How does your rig go? - Page 2
Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: How does your rig go?

Re: How does your rig go?

Signature 650F with a 225 Suzuki 4 stroke, top speed 5900 rpm 39 knots on the GPS cruise at 3600 rpm for 21- 22 knots fast cruise 4200 rpm 26-27 knots. Fuel usage is fairly constant across the cruise speeds at 1.1-1.2 litres per nautical mile. It is interesting to see the differant way that people measure fuel consumption. I like to measure the distance travelled for the fuel used as this is a true measurement for the distance travelled. To quote per engine hour is not that accurate if a lot of trolling is involved or just idling around looking for a bottom feature etc.

465 mangrove 60 hp merc 4 st efi usally around40 ks sitting on 4000 rpm step it up to 55oorpm & YOU GET50ks.. wot bloody fast .feul burn on a trip last weekend moolabah to cal 12 ml then to the 7 ml then to the 5ml then to bray rock and back to moolooabah was around 20lts .im more than happy with the feul and most of the guys i take fishing are more than happy with the share at the bowser. cheers barfly

g'day barfly,
    I gotta say, 50kn in a 15.5' alloy would be a bit scary, even for some of the supermen that get around on here

you ever thought of takin her offshore racing?
    Give a man a fish, and he'll eat for a day. But ,flogging him into submission will result in him taking up crabbing.... and once he gets a taste of that sh*t, well, he may never return again.

thats kiliometrs per hour i can change the gps to knots but i like the kkms better ,sounds faster ,feels faster.-but when you put the hammer down it does feel a bit like one of those offshore racers but only wetter. cheers barfly

30 honda on quintrex 420 dory, dont have any official figures but it goes more than fast enough when flat chat, can pull a tube with a 95kg adult and with two adults and to kids fishing a day at the pin will cost me an average of 5-7 litres of fuel.

12' horizon, 9.9 2banger merc which is a 2000 model. WOT at 35kph, cruise aboujt 30kph. For a 1/2 day covering 60km, 90%of the time at 95% throttle used 10L of juice. 6km/litre isn't too bad @ all
    PRECISION DETAILING
    For all your MARINE DETAILING needs
    www.precisiondetailing.com.au

virgil_53

hi, new boy on the block. looking at a stacer 460, 1yr old. 40 hp merc on board. could it be under powered? seen same with 70 hp. around same $ ,about $16000.very clean rig.

Last week we went to the northern banks and launched at Mooloolaba, with the new rig, 19ft center cab with 2006 140hp four stroke Johnson.

On the way to the banks we were averaging speeds of 50/60km/h @ 4000rpm with 3 people, we went to the northern banks, then went another 10k's past the banks looking for new ground, went back and forth heaps of times, did alot of passes over good reefs. So before we left for home we had calculated we did around 70km and had another 47km to get back to shore.

On the way home we thought we wouldnt have enough fuel to get us back, but we did, our main fuel tank is only 58ltrs and we travelled 117km (which the GPS showed) and we still had fuel left in the tank when we returned to shore to our suprise , I think we used up around 50ltr for 117km which is awsome, money well spent with this engine. I think the boat being a center cab and alot lighter then other 19ft boat helped as well.

On a previous test run in the bay the boat with 3 people fully loaded did just under 100km/h @ 6000rpm

virgil 40 hp seems a little underdone my 465 has a 60 hp 4 stoker and wouldnt want anything smaller on it.cheers barfly

virgil53, 40hp does sound little under. the standard new 469 stacer comes with a 50hp, and is $22790.
    i tested a 489 with a 75hpmerc on friday. small chop along front broadeater and at 5000revs i was going 35mph ( 58klms) prob could get more once i learn how to trim properly. prob get about 45mph wot at 5800 revs, which it tops i believe.

Broome_Fisho

Hey Astro, any chance of some pics of the Centre Cab!!
    Love to see the set up , got a 5.8 Centre Console with a 150 Honda with a 160lt tank that gets figures similar but not the speed your getting at the revs you say.
    Next Boat is going to be a Centre Cab,{ drier than a C/C} was thinking Trail Craft , but now leaning towards the Fisher boats that I have seen Col put up on here .

Eddy

Hey Eddy, Here are some pics mate

Its a very light boat and i think a 90hp would have been perfect, but having that extra power of the 140 is always good

G'day Astro

Nice rig, where do they come from? Is it self draining or is there a bung behind the OB leg, hard to see in the pic. You'll have a lot of fun in that.

Hi gelsec

Yeah it is a self draining deck, i think you can see in the pics the round black ports on the side of the boat, also has a 80ltr kill tank in the middle of the boat we use as a live bait tank, and we have noticed when in rough weather and kill tank is full of water it stabalizes the boat a bit better, but once driving we have to empty it out, otherwise the boat dosnt go as good because its draging that 80ltrs of water in the hull.

Top rig Astro, great fishing boat setup!!
    Mate what is the weight of your hull?? & 1 more, what pitch prop she run?