Help needed fitting poly eskys

Thread: Help needed fitting poly eskys

Help needed fitting poly eskys

Thanks for all the advice regarding my poly eskys as a seat post, I got all reved up and went shopping This fitting out is fun but costly.

So now I have 3 eskys that I need to fit in a decent way to the ply floor of the tinny, I could simply do angle and bolt/screws although I am hoping somebody knows of a smarter way to fit so that there is no toe stubbing and it looks a bit flasher (as flash as orange poly will allow) with clean lines around them and no metal protruding inside the esky either. There is absolutly no access to under floor when the tubs get fitted, but full access up till then.

There will be extra structure welded to the underfloor frameing bulkheads which the builder said would probably do it a favour when I explained how I would like to do the metalwork, so thats OK it's just attatching the bloody tubs that has me stumped.

Any ideas welcome and needed also

thanks fnq

The boxes are 37, 105 and a 62L also a big block of foam as my pretend CC for spacing stuuf out.

Re: Help needed fitting poly eskys

Hey FNQ,

what about velcro patches, you would be suprised how well it holds once you have weight in the eskies. Perhaps you could also run some straps thru the handles and thru a slot in the floor, a bit like a battery tiedown.

Alex

How about a 4, 3/4 inch dowels, 2 inchess long placed in each corner of your eskies, on the bottom.

Then drill 4, 3/4 inch holes in your flooring to locate those dowels.

You could have 2 latches to hold down the eskies, but dought you will need them, Unless your bar crossing and doing it rough.

Won't stub your toes on that.
    A marriage licence should be like your fishing licence!
    Expires every year and you get a 3 day pass when you go interstate.

CHRIS_aka_GWH

tie point on the floor and tie them down by the handles

BTW i have a 160l tropical in my 4.75 and its never shifted in heavy going and its not tied down - a box may be your best mate if the boat sinks - you read a lot of stories

You can buy these corners at fiber glass international counter sink them to floor sit esky in them stop them from moving round and as chris said can come out if need be.

Russell

There will be days when the fishing is better than one's most optimistic forecast, others when it is far worse. Either is a gain over just staying home.

maybe this idea , retractable straps

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/TackleBuckle-...ayphotohosting

I have fitted a couple with 50mm stainless or aluminium angle before.

You can still remove the esky ... but the frame always remains (I dont know if that is any good to you)

The way I do it, is to put the flat part of the angle underneath the esky... ie the esky is sitting in the flat part of the angle.

This gives it a nice, clean edge that looks like it is meant to be there.

Measure the size of your esky and cout the frame to suit.
    Cut the corners at 45 degree angles so everything sits flush together.

You could even weld the frame together. This would make it stronger, would need less screws to hold it in place, and would make the frame more easily removeable if necessary.

I have a mate who just sikaflexed the hook part of 2' wide velcro on the bottom and they (the esky's) stick like 'poop to a blanket' to the carpet. You can buy the hook side only from spotlight and places like that by the metre.
    Before you did that I'd make sure the hook part of the velcro is going to stick to your carpet...just in case it doesn't

Thanks for all the good ideas, mounting the big box so I can easily take it out of the boat is a great idea and wouldn't have though it would stay put well enough by it's self without the good advice, will give it a go with corners or something simple like that, also the small bait esky up front is the perfect candidate for straping or velcro so thanks for those ideas also.
    Will be getting serious with the dry box/seat in front of the CC though and GMs idea or the like will do fine with a couple of screws/pops through the outer tub as it will be a permanent fixture.

Will see how it all pans out, thanks again.

bogan-blackfish

gday mate, i highly recommend making them removable, i have a pair on my boat that the previous owner screwed into the floor, and its a massive pain in the ass to clean them out as the drain holes are an inch from the bottom so if you dont bucket/soak up all the water and scrub them out they get real stinky real fast from fish scales and stuff. life would be alot easier if they came out, i think ill try that angle idea.
    cheers Luke

Luke, I was thinking some more and ended up with what you said, now confirmed - thanks, those bungs leave 10% of the water still inside, I was thinking instead of angle all around which is what I was trying to avoid I noticed Whitworths have some very nice SS brackets in varying sizes that may avoid protruding near corners like angle will. If 2 brackets were strategically placed a bit toward the centreline from each corner it will be more toe friendly for those that cheat corners and should stay steady and be lift out-able but will always have the brackets sticking when the box is taken.

So thanks for your experience with these tubs, I think I will go the SS brackets for the dry-box but here do a permanent mount with these brackets to both the floor and tub and will try gravity and Velcro for everything that gets stinky with the option of tying down each handle to one of those heavy duty recessed hatch handles I will sink into the floor so even if the tub is out the floor stays flat.

Sounds like a plan to me, for mine anyway.