I gots me a 17L, 1 pic, more to come

Thread: I gots me a 17L, 1 pic, more to come

I gots me a 17L, 1 pic, more to come

Some of you would know I was chasing a Haines V17, originally after a 17C as I thought an L might be a bit pricey for me. Traveled to Brisbane on the weekend (900kms each way) to have a looksee at one and brought her home She's all solid and pretty tidy, a few small marks here and there but you would expect that at her age. She's got a 1990 model 135hp Merc Black Max on her with 300hrs, I have a few questions about this motor but I'll get to that in another post. Trailer is all in good nick, having not long been rebuilt, brakes and all.

I have a few things to add to her, new furuno sounder, live bait tank and some offshore safety gear will be ordered next week. GPS will have to wait a few weeks but won't be far away.

Looking forward to taking her out and bringing some fish over the side, for sure.

Here is one pic taken on the way home, I'll try to get some more on the weekend.

Thanks.

Re: I gots me a 17L, 1 pic, more to come

Nice looking girl there Dave,

Hard to go past the V17's, I must say your pretty keen to travel 1800K's, but I suppose I travelled from Bris to Syd to pickup my boat too.

Good luck and enjoy mate.

Light travels faster than sound, that's why some people seem Bright ...... untill they speak

boat_1

Good to see Dave, i saw that one listed for sale, looks good. Took mine for an experimental run in The Brisbane river today, seemed to handle the little swell ok & not too bad at rest. Will be getting the motor looked at this week before venturing outside, may have a damn gearbox problem.

All the best,
    Andrew.

congratulations dave - top boat.
    i looked for a long time to find my 17C, and when i eventually found it dad and i travelled mackay - brisbane - mackay in 1 weekend to bring it back. as you can see we did a project conversion to CC with it.
    they are as good as everyone says with their ride.
    steve

nice rig dave hope ya catch heaps

Ausfish Platinum Member griz066's Avatar

2 nice rigs there
    Tight lines <*)(((((((((><

Thanks guys,
    Steve, there was one for sale up your way that had been turned into a centre console, thought about, but really wanted a little more protection as i intend on doing a few overnighters in it. Not a huge amount of room in the bunks, but should be able to sleep ok, just (I'm 6'3" or thereabouts). Should be able to take her for a dip in the salt in a few weeks, so will look forward to that. Going to try and get her in to Fairbairn Dam this weekend to have a play, If I can find somewhere the Falcon can get her back out of

Andrew, best of luck with your gaerbox dramas, hope it turns out ok. And thanks for helping me in my search.

Thanks again.

Good onya Dave and welcome to the V17's club mate.

I'm sure you'll be more than impressed with her. I know i am with mine.

Look forward to some more pics of her.

And Skippa whats even more amazing is that you drove all the way to Sydney to buy a Southwind
    It's FULLY SIC man

Took her for a run in Fairbairn today, crossed a few wakes and stuff, impressive. She cruises nicely, 25 knots at around 3500rpm, tops out at about 38 knots according to the speedo, not sure how accurate that is, will have to wait for the gps to find out. She does get a little bit of a lean to the port side at speed, not sure if this is just prop torque or not. The sounder transducer has been mounted on the starboard side, angled down and surrounded by a heap of silicone, makes a big flat area angled down from the hull, maybe this is acting as a kind of trim tab on that side causing the lean. I will probably remove the silicone and see if it makes a difference. The transducer will be coming off in a week or so anyway, to meke way for the new furuno. The V6 merc starts first hit of the key and runs like a champion. All in all, happy and can't wait to give her a salt bath

Thanks.

Daniel_Trenfield

How much coin for that sort of rig?

Hey Dantren,
    Paid 12k for this one, have seen a few around for 13,500. The half cab, V17C, can be picked up a bit cheaper I think. These V17's are in demand though so you really have to be quick to get the good ones. I missed a couple before this one.

g'day dave, i've got a 135 like yours but a 93 model. it starts awesome when cold at the ramp and then once it's warm it'll start up again nicely if it stays warm. however if i go somewhere and leave it for a while and it cools down it gets hard to start. have you had this issue at all yet? i'm clutching at straws here but i'm keen to find someone with this motor who can help me find the knack of starting it easily. thanx john.

Hey John,
    Have not taken it out for a decent run yet, just mucking around at the dam. Have not had to start it after warmed up and then cooled down, but will let you know. It starts very easily when cold and even better when warm, wouldn't think the starter even does 1 revolution and shes away.

mate that's awesome. mine takes a couple of goes when cold but once warm it starts instantly. it's just when it cools down again it's driving me insane not knowing how to make it start straight away. thanks for the reply and let us know how ya go when ya take it for a longer run. they're great motors, very primitive and bulletproof apparently.

Do you try pumping the fuel back up first? apparently the fuel drains/evaporates from the carbies fairly quickly when left sitting for a bit.