Recreational boat race
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Recreational boat race

Recreational boat race

How about a boat race Brisbane to Townsville all boats are eligible.
    Cats would get a start eg they could start from Rocky.
    Blaze would have a start as he would have to leave from Tassie.
    All monos start from Brisbane.
    Have all sponsors to fork out the prize money and to be fair i will not enter as it would be no contest as i would like to give everyone a chance of winning.
    Cooky is not eligible.

Troy

Re: Recreational boat race

No bites
    Troy

Baits getting a bit old troy, fresh stuff always gets the better bites

Cheers and beers
    "Mystique" Haines Signature 580BR with 175 of Mr Suzuki's finest ponies

Finished! Where were ya troy?

G'day Troy,

It just goes to show that soft plastics (like your boat) just arent good bait ...

Even a cat couldnt be bothered to touch it

Argle you do not need fresh bait to lure a pussy.
    Already caught two.
    Dfox forgot about you and i might have to handicap you a bit less as you come up this way a bit.
    As for you Grand Marlin i offered to keep my cruisey out of it to be fair but seing you are drooling i will enter but i will only use my auxiliary.
    As for soft plastics the thickness of the hull on my cruisey is at least 20 ml.
    Tested her against our air sea rescue 28 ft pussy and made it look for milk.
    Troy

funny you mention that troy (the race) as there was to be a rally type race from vic to tassie down past flinders island. Boats were to be from 6m +, 5k entry fee. The nature3 of it was to navigate to certain waypoints in set times. dont know if it ever got up though.

Blaze
    All jokes aside something like you mentioned would be great even have one in Brisbane and get all the boat dealers and fishing mags and [fuel companies] as sponsors and it would be entertaining and good for the boating industry
    Troy

Quote Originally Posted by troy
    Tested her against our air sea rescue 28 ft pussy and made it look for milk.
    Troy
    Thats good to hear Troy, did you notice it was still tied to the Wharf??

You Cruisey will be heaps quicker than my cat at the moment ... all I have powering her is a set of oars

bad enough rowing a 12 foot tinnie let alone a bloody great pussy, eh pete

Ausfish Gold Member

In case this idea gets legs,may pay to check the insurance small print.
    I thought some insurers frown on racing.

Just may need extra cover/premiums.
    Seabug

Take a word of advice, dont even think about pushin a pussy with oars or anything else for that, it'll only end up in heartache and divorce

Do you know why the glass is 20mm?? Any thinner when it SLAMSdown on the ocean and it would split!!

Race to Townsville from Brissie, You would be PULPby Breaksea!! They would hose you out through the scuppers.

Oooh my ribs hurt!
    Alcohol doesn't agree with me, but i sure do enjoy the argument!!!

Pete.
    Finnaly went for my second ride in a cat and it was the one mentiond above.
    It was not glass conditions but light seas and it seemed to me that it was trying to track by its self and i asked the skipper if he was doing this as he seemed to be over steering and he said and i quote [ they are a pain in the arse in slight seas.]
    Is this a fair comment.
    Troy

What we called it was the Pacific 1000 But Townsville was just an unimportant stopover on the way from Cairns to the Goldcoast Real men, real boats, real sponsers and the monos usually finished the trip by road