ally craft- owners please respond

Thread: ally craft- owners please respond

jason_snappa

ally craft- owners please respond

Hello all ausfishers,
    Well the old boy has retired, and he wants to trade the 18ft cruise craft Rambler for something he and mum can handle easier. I know what ypou are all saying ... dont trade the Rambler!!! but his mind is made up and who am i to argue for an endless supply of freah whiting fillets, compliments of the old man.
    So we are looking at the 4.8 ally craft reef raider, so i can still go snapper fishing.
    What can people tell me? I have heard some stories of cracking etc, but are these any worse than normal for a pressed ally hull?
    I am also interected in the sea keeping of the thing, its beamy, but how does it go in a bit of good old Moreton Bay chop?
    I await your collective replies.

see ya on the brine

axel

marlinqld

Re: ally craft- owners please respond

Gday Axel

I have the 5.1mt Reef Prince Centre Console. It has a 75hp Mariner on the back, 2 stroke. ( see pic below )
    The whole rig was bought brand new in Decenber 2003. I bought it off last december 2005.

I couldn't be happier with the boat, motor in fact the whole package.

Never had a leak, take the bungs out when i get home never any water in her except in a decent sea when it sprays over the side.
    No cracks to be seen after 2 1/2 years. Previous owner never had any repairs done or needed.

You're right they are very beamy and i love that part. Mine handles the bay chop without raising a sweat mate. Handles it well, and safely. Being a centre console they are a little on the wet side but you expect that when you buy them.
    Mine has 110lt in floor tank, dual batteries with isolator, bait well with electric pump, GPS sounder radio, bimini top, under floor storage in the bow, transom ladder yada yada yada...... you get the pic looking at the photos. Please feel free to Pm me anytime if you have any other questions about Ally Craft.... i swear by mine for performance safety in all wyas.

marlinqld

nice beam.......................

marlinqld

again

marlinqld

one last one, scooting cross a galssy bay

i bought an allycraft reef king 535. a bit underpowered with a 75 yammie can only sit on 23knots. but will change to a 4stroke very soon anyway. what i like about the boat is the beam is 2.40. i have been in some rough water and handles it well. daniel

well i cant say that the ally craft range of boats will set the world alight but they do serve a purpose. As far as bay travels are concerned, the boat should be okay. dont get the open style boat, go for the enclosed transom. My old man has the kakadu carrier which doesnt have a motor pod\transom but a small splashwell and an open back. Its 5.25 long and powered by a 60hp yammie four stroke. Whilst it does over 25knots the boat is very slow to plane and doesnt have the out of the hole power you hope for. It is very wet, and bangs when the wind gets up. due to the rather wide bow which does little to deflect or keep the spray down. The old man paid 22 grand for his new with sounder and bimini, but bought a GPS and radio on top of that. He has since converted the side console to a centre console using the existing console, and whilst he has been to warregoes from burnett heads in it. It still isnt really designed for those sorts of travels.

Bay travels the boat would be fine, as well as estuary and impoundment fishing. Yes you can take it offshore but dont expect a soft ride. As far as crackins concerned the old man has already had to have one crack welded. Towards the front of the bow next to the keel. When he bought the boat the factory decided the self draining anchor well should have gaps everywhere in it so that it would drain into the boat. If you intend on ally craft just make sure you thoroughly check out the boat first to make sure that its up to scratch. And demand a water test. the dealer that sold the boat to my old man put a prop on their which would only allow the motor to run at 4400 rpm WOT and the yammies rev range at wot was more 5500 to 5800 or there abouts. it did improve the planing somewhat.

hope this helps

andrew

I only have a 3.95 avalon and i have owned plenty of tinnies and i would put this one up near the top.
    For a tinny rides well.
    Troy

go the stacer

jason_snappa

Thanks guys, it is all very interesting reading. I always reckon its better to get the word from someone who has been there and done that, than from a salesman or glossy brochure. The pictures were a nice touch as well.
    Yes we will be doing a water test, hopefully in 15 - 20 knots (if the salesman is game that is), and i will look out for the leaking anchor well.

cheers all
    Axel

I have a 435 top ender..am happy with it..no problems at all. As for cracks in hulls and welds you need to have a look at how the boat has been tortured before the cracks appeared....i would recommend an ally craft

I've had the 4.55 Bay Raider for 5 years. Can't fault it - in fact - very happy with it. Like Pinhead says - you need to see how people have handled any boats that have cracked. I've seen my share of cracked Quinny hornets from hard driving and they are supposed to be the ants pants.

very wet boats, they pound alot becuase of the beam(but this is typical of any tinnie)but due to this they are very seaworthy in a big sea. we had a 5.35 cc always used itr offshore, anywhere to 55nm out to sea and had her in over 35knots quite a few times. only ever cracked the centre consloe(1.6mm thick) from 3 people hanging on trying to follow a 40foot cat in rough seas.......we couldn't keep up and were pushin her to hard. couldn't fualt the hull with 4mm stitch welded bottoms.we did over 500hrs in offshore wheather.

ty

Axel

Sounds like the move from frp will get you and all others wet and promote a sore back. The boat appears to have all the features of the old 525 stacer that a mate had. It was ok to travel in 9for me) as I always got as far back as I could in the stern while the mate got to drive. Very wet and uncomfortable in any sort of chop, murder at sea and mates had ops on both knees from the pounding that didn't help old footy injuries.

Why would you want to get a shorter boat and move out of glass esp if your carrying a little age?

Good luck but there is probably a better way to go

What could go wrong.......................

jason_snappa

It seems it raincoats and kidney belts allound !!
    Yes chimo i am a GRP man as well, and the Rambler owes us nothing. Dad bought her in 1984. Since then its been a new outboard and new trailer. She was hard too, Cruisecrafts did and still do carry their beam a long way forwards, but they are tough.
    I remember as a younger lad seeing mum getting dragged across the ramp at Manly, as a stiff northerly caught the ample canopy and half cabin and she refused to let go.
    I am sure everyone could attest that a 4.8 centre console will be a lot more user friendly at the ramp than the 18ft cruisey. and i dont think the old boy is worried about my back, he's retired, he can wait till its flat!!!
    All points taken guys, thanks again for the input.

Axel