Page 13 of 43 FirstFirst ... 34567891011121314151617181920212223 ... LastLast

Thread: White Ants in the Play-Pen

Re: White Ants in the Play-Pen

Hi Guys, fantastic effort. I almost feel guilty that I havn't come over to help out in tru Aussie spirit.

You could sell your story to one of the boating mags.

Where did you get the Stainless steel staples? I've chasing some of these for ages.

Cheers Mark

Darryl

Sorry i'm late Bev but have been watching your rebuild. Well done.

Meet and greets on in 25/26th at Blakelys, tell Ross to get his ass into gear.

Darryl.

Figjamm

Quote Originally Posted by mark221263
    Hi Guys, fantastic effort. I almost feel guilty that I havn't come over to help out in tru Aussie spirit.
    Awww, thanks Mark but honestly, most the time it's a one man, one gopher job.... one man in the boat and one gopher on the outside fetching, passing, delivering coffees or beers and giving opinions

Must also give some credit here to our fibreglassing mate who calls in a couple of times a week to check our progress, and is only a phone call away if we have a question. He was here to set the stringers in the bog.... so his fault if the floor isn't straight

He'll be here tomorrow for a bulk fibreglassing session, so we'll be up until all hours tonight cutting out the keel, the rest of the bulkheads, etc. and resin coating bits and pieces.... the more we have ready, the more he'll do for us, so we plan to give him plenty to do

Stainless steel staples - It took some running around, but we eventually found some at Coastal Bolts & Fasteners, Labrador, and they only had one box in stock. Most of the places we went to said they could order them in, but we didn't want to wait and risk not having them before this weekend.

--
    Bev

Figjamm

Quote Originally Posted by Crestcutter

Meet and greets on 25/26th at Blakelys, tell Ross to get his ass into gear.
    you're such a teaser!

<thinks>
    Hmmm.... the floor will be in, put the motor back on, add some steering, chuck in some safety gear and slap on some rego stickers.... oh, the temptation is great

Nah, perish the thought.... maybe we'll see you Easter weekend

Darryl

Yeah hope so Bev , at least at the end of all this you will have a new boat again, and know that she is going to last a long time.

I'm the same with my old boat, cant or wont replace her for anything. Also the cost of boats these days is insane ,so a complete rebuild is cheaper than buying a new one. Plus you get to change around things too to your liking.

Got yer stainless rod holders..............that nice bloke at SM let me have 'em for 17 bucks each.

Dieting is wishful shrinking.

Figjamm

Quote Originally Posted by kingtin
    Got yer stainless rod holders..............that nice bloke at SM let me have 'em for 17 bucks each.
    Excellent.... thanks for picking those up for us

Figjamm

Report #24

Fri - Day 26

Cut and shaped a new keel, more bulkheads,

and drilled bung holes in the outer stringers and one in the rear bulkhead for the fuel line

About 7:00 PM the week old router died! It came with a 3 year Replacement Warrenty, so off I went on an emergency trip to the closest Bunnings to swap it for a new one while Ross continued measuring and cutting.

Sat - Day 27

Time to let our fibreglassing mate start glassing this puzzle together

while Ross and I cut and shaped the bunk risers

An example of rolled and unrolled glass

The floor (underside had been resin coated earlier) was put into place while the glass was still wet and the starboard cockpit was complete.

After a quick coffee break the procedure was repeated port side

A short break for lunch, then into the cabin and cockpit middle floor.

A board was glassed under the well for the bildge pump,

and after 8 hours we called it quits for the day.

Quote Originally Posted by ColacGirl
    Report #24

Fri - Day 26

<snip>

Whatya playing at gal! There's 24 hours in a day

She's looking good...........Blakesleys might be the go yet

Dream, but always with your eyes wide open.

Bloody awesome Ross and Bev. Looking really good. This is the first thread i look for when I get on here. Have to check it out b4 anything else.

Love it keep it up hey.

It's FULLY SIC man

Even with the help of an expert its amazing what can be done quickly when two determined people get organised.For you to be this far along in the project shows co-operation and determination in spades
    My congats to both of you for the fine job so far.Just hang in there and get it finished as the little bits will take the time.
    Excellent thread too,maybe Steve will start a builders/rebuilders section
    cheers jon

Before you finish --which is a gigantic job that will be well done--- try to paint the boards with ANT-RID........ only just in case.......

Best of luck ---- she'll go better then ever before ----great determination---

Ahoj

Figjamm

Quote Originally Posted by kingtin
    [quote author=ColacGirl link=1137501549/180#187 date=1139708804]
    <snip>
    Whatya playing at gal! There's 24 hours in a day [/quote]

I know, I know, but once those fellas decided it was beer o'clock there was nothing gonna change their minds!

Day 28 ended up a lost cause - We wandered down to open the shed around 9, admired the previous days work and sat the lower sections of the cabin bulheads, which we'd prepared Friday night, in place to see how they look....

.... but after a few days of burning the midnight oil neither of us could muster up the enthusiasm to do anything else, so it was declared a day of rest.

Somehow - I had never opened this post, but tonight decided I would see what all the fuss was about. WHITE ANTS AND PLAY PENS - didn't grab me as being interested - how wrong was I ?

Bev and Ross I salute you. Kingtin, and Blaze for your comaraderie in your respective ways, and all other enthusiastic Ausfishers for your support, you too are making this possible, enjoyable and and more informative than any book, manual or DIY guide out there. (Not forgetting the glass friend)

Bev - please post a pic of your glass friend - I would like to see a pic of said glass person. "Seeing (thru glass) is believing."

Today for the very first time I have read this thread, clicked through on every link, played with the termites, terified myself as I too have a glass boat, and many flying ant hatches - at least twice a week over the last 4 weeks - laughed at the scared tinny owners, enjoyed Kev's ham and and the crabs references, LOL at Blazes continuing efforts to get the 600mm on the transom, felt silly because I too didn't know how to quote within a quote, and so much more.

You said you felt humbled by having this post compared to those of Ausfish Fame - you have nothing to be humble about - your post deserves to be there. It has all the elements of an excellent post, but mostly it is factual, and accurate and an account of a couple who love their boat and have tackled a really nasty job on their own. A story I will reference for a lifetime, in my boating years to come, and not simply me, but I am sure many others in years to come.

Thank you for sharing this - it has been an excellent thread an I am sure will continue to be so.

I have learned more and laughed much

Catchy Fishy

Yep what he said Top work and a top thread

Cheers and Beers (but only after work or on rest days )
    "Mystique" Haines Signature 580BR with 175 of Mr Suzuki's finest ponies