Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Australian Marine Centre

Re: Australian Marine Centre

Quote Originally Posted by PinHead View Post
    I don't really care what a PO or a contract is..I know in my business now...you want the job done..I want money...before I purchase equipment to install.
    I have been stung before...to the tune of 11k plus 3k legals on the basis if a PO...never again.
    I understand
    we had a customer playing silly buggers with payment about $16000
    we had no contract no po but a signed job sheet
    It cost him $19600 for his 16000 job
    we got paid

But I understand where you are comming from Its a messy situation when you are owed money and I find the leagle tangle quite stressful when your trying to run everything else. However in 25 years of business I have only had to do this twice but I reckon thats 2 times too many.
    "light gear big fish big fun"

G'day BM,

Hell no Mate ... not referring to you in the slightest - you should know I have more respect for you than that

I simply used your "price negotiation" statement to refer to how the dodgy dealers are getting at the customer.

Price negotiation is part of business, we all do it.

The dodgy operators take an underhanded advantage of their position so as to take unfair advantage of the consigner.

Not in the slightest referring to you as dodgy... sincerest apologies if I have offended.

No worries Pete

I was scratching my head when I read the post.. and thought huh???

All cool.

I wonder where austmarine has gone??
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Quote Originally Posted by finga View Post
    I wonder where austmarine has gone??
    Too busy to read & quote!
    All i know is we sleep straight at night & have plenty of HAPPY customers.

So the answer to my previous question about standard contracts is unanswerable??
    I intend on living for-ever....so far so good

Hi guys,
    I got my current boat from them & i must say they couldnt do enough to help me, I didnt like the sounder so a new garmin was supplied at dealer price, I didnt like the motor so a new etec was fitted, new safety gear. the detailers didnt clean it well enough so the salesman climbed in & did it himself. $200.00 deposit was enough to get all this extra work started. Give them a go.

You dont have to sign the contract if you dont want to, get them to change it, there working for you your the boss

Nothing wrong with asking for a deposit. I just got burned on a car sale that probably would have gone ahead if i had taken a deposit. People are more than happy to stuff people around as long as there is no dent left in their pocket. People need to get over the idea that every buisness out there is a charity organisation. They are there to make a dollar and nothing more. If you read the fine print and know what you are getting yourself into, there shoud not be a problem

sharks in the water dont jump in .couple of close mates of mine got real issues with these guys .As its not me I wont go in to detail.

At the end of the day if they are so conidfint of selling your boat why don't they just buy it of you and sell it on for a profit then everyone wins.

Quote Originally Posted by tin can marlin View Post
    At the end of the day if they are so conidfint of selling your boat why don't they just buy it of you and sell it on for a profit then everyone wins.
    TCM,

theres a limit to how much you can finance, or how much you want to finance before you have to consider consignment or investor input.

I have done the whole lot.

Sure, buying a boat outright is the best way to go but theres a limit to ones finance or the degree of finance intended.

A consignment deal will put more in the owners pocket than an outright purchase will. If I have to put my own money on the line (or an investors) then I want considerably more return than what I would achieve on a consignment sale.

Return for risk is what its all about.

I have had an experence withe Australian Marine Centre but only as a buyer and i can tell you they are as dodgy as any car yard or boat yard i have ever experenced.
    When i went to test the boat i was interested in it was running real bad on 4 or 5 cylinders instead of 6 they came up with the most stupid ideas why like it only runs on 4 at idle then 6 when u get going. They also told me it had a anchor winch and kill tanks i flew down to check the boat out it had no winch no kill tanks .They said the owner was going over seas so i had to hand over the money in the next few days !!! After which time i told them fix the motor all stick the boat up there arss.They rebuilt the motor because it had bent lifters !! bought it sent it up turned up they pinched the anchor off it but knew nothing about it !!
    They either thought i was stupid or just after a quick sale.
    Any other buyers just be wary.

Sold my tinny on consignment through John Crawford Marine, Tingalpa and couldn't be happier. Will do it again. It's not so much as selling on consignment but who you deal with. If you not fully comfortable with the idea don't do it. I personally hate it, when lookers come through the Trading Post, just for a gander and see if they can beat you down in price.
    A mate sold his through Nu Marine at Cleveland on consignment and was happy too.
    Last edited by castlemaine; 15-03-2008 at 02:36 PM.

Was looking to buy a boat a few months back rang about a bluefin advertised in trading post $18k the guy told me the mob you are talking about took the boat on consignment i looked up the price and they had put 23k on it a few weeks later the bloke rings me back and said they failed to sell the boat left it out in the yard in the weather after i told him i was no longer looking he told me he wished he had not done it as the wiring was now crap from all the rain they had but i am only going on his say so

shane

I too fell victim to them,

droped the boat off, with promise of understocked and quick sale !!!
    when i collected it after my contract was up, there where things missing from the boat (couldnt find them they say) also looked like they took it for a run on the water, cause boat was not sitting on the trailer how i have it every time. and there was water level around the boat (not washed).

Have you ever wondered how, when you go fishing to your favourite spot X and there is someone on it ?