how many people still fish like this

Thread: how many people still fish like this

how many people still fish like this

on friday I hooked the little tinnie up to go for a fish, NO SOUNDER, NO GPS. I only went to a local eastury system and did a bit of trolling for a feed of pan size Aussie salmon (got a couple for a feed). Made a comment while peacefully trolling about with a 2 stroke 9.9 johno (20 year old) with the 12 foot brooker(also 20 years old) that this is what I remember of what it was like to fish 20 years ago, had to be one of the most peaceful days I have had for a while, no trying to get on marks or trying to find that perfect drop off, just me and a mate against the fish and the elements

Re: how many people still fish like this

Sounds perfect blaze. Just like poppa taught dad and dad taught me, and how I'll teach my kids. Think like the fish would and you shall find them hey.

Its too easy nowadays to fish with todays technology, more like going catching.
    Cheers - Paul

hussy

sounds like me before gps ,graphite, flourocarbon,braid, soft plastics,scented of course, tosser rods(dont have to mention brands and offend someone) hi tech berly,spotters ,brownies bloody fishing report ,shit hot ball bearing reels,electric motors,deep cycle batterys ,tru turn hooks,wide veiw sounders, four stroke obs,etc, god i wish i still fished like you, i would be catching more fish, with less effort. hubby.
    ps and no music while fishing

Mate I still fish like that [drown bait?].12ft dehavilland and a 6hp got a 15 to put on now.But does the job, got other things to spend money on, 4 kids, but I got a boat for now.I'll get something flashier one day.That's if there's any space left on the water.And if I dont murder my eldest for bringing his mobile when we are supposed to be fishing Bleep Bleep I hate that F#*%^ thing.

G'day Blaze,

My GrandFather and Father refused to buy a depth sounder ... they always said you dont need them if you know how to fish. (lakes and estuaries)

We used to fish for Bream a lot as kids in the Scamander River.
    GrandFather used to tell us where the deep holes were (found by noticing it took longer to get the sinker to the bottom)

He knew where all the logs were (found by getting snagged)

He knew where the Eels lived (never fish there he said)

He knew what the occasional opening of the sand bar meant to the fish, he knew what certain amounts of rain did to the fish ... and above all he always knew where to find the fish.

When I bought my first boat, I installed a Fuso 405 sounder.

I had always wondered how accurate GrandFather was, so I checked all his theories with the sounder.

And yes, he was right ... on all counts.

You know when you are a kid and you are told not to do something ... that feeling of curiosity that stays with you forever ... well it was still with me, so I decided to fish the "never fish there" hole where the Eels apparently lived.

You will never guess the outcome

touche' Blaze!!!

Technology can take the fun out of it...

But there were more fish around back then too...was that when Mathusela was a lad or Adam a boy????

><((((º>.¸.•'´¯)

Life is a mystery to be lived, not a problem to be solved, Gabriel Marcel

I do, I have a 12' fiberglass boat ( no brand name) with a 9.9 Johno on the back looks as rough as guts, both the boat and motor, but goes like the clappers paid $700 from a bloke here on Ausfish. There nothing better than flotting around in the peace and quite. I would post a pic but it is to ugly to take a photo of
    Aussiefool
    Rainbow Trout is NOT skittle flavoured fish.........

We used do until a few months ago. We had an old sea-al 3.5m tinny, worst paint job you will ever see on a boat. We also had the old 9.9 johno(currently for sale in the for sale section), it was enjoyable, allways thought about buying a sounder and gps but figured not really worth it on a $900 dollar boat especially with the intention of upgrading in the next few years. Since my folks decided it was time to renovate the house we decided to sell the boat to make room for all she sh!t you get when renovating. Hope to get a new tinny around the end of the year.

cheers jono

p.s i have a pic somewhere, I'll have a look for it and post a pic.

Quote Originally Posted by aussiefool
    I would post a pic but it is to ugly to take a photo of

C'mon andrew, can't be that bad. Lets see her
    Cheers - Paul

Blaze
    My parents did it this way all there lives and they used to take me with them every Saturday and it used to p..s me off but they caught heaps of fish like Golden Grunter average around 10 pounds.
    I still do it my tinny just me and the cook no sounders or gps but admit i do not catch much.
    In my parents days you would not believe how good fishing was in those times but it is all different today.
    Troy

Quote Originally Posted by phewy
    [quote author=aussiefool link=1154163625/0#6 date=1154217450] I would post a pic but it is to ugly to take a photo of

C'mon andrew, can't be that bad. Lets seer her [/quote]

Ok I'll take a photo later today but if I get yellow carded for such an ugly boat I'll be ticked off

Aussiefool

Ausfish Gold Member

Fished the bay .bribie passage .coochin .caloundra etc in the 60s with my future father in law and it was all done on sight .line this up with that and thats the spot .drinking all the way then the pub crawl home with the chaff or sugarbag full off fish. Them were the days cant do it now .
    cheers Terry
    Cheers Tezza

ok here you go my pride and joy...... hey it's a fishin' boat remember not a show pony

Yes sometimes the best things are 'nutting things out" by yourself, now I am not against Technology but I sort of wonder where we are heading long term, just try this, ask someone arond 18 to 20 years old what a friends phone number is, most have not got a clue because they have it stored in their mobile phoneand never ring from "memory" or just look around a local shopping centre and every second person is blindly texting on their phone, next time you are out fishing with a younger generation member what the landmarks are for a such and such spot, hhmm same answer, have a look at the GPS, now this is not wrong but I sort of think we are losing our basic instict to "smell the roses" my father came from a long line of fishermen/persons and he could tell you not only places by landmarks but also what type of bottom was there, (they found it with a bell shaped gizmo filled with soap, they would lower it to the bottom and "dong" it up and down then pull it up and see what was stuck to it! over the years their "memory bank was a "Pentium 4" full of info, even Navigating at night was never a drama, trips up and down the coast where common events.

Hi Aussiefool
    mate that makes one of my old boats look like floatin motel, it was an old 14 foot ply boat with a 45hp chrysler. The transom was held in by sikaflex and nails, every time she look a bit weak I would slap another bit of timber in and a bit my sexaflex and a couple more nails. Kept it floatin for a couple years like that.