Hey I used to have a few glassy friends who looked similar to that.... these days I mostly stick to the real thing... Coca ColaOriginally Posted by catchy_fishy
We added extra bulkheads in the cockpit, but the cabin bulkheads are similar to before.... [/quote]Originally Posted by ColacGirl
Ok, I stand corrected! Ross tells me what came out of the cabin was only thin framework (approx. 5mm).... what we put in is 19mm.
Come on Graeme, it's only been 34 days.... you must've been going grey already and just hadn't noticedOriginally Posted by gawby
Party? [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif] Ok, Crusoe Island [smiley=balloon3.gif] Easter Sunday [smiley=balloon.gif] if we aren't there, you'll have start without us!Will have to have a big flotilla and party when done.
[smiley=whip.gif] Hurry up Ross [smiley=smash.gif] we've got a party to go to [smiley=balloon.gif] [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif] [smiley=balloon3.gif]
Day 33 - Saturday
Bogged in the ?esky?, centre cabin and bunk floors,
and glassed over them
then Ross got to relax for awhile
Day 34 - Sunday
While I had a sleep in [smiley=zzz.gif] Ross was in the shed early doing some sanding and tidying up around the bunk floors, and bogging in the cabin bulkheads.
Had to go out for awhile and we didn't have much incentive to do anything by time we got back home.... but we ended up bogging in the bunk lids and glassing in one bulkhead....
and one bunk lid.
[quote author=ColacGirl link=1137501549/225#239 date=1140338023
<snip> I haven't truly enjoyed a piece of cracklin' since I got these dern falsies! [/quote]
Thought yer bust was looking bigger, but what's that got to do with eating crackling?
Electric carving knife next on the retail therapy list. Just chopped the tip off me finger Bridget wanted me to queue in emergency for 12 hours (as if!) but I stuck it back down with steri strips and it's finally stopped bleeding after 3hrs! Here's hoping.
Prince Charles cam 4th in the Dragon Boat race btw.
You don't lose if you get knocked down, you lose if you stay down.
I tried to convince you moons ago that electrics the way to go with knives.... but did you listen? Nope, you had to learn the hard way!Originally Posted by kingtin
Well done.... sorry we weren't able to get there to cheer them on.Prince Charles came 4th in the Dragon Boat race btw.
Well i had to fly down to Tassie unexpectadly and first thing i done when i got back was check out how you guy's were going. Unbelievable the amount of work you guy's have done [smiley=tekst-toppie.gif]
You guy's are unbelievable your passion to finish the job is an inspiration to all. You'll be back on the water in no time and getting the new deck all bloody. Wish I could say the same for myself but am waiting on report from specialist to see if i need a back op .
Keep up the good work guy's as that light at the end of the tunnel must be getting bigger and brighter looking forward to future updates and I will get out to meet you soon
Cheers Phil
Grow old disgracefully
Hi Phil, I've been wondering where you'd got to.... hope all is ok with the family in Tas.... fingers crossed that you don't need to have a back op.... and yes, pop in for a visit when you get a chance.Originally Posted by Mad-One
Well, can't dilly dally around here any longer.... the boat shed awaits me
Yeah don't keep Ross waiting he needs his offsider
I'll ring before I come.
Keep them oil lamps burning
Cheers Phil
Grow old disgracefully
I tried to convince you moons ago that electrics the way to go with knives.... but did you listen? Nope, you had to learn the hard way!Originally Posted by ColacGirl
[/quote]
Stop...Kingtin watchout...Bev's female side (after your retail therapy comment) is getting to you. She is calling out for shopping kinship, its obviously getting too much - all these guys on Ausfish. Retail therapy should be all about fishing tackle and boat accessories. Carve with a blunt bait knife if you must - carefully, yes. A better solution would be to sharpen your knives.
Ever heard of a Japanese sushi chef switching to electric - no coz a knife is and always will be better, even for a joint like those you cook up.
Sorry Bev - gotta stand up for Kev on this one, even if today he is in pain, he'll get over it.
Note to self (Never admit on Ausfish that you own an electric carving knife, and most knives are blunt)
Keep it up (Ross too).
I'm still laughing and learning.
Technical question - fun aside:
Having learned much from this post i have decided to take on my first glass repair job (it is very small by comparison)
I need to redo my rod holders in the gunwhales, of my glass boat, as they (the rod holders for stowage) are collapsing. I can easily cut them to shape from plywood. I expect they should be coated in resin as you guys did (I'll check the details for catalkyst qty etc) then my issue.
Step 1 To attach it / them step 1 is to remove the old ones
Step 2 They have gelcoat painted over them - I assume I would need to sand off, down to at least the glassing underneath the gelcoat, before re-attaching. Would that suffice or would I need to go further, given that I am not redoing my entire deck and gunwhale (just the part where the rod mounts are ?
step 3. Glass in the rod holder, by painting over the "cut to size" fibre with the resin, mixed in with catalyst - allow resin to dry
step 4 - repaint with gelcoat ????
Question: How many coats of resin per sheet of fibreglass, and how does one apply the resin ? paintbrush or other applicator
Any answers anyone can help out with would be appreciated.
Hi Mike
you are pretty much on the money
tear your matting as this leaves no sharp lines or ridges when rolled in
when apply resin its not done in coats as such, the resin soaks into the matt and then rolled with a metal roller to remove air bubbles (dont roll to much as this will draw the resin to the top and you will be left with a "dry joint")
Layers depend on strenth required - 1 layer of 600g matting will end up about 1mm thick.
I will? I don't think so mate........this bloody deckie of mine has to re-dress it every day in herOriginally Posted by catchy_fishy
calm, efficient, nursey noodles manner. Plenty of knowledge, but little sympathy Re-dressing is more painful than when I first cut it......I'm bloody sure she's enjoying the whole process
We could all take a lesson from the weather. It pays no attention to criticism.
Looking good so far bev. When do you expect to finish her?
Jay.Jay
Go mighty Broncos
Go Wallabies
I tried to convince you moons ago that electrics the way to go with knives.... but did you listen? Nope, you had to learn the hard way!Originally Posted by catchy_fishy
[/quote]
Stop...Kingtin watchout...Bev's female side (after your retail therapy comment) is getting to you. She is calling out for shopping kinship, its obviously getting too much - all these guys on Ausfish. [/quote]
LOL, you don't know me very well Mike I can live without retail therapy and do quite a bit of shopping online.... just can't wait for the supermarkets to introduce on-line shopping in Qld!
That sounds exactly like my placeNote to self (Never admit on Ausfish that you own an electric carving knife, and most knives are blunt)