Thread: Rust Prevention Product (EcoLube)

Rust Prevention Product (EcoLube)

Has anyone used EcoLube Corrosionguard to prevent rust on trailers. A mate sprayed it on his. It looks similar to Lanotec but doesn't seem as tacky.

Comments from those who have experience with this product would be appreciated. I am aware of other products like Tectyl, Lanoguard and Lanotec.

PS. It's a septone product.

Re: Rust Prevention Product

I have use Penatrol, spray on product by Floods, it's been around 60 years.

I weld something spray that on it's 4 times wetter than water gets in to all the pin holes and seals in a few days, and ends up hard.
    Top coat that and no problems so far.

I also spray it on my motor it leaves a nice clear hard protective coating on my motor, no greasy slime which suits me.

But won't last more than 3 weeks if you spray the outboard leg.
    A marriage licence should be like your fishing licence!
    Expires every year and you get a 3 day pass when you go interstate.

does it dissolve in the salt water? is it environmentally friendly as the name would suggest.

what do you guys reckon about INOX on trailers? fish dont mind it on the fishingline..

cheers.

Quote Originally Posted by Roughasguts
    I have use Penatrol, spray on product by Floods, it's been around 60 years.

I weld something spray that on it's 4 times wetter than water gets in to all the pin holes and seals in a few days, and ends up hard.
    Top coat that and no problems so far.

I also spray it on my motor it leaves a nice clear hard protective coating on my motor, no greasy slime which suits me.

But won't last more than 3 weeks if you spray the outboard leg.
    Anyone used the EcoLube product?

Of the various things I've tried. on the bits that rust, motorcycle chain lube has been the one that lasts the longest.

Thanks guys. I do appreciate your opinions but there are plenty of other threads on this forum discussing the different options for rust preventative.

Anyone used the ecolube product?

Re: Rust Prevention Product (EcoLube)

Well if you want the BEST rust preventative measure for trailers? then it's simple! built the dam things out of alloy in the first place and forget about all this rust prevention rubbish, which by the way does not work.

Hot dip gal in a salt environment has a life of 8 years and it really doesn't make much difference what you put over the gal, the life will still be 8 years, this is the way it is!

Think alloy + salt water has about the same life as steel, it just corrodes instead of rusting + the added problem that if it flexes then it will fracture.
    Have seen trailers that are coated with fish oil with no rust after 4 years and dealers have told me its great as when they use a gerni it comes up like new. Think the key is to wash it and keep protection on it.

....Think alloy + salt water has about the same life as steel, it just corrodes instead of rusting + the added problem that if it flexes then it will fracture.
    Think so? When you next see a 16 year old trailer that still looks like new and carries 3 tonne it might look something like this? And no it ain't Steel!

Quote Originally Posted by Kerry
    Well if you want the BEST rust preventative measure for trailers? then it's simple! built the dam things out of alloy in the first place and forget about all this rust prevention rubbish, which by the way does not work.

Hot dip gal in a salt environment has a life of 8 years and it really doesn't make much difference what you put over the gal, the life will still be 8 years, this is the way it is!
    What has this got to do with EcoLube? Obviously you have an alloy trailer ... whoopy do for you, I don't give a rats. Seriously, if you haven't got something relevant to say please don't hijack this thread. Create another one about whatever you want to big note about.

So vermin I do appreciate that no one has responded to ECO lube.

So how about you buy it, throw it on everything, see how it goes and report back to everyone.

Quote Originally Posted by vermin
    [quote author=Kerry link=1161866024/0#6 date=1161946098]Well if you want the BEST rust preventative measure for trailers? then it's simple! built the dam things out of alloy in the first place and forget about all this rust prevention rubbish, which by the way does not work.

What has this got to do with EcoLube? Obviously you have an alloy trailer ... whoopy do for you, I don't give a rats. Seriously, if you haven't got something relevant to say please don't hijack this thread. Create another one about whatever you want to big note about.[/quote]

The best rust prevention is by design and I haven't see any product yet that will stop a steel trailer from rusting. But feel free to give it a trial, report back in 8 years.

Regards, Kerry.

Ok Kerry. I'll do that ... Seeya

Roughasguts. Looks like EcoLube hasn't been around for that long. I'll take it from here and do some testing and let you know how it goes over a couple of months. (not 8 years).

No worries Vermin sounds like a plan.

Just to speed things up a bit, have you got a metal or ally number plate.

If metal clean the rust of behind the plate and give it a go over, with the Eco stuff, on the bare metal.

That ought'a test it out in no time.