough of a wake to do some serious damage as he passed the refueling point.

Luckily I put out a couple of extra fenders when I went up to pay for my fuel. Not so lucky was my three year old son who hit his head when this idiot went past. My wife reacted as quickly as she could after my 5 yo boy said that the boat approaching was going too quick (even 5 year olds have more commen sense) but could not prevent him from hitting his scone. All ended up ok but the little fellow was pretty shaken up.

Must say i was very impressed with the staff at HS particularly Kel for sorting this turkey out. Kel is not the biggest bloke around but he was giving this turkey plenty by the time I showed up . I almost felt sorry for him when I introduced myself and explained ,in a non physical way, the error of his ways. >

The bloke didn't really give a rats at the end of the day. Believe me I had to count to 10 more than once.

Alex

I hope that this person is not a member on this site

Dont worry guys, there are idiots everywhere,
    I struggle to use our local ramp in Ballina without having to tell some idiot to slow down as they come down the creek. Sometimes they listen (like they didn't know), sometimes they just give me the finger & keep going.

I was one of the people using the ramp behind Seaworld on Sunday. We came to the ramp about 1 o'clock. Couple of boats in que but nothing to bad when all of a sudden it sounded like there was a jet plane about to land on the back of my boat. I looked up to see one of the offshore power boats (one of the bigger ones with the big inboard diesels) heading towards the ramp at damn near full speed. I could not believe this idiot as there were small boats everywhere. He was not very popular with anyone at the ramp at the time believe you me.

marlinqld

Some idiots just shoiuldnt be allowed near boats or water

Ausfish Platinum Member StevenM's Avatar

Makes you wonder'...bloody wally's everywhere...but i will not use the Grand ramp anymore...just too many wally's there

Steven

Fairly typical story Bonka as sen by the other posts..
    Biggera Creek ramp is good for little fellas as not many larger vessels go past and the wash is minimal..
    just be aware of an old concrete post still in the concrete approx 2.5mt on the western side of the ramp if you have a glass boat and hit this it could be ugly.
    Murks